We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mellstock House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mellstock House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

176 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Mellstock House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 174: English reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

I have no idea how this place gets good reviews. On arriving the owner was as miserable as sin, shown to room with twin beds shoved together in a room that quite honestly stunk like a kennel. Absolutely impossible to stay there, and the only thing that the owner had to say was, I'm gonna have to charge you. If...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Skylr
Mellstock, Front Office Manager at Mellstock House, responded to this review

Hi Donna, Im John and I had the pleasure of spending 2 minutes in your company during your 15 minute stay with us last Friday. Unfortunately you never uttered a word during that time so I was deprived of the wisdom that helps you to write such intelligent comments. Obviously having spent 15 minutes in the house your knowledge and...

Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2016

Booking for bank holiday weekend away found this B & B on line . I wanted a place where Dogs are not allowed , free parking and wifi and this place ticked all the boxes! Rooms were clean, bed was lovely and comfy, shower was good too, nice view of the sea as in room 5. Service was good ,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sueskitts
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Amazing! Had a really enjoyable and relaxing stay at Mellstock House. Was welcomed by John with tea and cake which was much needed and appreciated after a long 3 1/2 hr journey with a 3 yr old! Throughout our stay John and Penny were friendly, helpful and excellent with our little one. Our room was really comfy and exceptionally clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Workmen
Walkden, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Just got back from combe Martin in Devon nice place stayed at mellstock house guests house jhon and penny where the perfect housts Good people and very helpfull always on hand for places to visit . Good choice for breakfast and do evening meals too the breakfast we a had were all good and so was the evening meal. Hope...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank leslie r
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

Poor welcome, the owner was more interested in his ironing than welcoming paying guests. Parking was non existant, WIFI didn't work, bed too small and uncomfortable, shower tepid, toilet flush noisy, we requested breakfast early but he was still setting up and didn't apologise for not being ready despite him agreeing to early breakfast. The only good thing about our...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Anthony D
Mellstock, Front Office Manager at Mellstock House, responded to this review

THIS "GUEST" IS A LIAR. (if you are not please sue me) As a business we value constructive feedback good or bad as it can only help us to improve. Opinions are great things and no two are the same and we always value our guests opinions. What we do not value is guests telling outright lies especially guests who...

Tiverton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 June 2016

I'm currently walking the entire South West Coast Path to raise money for FORCE and Over and Above, two South West charities that support cancer patients and their families. John and Penny very kindly agreed to be my Accommodation Partner and Gold Sponsor in Combe Martin. Mellstock House is a very good B&B. John and Penny were welcoming on arrival...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jims_Journey
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 June 2016

Stayed for 5 nights and absolutely loved it. John and Penny the owners were fantastic, great company, very friendly and went out there way to make our holiday even more memorable. Our room was excellent as described and the views amazing. Would definitely stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy K
Reviewed 6 June 2016 via mobile

We were met by John with a very warm welcome and tea and homemade biscuits. The rooms were very clean and comfortable,the breakfast was excellent. We enjoyed our 3 night stay. Good Base to see the sights of Devon. Short walk to the beach, shops and pubs. We will definitely return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janwebb2010
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 May 2016 via mobile

Don't forget to take your walking boots off at the door. We we're welcomed with a pot of tea and biscuits. Spotlessly clean, free wi-fi and parking. Chintzy decor may not be to everyone's taste but suit the character of the property. Fresh fruit salad was a pleasant surprise and a good full English breakfast. Less than 100yds from SW...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shaun M
St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 April 2016

Had a long weekend in Combe Martin to walk some of the South West Coast Path and couldn't have found a better place to stay than Mellstock House. The room was very comfortable, quiet and spotlessly clean. John and Penny were very friendly and welcoming. John was amazingly helpful picking us up from Woolacombe one day and from Lynton the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison H

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Combe Martin
4.4 km away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
375 reviews
0.0 km away
Channel Vista Guest House
Channel Vista Guest House
#1 of 15 in Combe Martin
169 reviews
0.0 km away
Acorns Guest House
Acorns Guest House
#4 of 15 in Combe Martin
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Newberry Beach Lodge B&B
Newberry Beach Lodge B&B
#6 of 15 in Combe Martin
22 reviews
1.9 km away
La-Gallerie Bed and Breakfast
La-Gallerie Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 15 in Combe Martin
88 reviews
5.8 km away
Wildercombe House
Wildercombe House
#1 of 55 in Ilfracombe
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
An ideal base for short breaks in North Devon we are situated in Combe Martin on the Edge of Exmoor. Bed & Breakfast accommodation in a beautiful 4 star guest house, 6 bedrooms, all en-suite, most with countryside and sea views. One minute from the beach, fully licensed, serving home cooked breakfasts and freshly prepared evening meals. An ideal base for all outdoor activities including walking holidays, horse riding and golfing. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mellstock House

Address: Mellstock House Woodlands, Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park EX34 0AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Combe Martin
Price Range: $101 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mellstock House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, Hotel.de, Agoda, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Mellstock House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mellstock House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
derbyshire

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Mellstock House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“walking distance to town, lovely sea views.”
 of 5 bubbles welltravelled86_10, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 1 has views of the countryside and sea.”
 of 5 bubbles wendykU5844TI, 19 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Any room , you will not be disappointed . They were very good”
 of 5 bubbles Y5610ZSanthonys, 7 Jul 2015 | Read review
“I believe there is a variety of room sizes, so do speak to Penny and John in advance to make sure you get the right room for you. We had one with a separate seating area, a large television, an en suite and a huge comfortable bed, highly recommended!”
 of 5 bubbles EmmaFay, 16 Mar 2014 | Read review
“For a room with a beautiful view ask for Room One.”
 of 5 bubbles AngelJulie, 29 Oct 2013 | Read review
5 of 5