We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ziggurat

Expedia.comUS$142*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$154*
US$142*
US$154*
US$154*
US$142*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Ziggurat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

85 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 76: English reviews
Start your review of Ziggurat
 Click to rate
chancer88
Reviewed 1 week ago

I was told about this place by the tourist information centre. What a location. Once you've mastered climbing steps, the restaurant provides two styles of dining. Indoors is the traditional seating but outdoors is the terrace with panoramic views taking in Herm, Sark and Jersey. There are individual huts for groups or couples to share those lasting memories. Food is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chancer88
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely quirky boutique style hotel in a great location. Warm & welcoming Moroccan theme deco. Bedrooms very comfortable with chocolates, bottled water and fresh coffee making facilities. The loft room well worth upgrading for to get the fabulous views over the harbour on the private very large balcony. Comes with a price though - 150 steps to get up to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank H4mon
Paul d, General Manager at Ziggurat, responded to this review

Hello H4mon, Thanks for leaving us such a lovely review, so glad you both enjoyed your time here with us at The Zigg'! Hope you had a safe journey home, and looking forward to welcoming you back to The Zigg' in the not too distant future! P

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a great stay at the Ziggurat; it's cozy, inviting North African-inspired decor was a nice contrast with the island itself and added a little spice to our stay. We really appreciated the tasty breakfast, which can be enjoyed out on a terrace with a beautiful view overlooking Saint Peter Port. The location is right in the heart of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank floating_feather
Paul d, General Manager at Ziggurat, responded to this review

Hello Floating_Feather, Thanks for taking the time to write us a review here on Tripadvisor! The cliff paths is collectively one of the teams favourite walks here on the island, and we're glad you enjoyed it too! Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Zigg' in (hopefully) the not too distant future! P

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed 3 nights, and from the moment we arrived we were treated like special guests. Staff are very friendly and helpful, hotel is spotless and right in the middle of town (up some steps). The room we had made good use of space and was quiet and comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheMartster
Paul d, General Manager at Ziggurat, responded to this review

Hello TheMartster, Thanks for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review here on Tripadvisor! It's always great to hear guests who enjoyed their stay, and we hope to see you again in the near future! Best wishes, Paul and the Team at Ziggurat!

Chippenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 March 2017

Absolutely beautiful and well cared for hotel. The room was immaculate and very tastefully decorated as was the rest of the hotel. Friendly staff, made to feel very welcome. Especially loved the fact 6 of us had a valentines meal in their lovely outside dining 'shed' View was lovely from my balcony across to the harbour. Location lovely too but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline H
Paul d, General Manager at Ziggurat, responded to this review

Hello Caroline, Thanks for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review of our hotel! The steps are lovingly referred to by our team as a "compulsory free gym!" We're glad you all had a great time with us, and hope you can come back to visit when it's not for work! Best wishes, Paul

Reviewed 1 March 2017

Really nice modern room. Fridge in room - great shower - comfortable bed - big TV - very clean and tidy. 8 power sockets. Staff very friendly and helpful. Only in Guernsey over night and glad I had the chance to stay at this hotel. Throughly recommend it. Had to leave before breakfast. Can have evening meal.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthony p
Paul d, General Manager at Ziggurat, responded to this review

Hello Anthony, Thanks for taking the time to write us such a lovely review. Next time you're over in Guernsey we'll make sure you get one of our famous breakfasts! Best wishes, Paul

Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

If 105 stairs don't scare you (and they shouldn't unless you have heavy suitcases), this hotel is ideal: 10 mn from the ferry terminal through a very easy road which the hotel explains you well, a superb breakfast with a spectacular view, a very convenient bedroom with a charming view. A helpful staff and excellent coffee! The very tiny bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DRM55
Paul d, General Manager at Ziggurat, responded to this review

Hello DRM, Thanks for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review! We take pride in our breakfasts, and as head of the team I have strong feelings about how coffee should be - and I'm glad to hear it's been well received! Looking forward to welcoming you back to The Zigg' in the not too distant future!...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 January 2017

A lovely place. Quirky décor & friendly staff. There are several steps to get there, fine for us but might be tricky for some others. Parking in St Peter Port is a bit odd. It's free but only for certain times in certain places. So probably better if you don't have a car as there is no parking at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank D M
Genevieve L, Owner at Ziggurat, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! Ahhhh the steps.... we do indeed need some kind of escalator. At least all holiday calories are burned off whist still on the holiday! The parking is indeed odd in the area, strange Guernsey systems, and limited spaces available. It's certainly not ideal around our location sadly. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay...

Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed 9 January 2017

I booked this hotel for a complete week in June because of all those positive reviews on this site and because the hotel is only reachable by steps. The fact that there is no road near seemed the perfect guarantee for a quiet stay. We could not have been more disappointed. I had chosen one of those king rooms with...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Anja S
Genevieve L, Owner at Ziggurat, responded to this review

I am sorry you felt the need to write such a long and damning review 7 months after your stay. I am also sorry that your experience was not up to scratch. As you note in your review there have been many positive reviews and enjoyed experiences, so perhaps advising that the hotel is terrible and that everyone should go...

Reviewed 1 January 2017

The hotel had been let down by cancellations and we were the only people staying over the holiday. The staff could not have been more friendly and the manager Paul even invited us to the Christmas Day lunch which he prepared for his team, which was a lovely occasion. We had complimentary sherry and mince pies delivered to our room,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter H
Genevieve L, Owner at Ziggurat, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write - it truly is much appreciated. All staff commented on what a wonderful couple you were to have stay, and they enjoyed sharing Christmas lunch with you both. I hope you had an excellent New Year's Eve and we wish you all the very best for the coming year. Gen...

87 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (61)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Other (26)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Peter Port hotels
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
737 reviews
0.2 km away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
588 reviews
0.4 km away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Moores Central Hotel
1.1 km away
La Piette Hotel
La Piette Hotel
#11 of 19 in St Peter Port
110 reviews
0.7 km away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
If you are the type of person who is bored with the bland impersonality of chain hotels and faceless organisations, then this might be just the place for you. We don't have all the amenities of the big monolith hotel institutions, but instead we offer more subtle benefits such as a warm friendly ambiance, a sense of bonhomie and a genuine personal passion for making your stay as wonderful as it possibly can be. Right in the centre of town, just a 3 minute walk to Market Square, Ziggurat has the very unusual advantage of being totally central and yet feeling like you have been transported to another world. See the hustle and bustle of town and the retreat here for good music, lively conversation and an extremely comfy bed. When staying with us we want you to relax and feel like you are at home. It's an informal atmosphere - no stiffly pressed starchy matching uniforms, no bored receptionist, no nightly turn-down and not even a smidgen of towel art. It's a place of fun, of good times and a hub to enjoy meeting people from all over the world who, for some reason or other, have ended up landing on Guernsey's shores. We would love to take the time to sit down with you to share coffee, drinks, ideas and hear a little about your life story. This is our work, our passion and where we spend the majority of our time, so it is important we enjoy the Ziggurat experience as much as you do. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ziggurat

Address: Ziggurat Ziggurat No. 5 Constitution Steps, St Peter Port GY1 2PN (Formerly Sunnycroft Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Price Range: $178 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ziggurat 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ziggurat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ziggurat Guernsey/St Peter Port, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ziggurat staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Ziggurat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not suitable for anyone with limited mobility - steps all the way”
chancer88, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Our room was a bit small, but nicely done.”
186dm, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The rooms 1-3 and the most expensive rooms right up the top might be quiet, but this is just guessing.”
AnjaS72, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms to the left of the stairs have best views and top floor has "private" balcony overlooking sea for use of the two top rooms.”
  • View from room 13 over town, harbour and neghbouring islands
, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“top floor rooms as our room above restaurant can hear the music playing ( very low level noise but annoying)”
colinpauldavies1, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$142* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$154
TripAdvisorUS$142
Hotels.comUS$142
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates