We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

168 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down
See the most recent reviews
Showing 168: English reviews
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2016

we needed accommodation for one night as we were attending a wedding nearby which had limited accommodation. we found the room clean and tidy and modern, free parking and WiFi . we will use this Travel-lodge again when we visit this area again this summer.

Helpful?
Thank grantsibbick
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are extremely grateful to hear your accommodation was clean and modern for your stay with us. It will give us great pleasure in passing your kind comments onto our hotel team and we thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. We can't wait to welcome you back again soon. More 

Amesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2016

We booked a family room at Travelodge Whiddon Down, to attend a friend's wedding nearby for the weekend. For us, location was ideal - only 10 mins to the church & from the subsequent reception! We booked the room a fair way in advance & felt that the cost was reasonable. Our family room consisted of a double bed &... More 

Helpful?
Thank Frodo848
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down, responded to this review

May we thank you for sharing your recent experience of our Okehampton Whiddon Down Travelodge with us and taking the time to write your review. We are pleased to learn you were happy with the Hotel’s location and that your overall experience was a positive one. We aim to offer our guests great value stays in comfortable surroundings and we... More 

Worcestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2016

Late arrival, friendly and helpful welcome, early departure, comfortable, practical, good price, good location. We couldn't comment on what it would be like for a longer stay, but as a practical, convenient and economical stopover it was perfect.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank V6078IXsimong
TravelodgeUK, Shannon from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down, responded to this review

May we thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you found many aspects of your stay to be great. It is lovely to learn our staff were freindly and helpful and that your room was comfortable and of a good price. We aim to provide our guests with a pleasant stay and we hope we have been... More 

Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2016

Stopped overnight on business and enjoyed a very quiet night's sleep. Easy car parking, very polite and helpful staff, easy to use wifi and a very comfortable bed. I had a pre-ordered "breakfast box" which filled a hole, but there is a pub next door that does more substantial breakfasts if needed. All I needed for a quiet night and... More 

Helpful?
Thank David H
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down, responded to this review

Thank you for this review. It is a real pleasure for us to see our efforts being appreciated by valued guests such as yourself. We strive to provide a positive experience and are happy to see this was the case. Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we do hope you will choose to stay with... More 

Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2016 via mobile

Bank holiday Monday, roads were packed with folks going home. We were heading in the opposite direction and we had a booking, unfortunately for others they did not. The rubbish bin outside the front door was overflowing. The same friendly greeting met us as we checked in though. The room was up to the usual standard of finish but smelled... More 

Helpful?
Thank thatoldbloke
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review of our Okehampton Whiddon Down and taking the time to share your experience with us. We're so sorry to hear that you were allocated a room that was not up to our usual level of cleanliness, we will be sure to pass your feedback to the hotel manager to ensure this is addressed with... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2016

We had a Sunday night 'deal' and paid only £36. The room was large and spotlessly clean and we had one of the best nights sleep we've had when away. The lady on Reception was very helpful. There's a cafe on site and a lovely pub cooking hearty pub meals only a 10 minute walk away. It was surprisingly quiet... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rainetta
TravelodgeUK, Shannon from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased to learn that your stay was overall positive. Feedback is invaluable and a copy of your comments have been forwarded to the Hotel Manager. Thank you again for your review, we look forward to seeing you soon. More 

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2016

Recently spent one night at this Travelodge and I am afraid we were disappointed. The hotel just seems to be tired, our room had quite an unpleasant stale smell and when we opened the windows we were very aware of the smokers standing outside the front door. Although it was a quiet spot with little traffic noise we were surprised... More 

Helpful?
Thank PEGGY R
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down, responded to this review

We fully appreciate that you have taken the time to leave your comments regarding your stay at Okehampton Whiddon Down Travelodge and we thank you for sharing your experience with us. We’re happy to learn that you enjoyed the location of the hotel as it was peaceful, however we would like to apologise for the issues that impacted your stay.... More 

Heswall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2016

We are regular visitors to Whiddon Down Travelodge.Although close to the A30 you do not hear the traffic The staff at reception are very friendly and helpful.We had a room on the ground floor,quite basic compared to the Premier lodge but clean and fresh. The Post Inn a short walk away serves very good meals.

Helpful?
Thank Babs1472
TravelodgeUK, Shannon from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down, responded to this review

we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are so pleased to hear that you were happy with your room on the ground floor and that your overall experience was a positive one. Your feedback is invaluable and a copy of your comments will be passed to the Hotel Manager. Thank you once... More 

Bridport, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2016

Stayed here for one night, really comfortable bed and pillows, had one of best nights sleep ever as the location is so quiet and there was no noise from inside plus the price under £50 was great value

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank andybZ9590EA
TravelodgeUK, Shannon from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down, responded to this review

Your feedback is very important to us and thank you for submitting your review. We strive to offer our guests a good night’s sleep and an enjoyable experience whilst staying with us and we are so happy to hear that you were pleased with your stay. Thank you once again and we do hope you will stay with us again... More 

Southern Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2016

Lovely room, very clean bedding and towels. Excellent service, and pleasant staff. Beautiful bathroom where all facilities worked as well as expected. Hotel quiet and all surrounding areas kept clean. Staff very helpful too

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank gt290

11 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Okehampton
10.8 km away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Okehampton
81 reviews
4.1 km away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
14.5 km away
Travelodge Okehampton Sourton Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 km away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moretonhampstead
247 reviews
27.5 km away
Travelodge Exeter M5
Travelodge Exeter M5
#21 of 31 in Exeter
418 reviews
19.2 km away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hatherleigh
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down

Address: Exeter Road | Merrymeet Junction, Dartmoor National Park, Okehampton EX20 2QT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Okehampton
Price Range: $76 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down 1.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de and Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down Hotel Okehampton
Travel Lodge Okehampton
Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down UK - Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had a room overlooking the carpark and there was no noise at all.”
 of 5 bubbles Nesto69, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The hotel is in a quiet location to start with”
 of 5 bubbles PhotobugsUK, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“rooms at the back possibly quieter away from car park”
 of 5 bubbles margaretc578, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the back of the lodge away from the car park are a bit quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles Mr_Stanhope, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If staying for longer than 1/2 days book wifi for the week, its cheaper.”
 of 5 bubbles Langers90, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay