We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Highwayman Inn

Save
Traveller (134)
Dining (13)
Room & Suite (6)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent69%
  • Very good17%
  • Average5%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“the pub”(57 reviews)
“amazing pub”(9 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Pets Allowed
All hotel details
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (254)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveller rating
171
44
11
12
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
171
44
11
12
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnooks and cranniesthe pubamazing pubfascinating placevictorian roomevery nook and crannyangel roomfour posterlocal ciderstopped for lunchlydford gorgelovely mealfriendly ownersperfect hostsgalleon barwarm welcomebruce
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 252 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We called into this pub for a quick refreshment tonight. After walking through the front door (made to look like a carriage) into the bar, we really couldn't believe our eyes. What a wonderful, quirky, friendly place this is. Sally and Bruce were extremely welcoming,...More

Thank carrots108
Response from Sally T, Owner at The Highwayman InnResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your kind and encouraging words. Hope to see you again.

Reviewed April 17, 2018 via mobile

Stopped for lunch today on the way back home to Wales. We seen it on the way to Tavistock a few days previous but it was between opening times. We arrived early today and waited for it to open. We were not disappointed the warmest...More

Thank Alex H
Response from Sally T, Owner at The Highwayman InnResponded 1 week ago

Monty sends you a lick and a wag and Bruce and I thank you too.

Reviewed April 8, 2018

Had a fantastic time lastnight, reaquainting myself with 'The Highwayman ' after 19 or so years. The welcome we recieved by Bruce and his wife was warm, accommodating and helpful. Later on that evening, when it was quieter, we had a very interesting and informative...More

Thank Greenspirit5272
Response from Sally T, Owner at The Highwayman InnResponded 1 week ago

Thank you my lovely. Thankfully there are still customers with soul and spirit that enjoy a drink. In appreciation

Reviewed April 6, 2018

Have been here before, a really quirky little pub with surprises in every nook and cranny. The only thing that spoils it is the drinks. We paid £12 for a pint of not very nice lager, a large glass of wine which was so poor...More

Thank John H
Response from Sally T, Owner at The Highwayman InnResponded 1 week ago

Sorry you were not completely happy. A pint of lager is 4.50 and a large wine is 5.50, coke is in bottles not on pump and is £2. Customers are asked if they would like ice and lemon. We would happily have changed the wine...More

Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

What a wonderful quirky amazing pub.jaw dropping adventure so much to take in whilst visting this place landlady friendly and very helpful would recommend it to anyone of any age .food was home cooked and delicious as well as reasonably priced

Thank Mia R
Response from Sally T, Owner at The Highwayman InnResponded April 4, 2018

Thank you Mia. So so pleased you enjoyed the inn and beleive me the inn enjoyed you.

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Sourton
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (134)
Dining (13)
Room & Suite (6)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
keltik27
July 30, 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Sally T | Property representative |
Yes in some of our rooms. Do phone on 01837861243. We prefer dogs to be on a lead.
0
Votes
KathyMurph
November 28, 2014|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from FlyingEmmit | Reviewed this property |
Pretty sure they do, but it would be courteous and sensible to book anyway, especially for a Saturday.
0
Votes
whitworth01
September 6, 2014|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Sally T | Property representative |
Yes we love dogs, sometimes it is like Crufts and Scrufs in here, but on leads is a requirement.
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Don’t know if they do rooms, they do food"
Read review
"All rooms are special in different ways"
Read review
"If the staff use mental arithmetic, check your bill and change :-)"
Read review
"As far as I am aware this isnt a hotel - its a pub"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing