We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Hunters Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Hunters Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

396 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Hunters Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 393: English reviews
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 August 2015 via mobile

Hunters Inn has been a favourite of our family for a long time (many years in fact). The owners have recently invested a lot into this large family pub. It now gas extended meal tine seating. We usually eat here for lunch after walking to shed dons mouth - a favourite short and beautiful wood and stream walk to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew J
Fairfield, Connecticut
Reviewed 5 August 2015

Wonderful three day stay with my daughter and her boyfriend, both of whom had just graduated from SOAS London University, and my American wife, we both live in Connecticut, USA. Absolutely fabulous time, the Hunters Inn was so friendly it was like staying with friends. We were waited on hand foot and finger and felt we should be helping them,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christopher L
Reviewed 4 August 2015 via mobile

Born and raised in the area & always loved visiting Hunters Inn for their fantastic food and service. BUT, returned with family & visiting American friends this past week and can't believe how we were treated. The food took over 45 minutes to arrive and the manager very harshly told us we were told it would take 40 minutes, we...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jane R
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 August 2015

nestled into the glorious Heddon Valley, with ideal walking of every variety - woodland, coastal, moorland within a few strides away, it is impossible not to love this hotel. The immediate environment, sensitively managed by the National trust is particularly rich in rare flora and fauna, and the locals that prop up the well stocked bar are just as exotic!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LydiaBrown69
DavidOrton, Owner at The Hunters Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely comments that you made about the Hunters Inn. The location, as you say, is stunning and the flora and fauna truly out of this world. Anyone staying would not be disappointed by the wide variety of walks on the door step and the scenery to take in. Thank you for your comments about the staff...

Bideford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 August 2015 via mobile

This Hotel/Inn is at a wonderful spot in the Heddons Valley. We visited the Inn half way round a walk starting at Woody Bay and it was a lovely place to sit with the dogs and have lunch. That unfortunately was disappointing with mediocre food. As an example, the sandwich with granary bread came with plain sliced brown bread from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael H
DavidOrton, Owner at The Hunters Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Hunters Inn. We apologise for the standard of the bread which was an error on our part. Our usual delivery of thick granary bread had not been delivered and we were unable to source an equivalent. Rest assured that this has now been resolved.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 August 2015

We stayed in a deluxe double. Maybe not the best value at £140/night but very comfortable and clean with a 4-poster bed and a great breakfast. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Would recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
DavidOrton, Owner at The Hunters Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Hunters Inn. We aim to create a warm and friendly atmosphere for all our guests, whether staying in the hotel or eating in the restaurant. Hopefully you will be able to return in the near future and enjoy the hospitality and wonderful location.

Reviewed 30 July 2015 via mobile

We stayed here two nights - we would have liked to stay longer but it was fully booked. We only stumbled across it as our planned camping trip was abandoned due to high winds and pouring rain. We needed anywhere for a family and a dog. We didn't know what to expect or where we were even going but on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chorizoorlorne
DavidOrton, Owner at The Hunters Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Hunters Inn. We were very pleased to be able to help you out when the weather was so unkind! The inn is a very interesting place with a great history going back hundreds of years and we try to reflect this with pictures and photos around the inn as well as a leaflet...

Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 July 2015

This hotel is superbly situated in the magnificent Heddon Valley and surrounded in part by National Trust land. An easy 25 minute walk to the coast - Heddons Mouth - provides an excellent opportunity to view a variety of flora and wildlife. All rooms are light, airy and well appointed, each having ensuite facilities and wonderful views. We have stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 269ian
DavidOrton, Owner at The Hunters Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Hunters Inn. Over the last 18 months we have followed a programme of upgrading the guest rooms with very pleasing results. Since then, we have then moved on to developing the ground floor - bar and restaurant area and again this has been very well received by guests and locals alike. It is...

Reviewed 25 July 2015 via mobile

Have previously stayed here but this time we called in to eat. Excellent standard of food and drinks. Spacious with plenty of seating both indoors and outside in the pretty peaceful garden. Nice walk down to Heddon Mouth beach from the garden. Will return to stay next time.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rabbit Val
DavidOrton, Owner at The Hunters Inn, responded to this review

We do get a lot of repeat custom so it is nice to know that you intend returning to stay with us next time. The garden is always beautiful but at this time of year exceeds all expectations. Our gardener, Catherine, makes sure that the borders look amazing and the lawn immaculate. We do appreciate your comments about the high...

Mexborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 July 2015

My husband organised a surprise weekend at the Hunters Inn to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary, its a place where I have always wanted to stay. We absolutely love the area especially the walk to Heddons Mouth, a trip to the Valley of Rocks is a must to see spectacular sunsets. The Hunters Inn has certainly changed since our last...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Helen T
DavidOrton, Owner at The Hunters Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review of the Hunters Inn. As you say, we are surrounded by a wide array of stunning walks - the amazing Valley of the Rocks and the trip down to Heddon's Mouth are a must-do. The staff pride themselves on being friendly and at the same time professional at all times and the locals also...

108 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (93)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinhoe
6.9 km away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
439 reviews
1.3 km away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Martinhoe
861 reviews
33.9 km away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
313 reviews
6.7 km away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
470 reviews
6.0 km away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hunters Inn pub is blessed with the most magical setting, tucked at the bottom of the exquisitely beautiful Heddon Valley on Exmoor. The narrow road from the moor descends beneath a canopy of ancient trees. Sun-dappled leaves glitter and gleam. The river runs past the inn and a short walk takes you to the beach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Hunters Inn

Address: Heddon Valley, Martinhoe, Exmoor National Park EX31 4PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Martinhoe
Price Range: $113 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hunters Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Hunters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hunters` Hotel Exmoor National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Hunters Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 1 , lovely views of the garden”
 of 5 bubbles Billy115, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“No lift, rooms on 4 upper floors, not suitable for disabled, ask for a large room with a bath and shower, room 3 recommended”
  • The view from my room
  • my bathroom, the bath was to the side of the toilet, quite a large room, bedroom 3
  • Four poster bed, room 3
 of 5 bubbles Serendipity2210, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The Sunflower Lodge”
 of 5 bubbles jimmyp88, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Lovely quiet location”
 of 5 bubbles manda147, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Try to get there in daylight, it's a challenging drive in the dark.”
 of 5 bubbles Cjg59, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5