We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Exmoor White Horse Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Exmoor White Horse Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

418 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Exmoor White Horse Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 414: English reviews
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 June 2015

Had drinks and the carvery, service good, carvery was hot and very tasty, meat was moist and vegetables were fresh and not overcooked. Two of our party had desserts which did not disappoint. Staff friendly and very helpful

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael I
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review

We were so pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable visit here to The Exmoor White Horse and we really hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future. Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments, it is really appreciated

Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 June 2015

Booked this through the hotel's late availability. Booked a luxury room which can be set up as a twin bedded or six foot double bed according to the page I booked on. The room we had was very nice, but not the one I booked. It had a large king sized bed I think, which in fact was perfectly fine,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dorsetsue2
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Firstly, please accept our apologies for the fact that you did not get the room you were expecting but rest assured that the Feature Double Bedded Room that you did stay in was in exactly the same Room Group as the Double/Twin that you referred to. We really hope that this did not spoil your visit here to The Exmoor...

Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 May 2015 via mobile

Visited here while on holiday in Porlock as we heard it was a very nice place for carvery. Upon entering the 'main entrance' it was very confusing as to where to go to order etc. Eventually we found our way and the man at the bar who took our order was rather rude and felt as though he was rushing...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Andyy14
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review

We thank you for taking the time to leave your comments and can only apologise for failing to meet all your expectations. We like to think that everyone who walks through the door here feels welcome and from your comments it would appear you entered through the hotel entrance hence the confusion on finding the Bar Food counter to order...

Reviewed 29 May 2015 via mobile

Hotel in great position for touring walking etc. clean rooms very friendly staff but major downfall food was very poor. Breakfast greasy so we eat out except for one night and had bar meal. Chicken was dry and unbeatable. No stars for food. Shame enjoyed everything else

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chappelll
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review

We were very disappointed to read your comments, especially as you did not raise any concerns during your stay to enable us to try and rectify the situation, and rest assured we would have gone out of our way to do, as this is the service that we pride ourselves on. We have sent a reply to your personal email...

Bideford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 May 2015

we had a bar meal i found the service a bit abrupt the menu said local produce but the food could have come from any supermarket the location was great and the food arrived quickly we would have liked a little more on the plate we had booked a particular table we wanted earlier in the day but when we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank clive h
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review

We were so disappointed to read your comments and apologise for not meeting your expectations. All your comments have been passed on to the relevant people. Rest assured that we do use as much local produce as is possible, and take great care and pride in sourcing our suppliers. We do apologise that your table was not available, it would...

Reviewed 13 May 2015 via mobile

We stopped here for some lunch whilst taking a drive through Exmoor. The beer garden by the river is really nice and it was busy so we thought it must be good. We were not disappointed! Really tasty food and good drinks! Highly recommend this if you are passing!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Butty198
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much and we really hope to see you again soon

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 May 2015 via mobile

The hotel is in the centre of Exford on Exmoor a lovely location. We were in in original building and had no complaints about the room. Comfy well decorated rooms, good bathroom. Friends room in the newer part had smaller rooms and no power to shower. What let the place down was the service and food. The food was only...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Confusedoldbiddy
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review

We can only apologise for not meeting your expectations but we are pleased to say that this is not the norm for the majority of our guests. Having spoken to the Receptionist, who does clearly remember you, she is sorry if she kept you waiting on check-in, but as acknowledged by yourself, she was in the middle of taking a...

Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 May 2015

not being your average hunting and fishing types we felt a little out of place here, but the hotel was fabulous, the staff accommodating, hard working and kind and the facilities excellent. we really appreciated the attention to detail, and the high quality of the food. we will definitely wear more tweed next time if only so the staff don't...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Ruby S
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Be assured that tweed is definitely not required, I have never worn it in my life and we have been here at The Exmoor White Horse for nearly 30 years! We do however try to cater for all types, and will go out of our way to make sure that...

Chippenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 April 2015

We have stayed at this hotel several times now and it is always a very pleasant experience. The room was very well furnished and comfortable and the food was excellent. We can recommend both the superb breakfasts and the the very nice evening meals (oh and of course the cream teas!!). The staff are wonderful - helpful and friendly, we...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Nicola P
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for all your kind comments and we really hope to welcome you back once again very soon.

Reviewed 5 April 2015 via mobile

We stopped by on a very busy bank Holiday weekend and although it was busy were treated like long lost friends. The staff are very lovely and welcoming and the carvers was very delicious! Cosy surroundings and definitely well worth a visit! Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Emma S
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments. We always try our best to offer all our guests the best of true Exmoor hospitality, and Bank Holidays are no exception! We hope to see you again very soon.

139 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (79)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (60)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exford
14.9 km away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
616 reviews
22.7 km away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
477 reviews
8.0 km away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 km away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Lynmouth
275 reviews
9.8 km away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
322 reviews
16.3 km away
Exmoor Manor Hotel
Exmoor Manor Hotel
#5 of 9 in Lynton
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled amidst the scenic beauty of Exmoor National Park, this family run, historic coaching Inn offers luxury accommodation, free Wi-Fi, free parking, and is just 10 miles from both Minehead and the West Somerset and North Devon Coast. Dating back to the 16th Century, the Exmoor White Horse Inn is wreathed in Virginia Creeper ivy and sits majestically by a bridge over the River Exe. Oozing with rustic charm, the Inn celebrates the wonders of its historic past whilst providing a contemporary and sophisticated accommodation experience. Classic period features blend seamlessly with sumptuous soft furnishings and chic interiors to form an idyllic welcoming atmosphere in this spectacular part of the country. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Exmoor White Horse Inn

Address: Exford, Exmoor National Park TA24 7PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Exford
Price Range: $163 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Exmoor White Horse Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, HRS, Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Exmoor White Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exmoor White Horse Hotel Exford
Exmoor White Horse Exford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Exmoor White Horse Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask about size of room when booking.”
 of 5 bubbles petermacloughlin, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a room in the hotel and not the annex”
 of 5 bubbles A8000KGjamesw, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Any as its pure class”
 of 5 bubbles D5015YFgaryb, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Bed was large and lovely but a tad on the firm side....perhaps they have softer ones if requested?”
 of 5 bubbles rossm324, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ring and ask hotel”
 of 5 bubbles cbmshaw, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay