We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Arundell Arms Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Arundell Arms Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

470 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Arundell Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 468: English reviews
Wiltshire
Reviewed 20 March 2015

We found this hotel to be exceptional value for money. They have a weekend deal including a 5 course tasting menu on one evening which seemed to be too good to be true. once we discovered that they welcomed pets, we booked as the Hotel is just off Dartmoor and is less than 30 minutes to the coast. The Hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank braddell
Arundell-Arms, Owner at Arundell Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Braddell, Thanks for your review. It is always good news when guests discover us for the first time and leave wanting to return. As you have spotted, we are dog friendly som we look forward to welcoming you all back here soon. Adam

Reviewed 19 March 2015

This hotel has been on my list for a few years because I'm interested in fishing and shooting. However, my wife and I were travelling back from Cornwall and decided at the last minute to stop off on the way home to Shropshire. We were just so impressed with the whole experience. The welcome, the comfortable lounge with the log...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RobinMelley
Arundell-Arms, Owner at Arundell Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear RobinMelley, I am glad that you stopped off here on your way back from Cornwall. Travelers have been doing that here for over 300 years! Thank you for your great review and we look forward to welcoming you back (with rod in hand!). Tight Lines Adam

Perranporth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 March 2015

My husband and I stayed here on 6th March for our joint birthday. The staff were polite, helpful and eager to please. The hotel was spotless and luxurious. The food was amazing, canapés with Champagne, then a 5 course meal one course we didn't like was not a problem, it was replaced with something we did like!!! Well worth a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Cathy O
Arundell-Arms, Owner at Arundell Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cathy O Thanks for your kind review. I am pleased that we made the birthday so special. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Adam

Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 March 2015

Loved this hotel,friendly staff,lovely room,fantastic food.Would recommend for a relaxing break.Great base for near by tourist attractions and lovely walks.The taster menu was amazing and our room had recently been refurbished.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sarah397
Arundell-Arms, Owner at Arundell Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sarah 397 Thank you for kind review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and the ever popular Tasting Menu. We are working through our bedrooms and public areas and gently refurbishing so it is great that you both noticed what we are doing and liked it. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Arundell soon....

UK
Reviewed 1 March 2015

Just back from a wonderful two day break at the Arundell Arms. Great service, wonderful food, and friendly staff - cannot think of anything negative! We enjoyed the tasting menu the first night and a hotel bar meal the second and would recommend both. The lounge was very comfortable for relaxing in with homely log fires and comfy sofas. Our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Keswick
Arundell-Arms, Owner at Arundell Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Keswick Thank you very much for your fulsome review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your short break with us so much. The tasting menu is continuing to prove popular. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Arundell soon Adam

Stroud, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 February 2015

My abiding memories of this hotel will be the friendly staff and the lovely lounge with its log fire and comfortable sofas. Our room for the first night was not great. It was at the front and although the room was OK the noisy plumbing and traffic noise meant a request for a change was needed. This was no bother...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Evan J
Arundell-Arms, Owner at Arundell Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Evan J Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the tasting menu. I am sorry that there was road noise. We previously had the main A30 road running through our village but thankfully we were bypassed 25 years ago. Unfortunately the A30 was being resurfaced last weekend...

Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 February 2015

After reading so many fantastic reviews I booked my fiancé and I in for the St Valentine's Day special menu - it was simply divine! We both work a great deal and with the planning of our wedding; nights out together are precious. This one was perfect! We had a fantastic welcome, beautiful food, great service and a wonderful choice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rossitay
Arundell-Arms, Owner at Arundell Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rossitay, I am glad that we were able to provide the perfect valentine weekend for you and your fiance and the space to complete your preparation for your big day! Adam

Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 February 2015

We stayed here recently whilst in Lifton for a family funeral. We could not fault the hotel. The rooms were beautiful, comfortable and clean. As my parents have mobility problems we were given downstairs rooms. The food was wonderful and the staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. We stayed for 2 nights and were made to feel welcome...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank MummaG21
Arundell-Arms, Owner at Arundell Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MummaG21, Thank you for your review. I am very glad that we could look after you, your family and friends in these sad circumstances. I hope we can welcome you back to the Arundell at happier times. Adam

Woking, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 January 2015

We stayed two nights B&B plus the 5 course taster menu on our first night. After a long drive I confess the approach was a little underwhelming as the building was not as attractive as the pictures suggested. However as soon as we entered reception, the warmth of welcome and cosy ambience took over. Log fires, lovely clean room, well...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Highexpectati0ns
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 January 2015

Stayed here Friday 16th Jan 2015. Love this place. The food was far higher than my expectations & the wine flight complimented the taster menu perfectly. Even being dairy & gluten free I was still able to partake in all the courses which were exceptional even down to the petit fours! The staff were very helpful & attentive without being...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Miss S R

86 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lifton
7.3 km away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
367 reviews
0.4 km away
Lifton Hall Hotel
Lifton Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lifton
310 reviews
32.9 km away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 km away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
616 reviews
39.7 km away
Fox and Hounds Country Hotel
29.2 km away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Arundell Arms Hotel

Address: 1 Fore Street, Lifton PL16 0AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Lifton
Price Range: $200 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arundell Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Arundell Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arundell Arms Lifton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Arundell Arms Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Arundell Arms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in room 5 which was very quiet as it overlooked the rear garden.”
 of 5 bubbles Silotite, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Not room #12 (for reasons of the aforementioned people noise.”
 of 5 bubbles BrianLHall, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Look for offers”
 of 5 bubbles J8900BGjohnh, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ Clean and comfortable. Beware the showers lovely but very powerful. You have to keep the door shut so not to set off smoke alarm!!”
 of 5 bubbles 722heatherg, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask for a hotel room away from the road”
 of 5 bubbles 569fiona, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5