We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Royal Beacon Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Royal Beacon Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

274 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Royal Beacon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 273: English reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2014

Sunday. 6 hour drive, late meeting in Exmouth at 6-45pm, back to hotel for 9-05pm, "bar snack please". Sorry but no, the kitchen is closed and all have gone home. Lucky them!! Strange thing though, the glowing room guest directory clearly states " Marine Bar, Bar Lounge and The Parlour snacks available from 7-00pm until 9-00pm throughout the week. I...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Steven H
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Steven H, Thank you for your review after recent stay at Royal Beacon Hotel. I appreciate you taking time to share your feedback with us as without constructive criticism we wouldn’t be able to improve our services. We are at point of reviewing all our menus and opening times in order to best accommodate needs of our guests and...

Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2014

Stayed here Stayed here after a wake for a family member. we had the wake in the hotel and many of us stayed. Very impressed with the hotel had amazing charm friendly staff not to fancy!! no unneeded flashiness just a nice old hotel with good bars and restaurants great a family no matter what age! Good value for money...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Daniel D
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Daniel D, Thank you for your review after recent stay at Royal Beacon Hotel. I appreciate you taking time to share your comments with us; we listen to our guest’s feedback as it allows us to improve and provide better services. I was glad to read you liked our breakfast and friendliness of our team, I will make sure...

Dartford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2014

Super position high up overlooking the sea. Be careful when leaving as road runs across bottom of front door steps - no pavement this side. Looks to have had many improvements in last 2 years. Stayed one night in Courtyard room 404, for which you have to cross the small car park. Ground floor room spacious and clean, but disconcerting...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jj-the-jetsetter
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JJ The Jetsetter Many thanks for your positive feedback, we were delighted to read your favourable comments. Our team here are always pleased to read guest comments, especially via this excellent website. Yours sincerely John E. Pye Hotel Manager

Axbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2014

Staying at the Royal beacon hotel, one of the best hotels we have been to. The staff are friendly and helpful and the breakfast delicious! We had dinner last night in 'Donato's' their Italian restaurant, which I can only describe as mouth watering. Have really enjoyed our stay.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank roximuse59
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear roxiemuse59, We are always delighted when our guests provide positive feedback and I’d like to thank you for nice words on behalf of all my colleagues here at Royal Beacon Hotel. Our employees take great pride in looking after our guests and I am happy that you’ve found their efforts and our facilities satisfying. I’ll make sure to pass...

Reviewed 22 October 2014

We arrived a little early but just parked up and went for a wander exmouth is one of our favourite places ...it was a difficult day for me ... The first anniversary of my dad passing away :( after a lovely day in exmouth we went to the room which had stunning sea views ...my partner however was very hot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank juliej1972
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Julie, Thank you for taking the time to write your review after recent stay at Royal Beacon Hotel. I appreciate your comments and will be happy to pass on good feedback to all my colleagues who made the difference to your stay with us. I hope your partner is feeling better now and we all at Royal Beacon Hotel...

England
Reviewed 20 October 2014

We stayed at the Royal Beacon for 3 nights from Oct 16 to 19, 2014. We arrived a few hours early and when we were billeted at the Annex (The Courtyard Rooms), the musty smell and dreadful stain on the carpet greeted us as we walked-in. The room was clean until we noticed cobwebs on the ceiling and the net...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bloomfield_Lily
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lilly, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback after your recent stay at Royal Beacon Hotel. Without constructive criticism such as yours we are unable to constantly monitor and improve our levels of guest satisfaction and I’d like to assure you that all your comments were passed on to our Housekeeping and issues mentioned by...

Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2014

I stayed at the Royal Beacon for a weekend in October 2014. The stay was absolutely fine although the public areas in the annexe were a little tired (grubby carpet, scuffed walls, etc.) On checking my statement on my return I had been overcharged by £59 - I called the hotel and the servers were down so I was promised...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nicky B
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nicky B I am sorry that you have chosen this website to provide, differing feedback, after we had discussed this matter privately. As you will see from the many favourable comments we receive, this matter, in your description, was not what our guests normally experience and for this I can only apologise sincerely. We would be delighted if you...

Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 October 2014

Nice clean and welcoming hotel, good Bar and restaurant area - helpful receptionist . We had a Budget room in the adjoining block which was OK ...Clean except for a dreadful stain on the carpet right as you walk in ..so hard to miss ..A pity..kinda puts you off a bit. We got two twin beds which we had requested,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Strummer07
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Strummer07 We are always delighted when our guests provide valuable feedback, through this popular website, especially as our £59 room only, budget rooms are proving extremely good value. Our staff make great efforts in looking after our guests, from delicious breakfasts to fine meals in our restaurants and their kind manners. The hotel's location is an ideal base to...

Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2014

I stayed here for two nights whilst visiting a friend. I was in one of the cheaper rooms in the courtyard (car park?!). For the price everything was OK but just attention to detail could have changed my first impression as I walked into the room, the first things I saw were dirty stained net curtains and torn bed linen....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackie K
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jackie K Thank you for taking time to provide valuable feedback after your recent stay at our hotel, I was sorry to learn of the problems you experienced, but pleased that you found our staff to be helpful, as we take great pride in our efforts, to ensure our guests enjoy their stay. Please be assured I have discussed...

Reviewed 22 September 2014 via mobile

This is a traditional, older hotel. There are some areas that need attention, such as worn carpets in public areas. Apart from this , the hotel is good. The view from our room was splendid, looking out to sea from a bay window. The facilities were good, although the lighting could be brighter in the bathroom. As this was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mark B We were delighted to read your comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel. It is always very uplifting to read when a guest enjoys their stay, especially when our team takes a great deal of pride in their hospitality skills. All your remarks are discussed in our monthlly team meetings and also form part of plans...

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (42)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
0.1 km away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
1.2 km away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
0.2 km away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
0.1 km away
Manor Hotel
Manor Hotel
#7 of 10 in Exmouth
144 reviews
0.4 km away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#8 of 10 in Exmouth
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The hotel is situated in a quiet, elevated position on the Exmouth's finest Regency terrace, once home to Lady Nelson and Lady Byron. Visitors are provided with breathtaking views over well-tended gardens of the Devon coastline; from the River Exe to Lyme Bay and the red cliffs of Orcombe Point. For over two centuries, this elegant hotel has offered guests a tradition of genuine hospitality - a tradition that has continued in its present role as Exmouth's finest hotel. Whether you are a business traveller or staying just for pleasure, the Royal Beacon Hotel will exceed your expectations. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal Beacon Hotel

Address: The Beacon, Exmouth EX8 2AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Price Range: $96 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Beacon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Royal Beacon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Beacon Exmouth
Royal Beacon Hotel Exmouth, Devon, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Beacon Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Toronto
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Beacon Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A seaward facing room is the best, but I had a rear facing room overlooking the Estuary which was still pretty good.”
 of 5 bubbles 956stephenj, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 304 is at the rear of the build but has a great estuary view”
 of 5 bubbles MrsA28, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Probably best not to book a budget room if you are looking to impress or relax in comfort. Upper rooms at the front would have a sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles D8390LBpeterh, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“sea view are the best but in need of attention”
 of 5 bubbles Oyster545, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you are staying for more than a couple of nights go for the main building, front facing rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles N0rahB, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay