We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

La Grande Mare

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castel
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
La Grande Mare
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

337 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 333: English reviews
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Excellent indoor pool, jacuzzi, steam room, sauna and gym. Interesting menu, we had guide fowl and venison for our main courses, both delicious. The room was too hot at night, old fashioned but clean, and lovely modern renovated bathroom. We didn't have time to try out the golf course. It looked a good challenge, lots of water hazards. Hopefully we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paul r
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

The afternoon tea was lovely, in particular the scones with jam and cream, staff were lovely and friendly too. Check-in was easy and quick, lovely and friendly reception staff, our suite was very nice, large room and well appointed en-suite, nice and peaceful so very relaxing. Pre-dinner Aperitif was a nicely presented Hendricks and tonic, with cucumber and grated Juniper...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nic666
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this review

Dear Nic Thank you for your review and we have noted your comments for our attention. We hope to see you again in the future and you are more than welcome to enjoy our great Golf Course -its half price green fees for residents.

Guernsey
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed in one of the Penthouses! Four Poster Bed. Huge Lounge, and large Bathroom. Evening Meal was excellent. Breakfast, disappointing. Cool to warm only. Check Food Temperature with a Thermometer? Get the Omlette, cooked fresh in the Kitchen. Coffee was only warm. We will stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StuartGuernsey
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this review

Dear Stuart Thank you for your great review and I can assure you we have noted the points raised for our immediate attention. We at La Grande Mare Hotel ,Golf and Country Club are open all year round and we look forward to greeting you back in the future.

Halstead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had an excellent stay at this hotel for 10 days. All of the staff were very helpful & friendly. we were also fortunate & pleasantly surprised to have our room upgraded to a suit which was appreciated as I had man flu for three days. I did find the bedroom a bit too hot but was not sure if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stevenfelstead
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this review

Dear Steven Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review on the Hotel,we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us even though you were unwell. The Hotel is open all year round and you would be welcome back any time.

Tring, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I've stayed here now 4 or 5 times on Business, and the hotel is great. Having visited Guernsey many times, and stayed in many hotels this one is a firm favourite. The Studio rooms and suites are extremely spacious, with plenty of space, sofa's and dining tables. The Bose soundock is a nice touch as well. Those who like toiletries...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary M
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this review

Dear Gary Thanks for the fine review and we look forward to being of service to you in the future at La Grande Mare Hotel,Golf and Country Club.

Guernsey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited the Grande Mare again for our New Years celebrations. Meal was absolutely superb and the service excellent. The music kept us dancing until one a.m. with a good selection of tunes. The overnight accommodation was up to the usual lavish standard and rounded off with a sumptuous breakfast could not be better. Many thanks to all the staff who...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robin O
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this review

Thank you Robin O for your honest experience of New Years Eve with us at La Grande Mare Hotel,Golf and Country Club,Happy New Year to you It was great to hear how much you enjoyed yourselves with us and we hope to see you again soon.

St Leonards, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Disappointing .My niece booked this for us for New year,as we had come from Australia to visit ,but did not know it was black tie as not on posters or web site .We had smart clothes but not black tie.The hotel said that was fine ,however the people attending the gala did not , we had to endure fowl looks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stephanie g
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this review

Happy new year to you Stephanie and thank you for noting that the Staff and the food served at the Gala dinner were excellent at our Four Star Hotel on New years eve. I've noted your comments on how you felt inappropriately dressed but as you said we,the Hotel,were fine with smart casual dress for the evening. For over 40...

Hampshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for seven nights over the Christmas holidays . Our room was fantastic as we were upgraded to penthouse suite 7. Spectacular views over the beach and watching the surfers was fabulous . It has it be said the food was plentifully , excellently presented and tasted great. Christmas lunch away from home is always a gamble , but no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dawn N
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this review

Dear Dawn and Mike Wow, now that is a mighty fine review,thank you so much. It was a pleasure to read about your Christmas experience with us and i feel sure other Tripadvisor reviewers will find this so helpful when helping to choose a suitable destination to stay in Guernsey. Our Hotel is open all year round and we look...

Chester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The reception staff at the hotel were welcoming and extremely helpful to us throughout our stay. They made things smooth for us and we we're impressed by the standard of service and the friendliness. Our room was wonderful for the price and we were very impressed as soon as we went in. We enjoyed our evening meal and the great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Soo F
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this review

Hi Soo F Thank you so much for the lovely words sharing your recent experience of staying with us at La Grande Mare Hotel,Golf and Country Club. I will share your review with the team and they will be delighted to read just how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We are open all year round and you will...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We live in Guernsey and the hotel had a special deal on (quidsin) so we decided to book it! We arrived at 5 o'clock and checked into our suite, which was very spacious and of a very good standard. We were meeting 2 other couples who were also staying in the hotel, they were also impressed by their rooms. We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul B
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this review

Hi Paul B Thank you so much for the great re view it was interesting to read about your stay cation with friends at our hotel and I am sure that other reviewers will find it helpful when looking for somewhere to stay in Guernsey. We are open all year round and we look forward to welcoming you back again...

101 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (78)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel
1.9 km away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
552 reviews
5.1 km away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
3.4 km away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
521 reviews
4.8 km away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
787 reviews
2.9 km away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
La Grande Mare Hotel, located on Guernsey's west coast, alongside the sweeping sands of Vazon Bay. The Hotel is set in over 120 acres of tranquil, private grounds with lakes, woodland and an 18 hole golf course and gardens. The courteous staff deliver impeccable service from the front of house and the presentation of your room to creating delicious pre-dinner cocktails, organising a memorable event or gym and golf instruction. The Hotel boasts excellent amenities including a fully equipped health suite, all weather tennis court, both indoor and outdoor bathing pools, a superb Restaurant and Brasserie and extensive business facilities, including WIFI connectivity and last but certainly not least a challenging 18 hole golf course. ... more   less 

Additional Information about La Grande Mare

Address: Vazon Coast Road, Castel GY5 7LL
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Castel
Price Range: $78 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Grande Mare 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Also Known As:
La Grande Mare Hotel Castel
La Grande Mare Guernsey
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from La Grande Mare staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask whether suite available”
 of 5 bubbles paulr353, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Suites and Studios are my favourite”
 of 5 bubbles GaryM435, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Sea view Penthouse suites, great views , 2 bathrooms and kitchenette.”
 of 5 bubbles 928dawnn, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Book a Suite - ours was beautiful.”
 of 5 bubbles , 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Studio rooms are lovely. Didn't see the others. Better pillows would be good.”
 of 5 bubbles K4119HZjang, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5