We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Rocks Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woolacombe
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

615 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 614: English reviews
Start your review of The Rocks Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for two nights for our first visit to the area over Easter and were greeted warmly by the hosts Wendy and Martin. Breakfast was fantastic, really high quality and Roxy's Diner is just amazing. Such attention to detail and so many fun things to look at. Especially loved the jukebox which ensured a happy start to the morning....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank grannyclothes
Woolacombe R, Owner at The Rocks Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you grannyclothes for your lovely review, and we are so happy that you found Woolacombe and us, so you know where all your future holidays will now be!! ;-)) Best wishes Wendy & Martin

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just returned from a 4 night stay at The Rocks Hotel. Myself and husband had a fab stay, its ideally located close to shops, restaurants and the beach which were all in walking distance. Also great location as a base to visit others areas such as Ilfacombe, Brauton, Croyde etc. The hotel its self was clean and we had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil R
Woolacombe R, Owner at The Rocks Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Neil R, we are so happy you had a great stay, and maybe next time you will be able to make use of the gear too, especially if you come back in the summer and the sea is a bit warmer!!:-)) Many thanks again Wendy & Martin

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked at short notice & wasn't disappointed. We would stay here again. Travelled with older teens, so the interconnecting rooms were a good solution. Firstly the hotel is clean & tidy. Breakfast is well cooked & the diner is fun. There is a fridge with fresh milk in reception to compliment the decent selection of teas & coffees in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
therocks2008, Owner at The Rocks Hotel, responded to this review

Wow Mary B that is an extensive review.Firstly we are happy that you weren't disappointed with your stay at the Rocks and that you will come back. I'm sorry that the shower dispenser was empty, we would have rushed to refill it if we had been made aware of it when you were asking about the wifi? Our mobile numbers...

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We've just returned from a brilliant stay at the Rocks Hotel in Woolacombe and can't fault the hotel in any way. The hosts, the service we received, the facilities, the location are all perfect; and the added touches (surf boards and wetsuits for guests to use, the diner (which is amazing) and the little treats for kids) all helped to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MumblesMile
Woolacombe R, Owner at The Rocks Hotel, responded to this review

Aaah Mumblesmile how lovely!! So glad you all had a nice stay with us and glad to hear you will come back, we look forward to it. Many thanks again Wendy and Martin

Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was a last minute decision to visit Woolacombe last Saturday night (waiting for the weather forecast to improve), and I was trying to book a room on Friday night. I tried several - half were full and half wouldn't accept a single-night occupancy. Wendy was very helpful and even shuffled her son into another room so we could have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeffjackson646947f
Woolacombe R, Owner at The Rocks Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you jeffjackson646947f for taking the time to post your review. We were indeed lucky that you found us too!! Hopefully now youve found us, you will one day return to us! Many thanks again and best wishes Wendy and Martin

Berkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here as part of a walking experience along the SW Coastal path. Martin was a friendly and accommodating host with an interesting family story behind the upgrade of this B&B in 2009. I may spoil the diner surprise for you but this really is a fun and relaxed place where the hosts have gone the extra mile to make...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon R
Woolacombe R, Owner at The Rocks Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Simon R for your lovely review. Im sorry I missed you, but happy that you got to experience Martin in his natural habitat!! :-) We hope you enjoyed the rest of your walk and that you will come back to Devon soon. Best wishes Wendy & Martin

london
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great spot just a two minute walk to Woolacombe shops and a few minutes more to the glorious beach. We had a small but perfectly nice room, a great breakfast in a lovely 'Diner' room, and staff couldn't be more helpful and friendly. Loved it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank benp777
Woolacombe R, Owner at The Rocks Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you benp777 for your review... I hate to say it but yours was one of the bigger rooms!! :-0).. but as I do say in reviews none of our rooms sadly are very big, but we hope they are all perfectly adequate and presented well... we will see , if you might decide to make a return visit! We...

Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Back again, this time minus the kids! Had the most lovely time, great places to eat nearby. Fab walks along the beach. Top tip: The Woolacombe Bay Hotel allows visitors to partake of the pool, sauna, stream room & powerful shower for @£7.50 each. ;-) Wendy & Martin graciously allowed us to take 2 of their towels as the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nicola A
Woolacombe R, Owner at The Rocks Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you again Nicola A for coming back and for your lovely review, and for your tips on my sinuses!!!... could be a work in progress!!! :-)) Many thanks again and we look forward to your next trip with or without your children!! . Best wishes Wendy & Martin

bournemouth
Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

The Rocks hotel is ideally located with a very short walk to the town and beach. The spacious car park round the back is brilliant as you don't need to pay for parking on the sea front. They have a lovely hot shower outside for when you've finished in the sea and you have full access to all their equipment....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JojoDimarco
Woolacombe R, Owner at The Rocks Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you JojoDimarco for your lovely review and the first for 2017!!.. you were a delight to meet!! looking forward to seeing you again. Many thanks again Wendy & Martin

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 January 2017

Good size comfortable rooms. The breakfast is delicious and generous. You can borrow a wide range of surf boards/ water sports gear and wetsuits. Totally worth a visit and the owners are super lovely.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucy100W
Woolacombe R, Owner at The Rocks Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Lucy100W for giving us a review, three months after your stay with us. It's sooo nice to think we are in your thoughts!!! ... in a good way!!! 😀 We really hope you can come back and do it all again soon. Many thanks again Wendy and Martin

196 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (158)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolacombe
0.8 km away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
776 reviews
0.2 km away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
759 reviews
0.5 km away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
The Fortescue Arms
The Fortescue Arms
#3 of 4 in Woolacombe
99 reviews
6.2 km away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,713 reviews
4.8 km away
Sunnymeade Country House
Sunnymeade Country House
#9 of 21 in Woolacombe
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Rocks Hotel is in the heart of Woolacombe. Only 300m from the beach. The whole hotel is constantly being refurbished to a high standard. We have a large collection of wet suits and a smaller collection of body/surf boards and even the odd kayak, that we are happy to lend our guest, free of charge.Be assured of a warm welcome and a unique experience. We look forward to meeting you soon!Wendy & Martin ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Rocks Hotel

Address: Beach Road, Woolacombe EX34 7BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe
Price Range: $88 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Rocks Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Hampshire, United Kingdom
1 month ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Rocks Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 1 has a lovely sea view”
grannyclothes, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“For a small family the hotel appartment is great.”
  • This is the kitchen / lounge area, two bedroom to the left of the TV and double bedroom op sink.
coxcameraman, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the back of the hotel have sea views”
Michelle2020Jar, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book early to be assured of a good view.”
rossdavis2911, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“great for activity holiday accommodation”
am05bbr, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5