We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Old Rectory Hotel

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Old Rectory Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

861 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 853: English reviews
Start your review of The Old Rectory Hotel
 Click to rate
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed in this beautiful, small hotel in late October 2016. What a find! We had such a wonderful, relaxing four days! Our room was well appointed and spotlessly clean; breakfasts were varied and tasty; evening meals delicious; afternoon tea and cakes scrumptious; the wine list was extensive for such a relatively small establishment....and we need to return if only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackal56
OldRectoryHotel, Owner at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review of your stay last October - it is great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and in particular the food and wine - our wine list has won "Best Value Across the Board" in the Champagne Taittinger Wine List Awards and we are glad you managed to sample a few...

Kent, UK
Reviewed 15 January 2017

We stayed for one night in August. The hotel is small but feels homely and welcoming. The owners are attentive and clearly care about every detail. They also worry about their awards (there are MANY covering the reception walls - I think I'd rather draw my own conclusions). Room was comfy. The odd part of the trip was the evening...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hanskraay
OldRectoryHotel, Owner at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us last August. We are delighted that you found the hotel comfy, homely and welcoming. Obviously we are disappointed that our dinner service was not to your liking, particularly as it is so well received by so many of our guests, many of whom return several times in a year.

Arundel, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 November 2016

We spent two very relaxing days here on the beautiful Exmoor coast. The location is very quiet (which we appreciated) and our room was comfortable without being frilly or OTT. The whole place runs very smoothly and calmly (no doubt the result of a lot of hard work and expertise from the lovely owners and their friendly efficient team). The...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mike I
OldRectoryHotel, Owner at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this review

We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed staying with us. It is lovely to have such positive feedback about the running of the hotel and, in particular, our staff who work very hard as you have observed. Thank you for your lovely comments about the food too - we loved having you to stay and we look...

London
Reviewed 10 November 2016

Sometimes it is nice to go back to somewhere you've enjoyed before - you already know the lie of the land and don't need to waste time learning how things work. As before, we were enveloped by the warm welcome and lucky to have good weather, allowing us to leave the car behind and walk along the cliffs in warm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Twickerstourist
OldRectoryHotel, Owner at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this review

Our greatest pleasure is to welcome back so many Old Rectorians, and we really appreciate your loyal custom and kind comments about the hotel. Thank you very much for your review. Huw & Sam

East Sussex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 November 2016

As always, superb attention, delightful staff and wonderful food. The location is admirable, giving access to the best walking on Exmoor and, this year, the colours were the very best we have seen in many years of visiting the area.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank rowleyskeevil
OldRectoryHotel, Owner at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this review

The colours were particularly spectacular this last autumn, as you say. We are delighted that you enjoyed the food so much during your last stay with us. Thank you very much for your continued support. Kind regards Huw & Sam

Tadworth
Reviewed 3 November 2016

We have stayed at The Rectory quite a few times now, and it is the perfect place to relax, you have everything you could wish for, starting with a delicious breakfast, lovely afternoon tea, and a sumptious evening meal starting with canapes served before going into the dining room. The most beautiful countryside, you could not wish for more, Huw...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pip M
OldRectoryHotel, Owner at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Pip It was lovely to see you both again and thank you for your lovely comments especially about our staff - we have shared your comments with them and we all hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Huw & Sam

Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2016

This is a splendid hotel, a truly excellent experience. Food terrific and staff wonderful. We are very keen walkers so this location is perfect. There are several footpaths near to the hotel which is very convenient and the hills of Exmoor are but a short drive away. The owners have created a lovely welcoming environment. Hugh and Sam it was...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank pauljamboman
OldRectoryHotel, Owner at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us - we are fortunate to be in a very beautiful location with wonderful walks on the doorstep and we are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the local area. Your very positive comments about your whole experience are much appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Huw &...

Fleet, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Fantastic Hotel, great hosts, nice rooms but without doubt the reason we go back to The Old Rectory is the AMAZING Food and wine. Canapés and pre dinner drinks in the orangery is a nice touch allowing you to make your choice for dinner and drinks in a relaxed environment. There is a great selection of wines too with Huw...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
OldRectoryHotel, Owner at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this review

It was lovely to see you both again and thank you very much for your fantastic comments about your recent stay and in particular our food offering - we use many local suppliers who are as passionate as we are about quality of ingredients and it's wonderful to receive such fabulous feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon

Taunton
Reviewed 30 October 2016

Sam was an absolutely brilliant and welcoming host. Huw cooked perfect food. At last we have found the perfect hotel which offers excellent food with first class service. We have been looking for a place like this for years and we have finally found it!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank H5769AFkates
OldRectoryHotel, Owner at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this review

We are delighted to hear that you are pleased to have found us. We certainly enjoyed looking after you and we hope to see you both again soon. Thank you for reviewing your stay. Kind regards Huw & Sam

Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Autumn at The Old Rectory is a wonderful experience. Firstly , Exmoor looks splendid . .Beech, Chestnut and Oak turning to gold and a final flourish of Gorse. The coastal path walks , that can be accessed directly from the hotel , are stunningly beautiful and colour remains in the lovely hotel garden. Unsurprisingly , Huw , Sam and the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank davyboy2
OldRectoryHotel, Owner at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. As hoteliers we are hugely fortunate to have such lovely people like yourselves who come and stay with us regularly. As you allude in your write up, we all work really hard to delight our guests; whether that be with friendly service, great food or going the extra mile for our guests...

471 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (136)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (54)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (41)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (308)
Viewed
Amenities (3)
Viewed
Arlington Suite (57)
Viewed
Beeches Superior Room (44)
Viewed
Jasmin Classic Room (47)
Viewed
Paddock Junior Suite (48)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
The Hotel (94)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinhoe
7.0 km away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
505 reviews
5.3 km away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
314 reviews
32.7 km away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 km away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
746 reviews
5.4 km away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
470 reviews
5.2 km away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Old Rectory Hotel is a very special place. A wonderful mix of a stylish boutique country house coupled with an un stuffy relaxed atmosphere. Nestled on the stunning Exmoor coast in North Devon, The Old Rectory Hotel is a haven in which to unwind - no crowds, no traffic; just birdsong and jaw dropping scenery. This is somewhere magical to stop and smell the roses - so if you need to soothe the mind and replenish the soul, you couldn't choose a better place. At The Old Rectory Hotel you'll find the simple things done well; a warm welcome, thoughtful service, fabulous luxury rooms, fantastic local food from Exmoor and North Devon and, of course, an award winning wine list. If you were running away, this is where you would go! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Hotel

Address: Berry Ground Lane Martinhoe, Martinhoe, Exmoor National Park EX31 4QT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Martinhoe
Price Range: $226 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Rectory Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Old Rectory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Rectory Hotel
Old Rectory Martinhoe
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Old Rectory Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Washington DC, District of Columbia

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Old Rectory Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are great”
 of 5 bubbles carolinesP1665YY, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Watersmeet is large, quiet and has a very comfy king sized bed. It's in the coach house across from the main building.”
 of 5 bubbles Leli1510, 21 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Quality of rooms is excellent it all depends on how much space you want”
 of 5 bubbles janetr509, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
“good situation for walking from the hotel which is a very quiet location”
 of 5 bubbles brianj376, 4 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Garden view from Hollowbrook. En suite bath with shower- spacious.”
 of 5 bubbles 342dianeb342, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5