We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Le Friquet Country Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Le Friquet Country Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

454 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 438: English reviews
Start your review of Le Friquet Country Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A hidden gem in Guernsey. This was my first visit to this hotel, although I've been travelling to Guernsey for over 15 years. Well appointed rooms, friendly staff and the food in the hotel restaurant was delicious and affordable. The gardens are pretty too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BQLondoner
James S, General Manager at Le Friquet Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BQLondoner Well it sound like we may have you on board for your next visit to Guernsey. You'll have to come when the flowers are blooming and the swimming pool is at it's best and to enjoy a glass of champagne on our patio here at Le Friquet hotel. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back. Regards James

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The food and breakfast were excellent. The rest of the service in the hotel was average so was the standard of the room. Twice I requested a wake up call for the morning, twice it was forgotten...Some recurrent noise in the building made it difficult to fully rest (on top of the noise of the traffic). Guernsey is a beautiful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cathjA6885RN
James S, General Manager at Le Friquet Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear cathjA6885RN Thank you for your comments regarding our restaurant, however I am sorry to hear you did not have the expected experience regarding your accommodation. If you do return to Guernsey please do not hesitate to ask for myself if you did decide to stay with us so that I can address any issues/concerns you may have. Regards James

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My young daughter and I stayed in this hotel for two nights in February and from the moment we walked through the door until we checked-out we were made to feel very welcome. The hotel room we had was on the top floor overlooking the garden. I don't believe there is a lift in the hotel and although this was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
James S, General Manager at Le Friquet Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paul R Thank you for your comments, I am glad to her that you both felt relaxed and welcome. Unfortunately we do not have a lift currently however it is something we are looking into. We hope to see you again if you get another chance to visit Guernsey. Regards James

Camberley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2017

The hotel is easy to locate but outside of St Peter Port so the term 'country' hotel is accurate. It has attractive grounds which would no doubt look even better in summer! The bar and restaurant area are first class as is the food and wine selection. The road past the hotel is surprisingly busy and my only slight criticism...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
James S, General Manager at Le Friquet Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Andrew G I'd like to thank you for your review and I am glad that you enjoyed our hotel. Unfortunately we cannot control Guernsey's roads however it is an issue the states are looking into for Rue Du Friquet. We hope to see you again soon. Regards James

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile

I travel to Guernsey on a fairly regular basis but this was my first stay atLe Friquet. Overall my stay was good with a nice meal in the hotel resturant. I entertained some customers and our group was looked after extremely well by the resturant staff. I will return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elladog15
James S, General Manager at Le Friquet Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Elladog15 We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your first stay with us, that your guests also were looked after well. We look forward to welcoming you again. Regards James

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

Just returned home having stayed at the hotel for the New Year. As I have said in previous reports over the years, I have family in Catel, so this hotel is very convenient. As usual we were very well looked after by James and all is team. Special mention for Sheev and Phillips. We were on the New Year package...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Eduardobear
James S, General Manager at Le Friquet Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Eduardobear Thank you for your review and specifically mentioning Sheev and Philips. We are all glad to hear that you enjoyed your new year with us and certainly look forward to seeing you again this year if you get the chance. Regards James

Kent
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

We have returned to the hotel to celebrate New Year. From the moment we walked in it was like coming home. ALL the staff are brilliant, James has a great team, Sheev, running the bar tirelessly, the waiting staff, lovely. New Year's Eve , gala buffet was sublime, with fresh salmon, oysters, and even lobster curry amongst a wonderful crusted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Crisj
James S, General Manager at Le Friquet Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Crisj I am glad to hear that you had such a good time from start to finish from peaceful evening dinners to getting on the dance floor, it as always great to see guests enjoying the efforts put in. Thank you for grading us five star and that you feel the break is good value for money. We hope...

Dunstable, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 December 2016

We returned to the Friquet on the 25th November for a 10 day pre-Christmas break. Apart from being blessed with glorious weather nearly everyday, we were superbly looked after by James and his staff. We usually have the conservatory suite, an excellent room particularly if staying for long periods as there is plenty of room to spread out. It was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alanpea2016
James S, General Manager at Le Friquet Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear alanpea2016 Thank you for your review, I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay once again with us at Le Friquet Hotel. I will pass on your kind comments to all the staff and we look forward to welcoming you again in 2017! On behalf of our staff I wish a happy new year to you...

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

We had a very enjoyable stay at Le Friquet; a good base for our holiday in Guernsey. The location is central, so possible to walk to St. Peter's Port or to the North coast. Close to the bus stop so easy to get about and the buses are fairly frequent. We found the location good for what we wanted although...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Louise O
James S, General Manager at Le Friquet Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Louise O Thank you for your review I am pleased to here that you enjoyed your stay and it is always good to see the guests view of our hotel. We hope to see you again. Regards James

Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 November 2016

A return visit this year. From the moment you enter reception where the staff are professional, welcoming and very informative through to the Manager, another consummate professional who takes the needs of all guests to heart and personally assists his staff where possible a guest realises that nothing is too much for your stay. The bar staff are very knowledgeable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judith T
James S, General Manager at Le Friquet Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Judith T Thank you very much for your review, I am glad the staff maintained the standards which you have come to expect from previous visits. We like to change our menus seasonally to make the most of fresh items available but also to suit the season we are in. I'm sure we will keep up if not improve...

121 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (82)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel
4.7 km away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
491 reviews
3.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
712 reviews
2.6 km away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
792 reviews
2.8 km away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
566 reviews
1.8 km away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Le Friquet Country Hotel

Address: Le Friquet Country Hotel La Rue Du Friquet, Castel GY5 7ST
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Castel
Price Range: $122 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Friquet Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Le Friquet Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Friquet Country Castel
Hotel Le Friquet Country
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Le Friquet Country Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Le Friquet Country Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Definitely not a room on the side of the traffic noise.”
 of 5 bubbles cathjA6885RN, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms not facing Rue to Friquet would be quieter”
 of 5 bubbles andrewgI7392KF, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Second time in Room 9, well located with views across the gardens.”
 of 5 bubbles 579juditht, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms have views of the garden and pool area.”
 of 5 bubbles goldenoldiehampshire, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“1st floor rooms on either side.”
 of 5 bubbles DerekS635, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5