We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Exmoor White Horse Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Exmoor White Horse Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

412 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Exmoor White Horse Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 408: English reviews
Essex UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2015

We recently stayed here for 10 nights commencing 20th June. Very friendly and helpful staff and the food and presentation was excellent. Great buffet breakfasts. Excellent place to stay with local walks and and many nice places to visit by car and within an hour of the M5. Local ales available along with many single malts. Will visit again one... More 

Helpful?
Thank DouglasEssexUK
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you! What a lovely start to Monday to read your kind comments. We so hope we are able to welcome you back in the near future, Exmoor is always worth a return visit (and hopefully more than one!!). Once more, thank you More 

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2015

My wife & I spent a long weekend at the Hotel recently We had a most enjoyable time in a room in the Lodge (no 34) with our own garden space & patio The service was excellent & food too with a choice for bar food or in the Restaurant We had both food options & both were of a... More 

Helpful?
Thank GLS345
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review

We were so pleased to hear that your anniversary celebration break here at The Exmoor White Horse was a success and we really hope that you will return in the near future. We aim to make every guests stay here a memorable occasion, Exmoor has so much to offer, as do we. Thank you More 

Level Contributor
113 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2015 via mobile

Called in here for lunch. Not quite what I expected. It looks very smart from the outside. Clean and tidy inside. The menu was varied and good prices. Not very good presentation. My vegetable lasagne looked like a pile of sick in all fairness it was tasty.large bowl of good selection of salad but some was rather limp and tired... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank doomedfreda
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review

We can only apologise for the poor presentation of your Bar Meal, as mentioned in your review, and you can rest assured that the comments have been passed on to the Chef concerned. We pride ourselves on offering quality food, accommodation and hospitality and all at reasonable prices. A you stated, the actual meal was tasty but we do treat... More 

Fairford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2015

Stayed midweek for 2 nights at this 15th Century Inn. We had room 18 with a view of the road, bridge with the river Exe running in front of the beer garden. Very well situated for walkers and people in general visiting Exmoor and the North Somerset and Devon coastline. 1/2hr to Dunster Castle and the other way 1/2hr to... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Tony-Burns
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review

We really look forward to welcoming you back on a return visit and to show you some more of our Exmoor Hospitality! There is no greater pleasure for us than welcoming back previous customers and we have a really high amount of returning guests More 

Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2015

Had drinks and the carvery, service good, carvery was hot and very tasty, meat was moist and vegetables were fresh and not overcooked. Two of our party had desserts which did not disappoint. Staff friendly and very helpful

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael I
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review

We were so pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable visit here to The Exmoor White Horse and we really hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future. Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments, it is really appreciated More 

Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
259 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2015

Booked this through the hotel's late availability. Booked a luxury room which can be set up as a twin bedded or six foot double bed according to the page I booked on. The room we had was very nice, but not the one I booked. It had a large king sized bed I think, which in fact was perfectly fine,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dorsetsue2
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Firstly, please accept our apologies for the fact that you did not get the room you were expecting but rest assured that the Feature Double Bedded Room that you did stay in was in exactly the same Room Group as the Double/Twin that you referred to. We really hope that this did not spoil your visit here to The Exmoor... More 

Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2015 via mobile

Visited here while on holiday in Porlock as we heard it was a very nice place for carvery. Upon entering the 'main entrance' it was very confusing as to where to go to order etc. Eventually we found our way and the man at the bar who took our order was rather rude and felt as though he was rushing... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Andyy14
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review

We thank you for taking the time to leave your comments and can only apologise for failing to meet all your expectations. We like to think that everyone who walks through the door here feels welcome and from your comments it would appear you entered through the hotel entrance hence the confusion on finding the Bar Food counter to order... More 

Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2015 via mobile

Hotel in great position for touring walking etc. clean rooms very friendly staff but major downfall food was very poor. Breakfast greasy so we eat out except for one night and had bar meal. Chicken was dry and unbeatable. No stars for food. Shame enjoyed everything else

Helpful?
Thank Chappelll
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review

We were very disappointed to read your comments, especially as you did not raise any concerns during your stay to enable us to try and rectify the situation, and rest assured we would have gone out of our way to do, as this is the service that we pride ourselves on. We have sent a reply to your personal email... More 

Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2015

we had a bar meal i found the service a bit abrupt the menu said local produce but the food could have come from any supermarket the location was great and the food arrived quickly we would have liked a little more on the plate we had booked a particular table we wanted earlier in the day but when we... More 

Helpful?
Thank clive h
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review

We were so disappointed to read your comments and apologise for not meeting your expectations. All your comments have been passed on to the relevant people. Rest assured that we do use as much local produce as is possible, and take great care and pride in sourcing our suppliers. We do apologise that your table was not available, it would... More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2015 via mobile

We stopped here for some lunch whilst taking a drive through Exmoor. The beer garden by the river is really nice and it was busy so we thought it must be good. We were not disappointed! Really tasty food and good drinks! Highly recommend this if you are passing!

Helpful?
Thank Butty198
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much and we really hope to see you again soon More 

137 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (77)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (60)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exford
14.9 km away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
596 reviews
22.7 km away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
451 reviews
9.8 km away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 km away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
131 reviews
17.1 km away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
210 reviews
9.0 km away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled amidst the scenic beauty of Exmoor National Park, this family run, historic coaching Inn offers luxury accommodation, free Wi-Fi, free parking, and is just 10 miles from both Minehead and the West Somerset and North Devon Coast. Dating back to the 16th Century, the Exmoor White Horse Inn is wreathed in Virginia Creeper ivy and sits majestically by a bridge over the River Exe. Oozing with rustic charm, the Inn celebrates the wonders of its historic past whilst providing a contemporary and sophisticated accommodation experience. Classic period features blend seamlessly with sumptuous soft furnishings and chic interiors to form an idyllic welcoming atmosphere in this spectacular part of the country. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Exmoor White Horse Inn

Address: Exford, Exmoor National Park TA24 7PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Exford
Price Range: $170 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Exmoor White Horse Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HRS, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Exmoor White Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exmoor White Horse Hotel Exford
Exmoor White Horse Exford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Exmoor White Horse Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask about size of room when booking.”
 of 5 bubbles petermacloughlin, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a room in the hotel and not the annex”
 of 5 bubbles A8000KGjamesw, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Any as its pure class”
 of 5 bubbles D5015YFgaryb, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Bed was large and lovely but a tad on the firm side....perhaps they have softer ones if requested?”
 of 5 bubbles rossm324, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ring and ask hotel”
 of 5 bubbles cbmshaw, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay