We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Ness

Certificate of Excellence
21/06/2017 22/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Ness
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

250 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Ness
See the most recent reviews
Showing 249: English reviews
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed for one night in November with our dog. The Ness was amazing we stayed in one of the standard dog friendly rooms which was beautiful and massive with views of the sea. The bed was beautiful and by far the best I've ever slept on I'd love to know where I can get that mattress from! We also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_Broabs
Hall W, Manager at The Ness, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, it is great to hear that you enjoyed visiting us. We hope you can visit again soon.

Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 November 2016

"wow!" barely does this justice... Recommended by friends, it didn't disappoint. Great hotel, luxurious rooms, friendly and attentive staff throughout, wonderful location. Roaring open fire after a cold day walking, and good food in the restaurant. And the views across the estuary - from our table and bedroom (and the bath...) If you ever get the chance - do!!! We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kerry P
Hall W, Manager at The Ness, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a wonderful review on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased we delivered great hospitality and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Kennewick, Washington
Reviewed 10 November 2016

The Ness was recommended to me from several business colleagues. A long awaited get away. We arrived late morning on Saturday 5th November (wish we had booked Monday from work, we WOULD have spent another night). Driving through the village towards the Ness sent the excitement through the roof. We don't live near the ocean or beaches. On reaching The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank radarmountain2006
Hall W, Manager at The Ness, responded to this review

Wow - Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor and thanks for your great feedback. I am so pleased you had a nice time and I look forward to sharing your review with the team. We look forward to seeing you again soon

Reviewed 3 November 2016

We have stayed at The Ness a few times and last year had a week there for our honeymoon - this year we returned for our 1st Anniversary - The Ness is a stunning place to stay with gorgeous views everywhere. We have stayed in quite a few of the rooms - all clean and tidy and beds are made...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
Hall W, Manager at The Ness, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor and thanks for your great feedback. I am so pleased you had a nice time and I look forward to sharing your review with the team. We look forward to seeing you again soon

Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016

This restaurant has a great view and on we went there on the basis of other reviews. My partner had the Sunday Roast (£10.99) and I had the Lamb Shank (£16.00) The order was taken quickly and the food was arrived promptly. There was a good selection of vegetables but my roast potatoes were very hard (almost impossible to cut)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue Y
Hall W, Manager at The Ness, responded to this review

We really appreciate your feedback; thank you for taking the trouble to post your review. We have taken your comments on board and do hope you will visit us again.

Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

My first visit to The Ness was with my daughter and her partner. We had a very good lunch of a variety of sandwiches, mine was egg and cress with fries.Excellent with a good red wine. There was a very good choice of dessert. We were so impressed we booked for Christmas Eve and Sunday lunch next week. All in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beverley Thomad H
Hall W, Manager at The Ness, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor and thanks for your great feedback. I am so pleased you had a nice time and I look forward to sharing your review with the team. We look forward to seeing you again soon

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2016

Could only stay one night,great place with fantastic views.food is good quality and cooked well.the bedroom was very good and comfy with lots of nice touches like different types of tea,coffee and hot chocolate and shortbread.would not hesitate to stay and eat again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Blackgreyhound
Hall W, Manager at The Ness, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a wonderful review on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased we delivered great hospitality and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

Went to The Ness for a meal . We were very impressed with the location . From the moment we went till we left the staff were very attentive &cheerful & the meal we ordered was delicious can't fault The Ness in any way . Definitely go there again !!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eileen S
Hall W, Manager at The Ness, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit.

Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

Eight of us went to the pub on recommendation tonight. A lovely pub with beautiful views but the food was very disappointing. Camembert to start,two portions had to go back as was barely warmed and thick. It can back, obviously microwaved wasn't much better. All main courses were mediocre. One of the meals were not paid for due to the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jayne K
Hall W, Manager at The Ness, responded to this review

Please accept our apologies for giving you cause to post this review on Trip Advisor. We’d really like the chance to look into this matter further. We’d be very grateful if you could copy and paste your review, together with the House name and date of visit and email us at: anthony@hall-woodhouse.co.uk

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Booked a superior room with a sea view balcony at £135.00 per night. I usually have to lower my expectations as I am quite fussy however, "The Ness" did not disappoint. Beautiful room and view (although all the nick nacks are not my taste and not essential) with some very nice touches such as; a view of the coast in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Snoopydoopydoo
Hall W, Manager at The Ness, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor and thanks for your great feedback. I am so pleased you had a nice time and I look forward to sharing your review with the team. We look forward to seeing you again soon

82 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (68)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Other (14)
21/06/2017 22/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shaldon
0.6 km away
Potters Mooring Hotel
Potters Mooring Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shaldon
325 reviews
1.5 km away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
214 reviews
4.3 km away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 88 in Torquay
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Bay Hotel
Bay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Teignmouth
219 reviews
7.3 km away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dawlish
651 reviews
3.3 km away
Cockhaven Arms
Cockhaven Arms
#1 of 1 in Bishopsteignton
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms

Additional Information about The Ness

Address: Ness Drive | Nr Teignmouth, Shaldon TQ14 0HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Shaldon
Price Range: $190 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ness 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Ness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ness Shaldon, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Ness staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Ness staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 2 for the view”
, 18 May 2017 | Read review
“If you are staying at The Ness you need a room in the front to make the best of your stay”
brendacY1535MR, 4 May 2017 | Read review
“Rooms 1, 2 or 3 (Room 2 for full sea view is situated right at the front of the hotel, 1 and 3 are on the corners”
Taz1234, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Go for the 3 rooms at the front with the vrenda”
ssammi71, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 8 brilliant & dog friendly”
LesleyF414, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
TripAdvisor
* /night
View Deal
Priceline
LateRooms.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates