We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Royal Beacon Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Royal Beacon Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

274 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 273: English reviews
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed in many hotels in the UK over the last few years and certainly the Royal Beacon Hotel in Exmouth is right at the top of my list for the best place to stay. The staff, without exception, are the best, professional, knowledgeable regarding local information, and always as helpful as they can be. I stayed for 14... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen J
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stephen We're extremely grateful for the wonderful feedback you have provided. There are two accolades we wish to award you: 1. You're one of our favourite guests. 2. You have provided the longest response on this popular website. It is always pleasing to read when our guests' have enjoyed their stay with us, so I have provided a copy... More 

Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Staff are very helpful and friendly. We rang the day before as couldn't make the check in date but still wanted to come the staff was great after letting them know why, room was just what you need if your out and about all day nothing special but but for a low price it's comfortable, we had 101 lovely room... More 

Helpful?
Thank jNjwood
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jNjwood Thanks for your lovely comments, after your recent stay with us. As you have described we have some very attractive rates available, especially at this time of year. Our restaurant is also very popular, so we're grateful for your description. Please be assured we share all these remarks with our hotel team, so they can monitor what our... More 

1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

The loveliest hotel in exmouth, fabulous views, lovely food, warm reception, Kim and john can't do enough !! Comfortable beds, best night sleep in ages, smart and clean interior, will definitely be returning :)

Helpful?
Thank Emily V
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Emily V We're extremely delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at our very popular sea facing hotel. Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable comments, which are always shared with our staff. We look forward to your next visit & good luck with competing in the Kite - Surfing World Championships. Yours faithfully John... More 

Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2016

Location was very good our room wasn't good bed uncomfortable carpet dirty cobwebs and dirt behind the bed and bedside table, Our room was across the courtyard very very noisy car's going past the window all night people walking past inside the room you could here everything.Bedding and towels clean

Helpful?
Thank Lynnhubnash
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lynnhubnash We were very sorry to read that you felt disappointed after your recent stay with us, but delighted that you have provided some feedback, which we are able to use, to improve our standards. Exmouth and especially our hotel, are both extremely popular with both visitors and cars, so we understand that a large number of these will... More 

Oldbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2016

After reading a few of the reviews up till the day we went I was a little apprehensive. But we got a great room, great view and great service and a lovely copule of days away. The staff were lovely and not even our very very late arrival was too mcuh trouble The only draw back was the parking but... More 

Helpful?
Thank mimabbott
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mimabbott We are very pleased to read that you where pleasantly surprised, after your recent stay at our hotel. The Royal Beacon Hotel is a very popular hotel and has many guests stay on a daily basis. We, overall, receive a very high percentage of complimentary remarks, such as yours, from our guests. This is reflected in our high... More 

Crowthorne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

I stayed in a basic twin room in the newer part of the hotel at the back despite being impressed by the reception and bar at the front the bedroom I had was a bit tired to say the least. Dirty carpets broken window and peeling wallpaper.

Helpful?
Thank Simon A
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Simon A Thank you for the comments you have provided after your recent stay in one of our courtyard, special offer, £59 room only rooms. We're very pleased to read you enjoyed the service from our reception and bar areas. Please be assured we have a rolling programme of repairs and refurbishment to all rooms in our hotel. It... More 

Romford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Stayed here for my Husband's birthday and as requested when booking we had the same room that we stayed in on our last visit. Staff were really friendly & helpful. The hotel itself is in a brilliant, elevated position, close to the town centre, beach, railway station and the Jurassic coastal path and is sooooooo quiet at night which makes... More 

Helpful?
Thank MrsA28
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mrs A28 We are delighted to read your feedback, as it is always lovely to hear what our guests think of their stay with us. There are many examples of pleasant comments, similar to what you have said, received both directly and through media, such as TripAdvisor - these are always shared with our team. They are then, able... More 

Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2016

I was going for low cost and so I booked at short notice a twin budget room and paid £59.00 a night (two nights). Well it sufficed. It was not in the main hotel building but was termed a courtyard room. Access was indeed from a central courtyard which was used as a car park. The room itself was adequate... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peter H
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Peter H Our £59 courtyard room deals prove very popular with so many guests, we are glad you, overall, enjoyed your stay with us. It is also very true we offer even better deals in our sea view rooms, to the front of the hotel. Thank you for the comments and happy traveling. Yours sincerely John E. Pye Hotel... More 

Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

What could be a delightful bijou hotel in a lovely position, is marred by run-down, tired bedrooms and bathroom decor and threadbare stair carpets. It is as if the owners last visited B&Q in 1987. The staff were lovely; helpful and friendly with nothing too much trouble. Such a shame that a lack of investment is spoiling a potentially delightful... More 

Helpful?
Thank John B
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John B We're grateful to receive all remarks from our guests, through this popular website. You are quite correct to say our hotel is located in a terrific position, close to the town centre and of course with terrific sea views. The hotel's refurbishment plans are immanent, so hopefully once completed you'll try our hotel again. You'll be quite... More 

Somerset
Level Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

Had a family lunch here to celebrate my in laws diamond wedding. The food choice was excellent and the quality first class. The starter choices had something to suit all tastes. The roast beef melted in the mouth and the little filo basket with horseradish was a good touch. The other roasts where also good. Only one little thing, I... More 

Helpful?
Thank colsey
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Colsey Your kind remarks are greatly appreciated, so thank you for taking the time to write on this popular website. Our meals are always well received by many of guests, especially our Sunday Roast. Your feedback is duly noted and shared with all our staff. We hope to see you again soon. Yours sincerely John E. Pye Hotel Manager More 

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (42)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
0.1 km away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
1.2 km away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
0.2 km away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
0.1 km away
Manor Hotel
Manor Hotel
#7 of 10 in Exmouth
144 reviews
0.4 km away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#8 of 10 in Exmouth
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The hotel is situated in a quiet, elevated position on the Exmouth's finest Regency terrace, once home to Lady Nelson and Lady Byron. Visitors are provided with breathtaking views over well-tended gardens of the Devon coastline; from the River Exe to Lyme Bay and the red cliffs of Orcombe Point. For over two centuries, this elegant hotel has offered guests a tradition of genuine hospitality - a tradition that has continued in its present role as Exmouth's finest hotel. Whether you are a business traveller or staying just for pleasure, the Royal Beacon Hotel will exceed your expectations. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal Beacon Hotel

Address: The Beacon, Exmouth EX8 2AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Price Range: $96 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Beacon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Royal Beacon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Beacon Exmouth
Royal Beacon Hotel Exmouth, Devon, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Beacon Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Toronto
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Beacon Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A seaward facing room is the best, but I had a rear facing room overlooking the Estuary which was still pretty good.”
 of 5 bubbles 956stephenj, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 304 is at the rear of the build but has a great estuary view”
 of 5 bubbles MrsA28, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Probably best not to book a budget room if you are looking to impress or relax in comfort. Upper rooms at the front would have a sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles D8390LBpeterh, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“sea view are the best but in need of attention”
 of 5 bubbles Oyster545, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you are staying for more than a couple of nights go for the main building, front facing rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles N0rahB, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay