We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Watersmeet Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Watersmeet Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

683 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 676: English reviews
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

What a wonderful hotel! Friendly helpful staff, lovely lounge areas and bedroom with superb views of the sea and the food was excellent - so tasty. The restaurant was also incredibly helpful and accommodating with my gluten-free requirements - bliss! Perfect location for fantastic coastal walks - we didn't go near the car in 4 days! Thoroughly recommended!

Helpful?
1 Thank Jane T
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked for a romantic couple of days, so impressed with service, room, views, meals and wonderful cocktail making that we extended our stay. The room had its own private terrace, with views across to Lundy. We were lucky enough to have the indoor pool to ourselves, for afternoon swims. Meals in both the Bistro and Restaurant were excellent, predinner drinks... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank sandrawD3035YB
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

Couldn't fault the cleanliness, ambience , location and service. The views are incredible. Nice dinner in the restaurant and the most marvellous walk along the beach finished off with a wonderful afternoon tea in front of the fire! It is definitely a place we will return to

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank David S
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
294 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were recommended to have lunch here by a friend who has stayed here a few times. We were not disappointed. The views from the dining room were breathtaking. Woolacombe beach and Lundy island were spread out before us. The hotel is tastefully decorated with Hugh picture windows. It has cosy reception rooms with an open fire and a cosy... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank WarwickshireMarakesh
General M, Manager at Watersmeet Hotel, responded to this review

Dear WarwickshireMarakesh, Thank you for your lovely review following your recent lunch with us. It is great to read that you enjoyed your lunch with the views from the bistro which really are breathtaking. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay when you can enjoy dinner and breakfast in our sea view restaurant. More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booked a room for a night as was attending a wedding...the hotel location and staff I could not fault...what was disappointing is we were allocated a bedroom with no window just a circular light channel which shed next to no light. We felt like we were in a tomb...it was overwhelmingly claustrophobic and we had a terrible and uncomfortable sleep.... More 

Helpful?
Thank maria h
General M, Manager at Watersmeet Hotel, responded to this review

Dear maria h, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here. I'm pleased to read that you could not fault the hotel and that you were well looked after during your stay. With regards to your room which is one of sun pipe rooms. It is clearly stated on the third party booking website... More 

Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have stayed before and will again . great location and fabulous views from all the rooms including the lounge and dining room . Friendly proffessional staff, really good food .Kids loved the indoor pool . To sum up, a very good quality hotel . Whats not to like .

Helpful?
1 Thank anthony a
General M, Manager at Watersmeet Hotel, responded to this review

Dear anthony a, Thank you for your review. As with many of ours guests we enjoy welcoming you back time after time. We hope to see you again soon for another fantastic stay with us. More 

West Sussex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We return to this little gem in North Devon year upon year. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. The staff are welcoming, helpful,accomodating, polite and cheerful. The food is of a 5 star quality and the menu changes daily. The view toward the sea is timeless and beguiling Overall the hotel is very clean, spacious and welcoming. A great... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank ProfessorWestSussex
General M, Manager at Watersmeet Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ProfessorWestSussex, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. It is a great to read that you had another wonderful stay with us. The whole team are very friendly, yet professional and will go out of their ways to make sure that all of your guests and well looked after and comfortable. We look forward to... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Rude staff, poor quality food, unclean rooms. Staff were very rude on both times we stayed, particularly the breakfast staff. Bathroom was unclean with brown stains in the bath. Complained to reception, was just shrugged at and asked when we were leaving. Never been treated like it. Never staying again. There are better places down the road.

Helpful?
4 Thank Benjamin R
General M, Manager at Watersmeet Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Benjamin R, Thank you for your review following your stay. Please accept my apologies if you feel you feel unjustly treated during your recent stay. The whole of the team work extremely hard to deliver the best in terms of service and standards throughout. If any of these issues had been brought to my attention during your stay, they... More 

Kings Langley
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were only staying for two nights, but unfortunately the weather was terrible, strong winds and heavy rain, but the hotel was very nice, all the staff very pleasant and helpful, especially the young lady in reception who was helping me with my wifi. Food was exceptionally good, and our bedroom had a lovely view over the bay. Could not... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Roger2585
General M, Manager at Watersmeet Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Roger2585, I am pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us recently and that you couldn't fault anything apart from the weather!! We do our Best. We look forward to welcoming you back for a brighter, sunnier stay. More 

Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel is in a brilliant place but because of cost-saving, we did not book a sea view room. When we got there, they had upgraded us and it was perfect. The room, the service, the food - it could not have been better. We will be back soon.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Elke B
General M, Manager at Watersmeet Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Elke B, Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay with us. We hope to welcome you back to enjoy another stay with us soon. More 

861 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (217)
Viewed
View from Room (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (54)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (73)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (576)
Viewed
Amenities (60)
Viewed
Classic Room (50)
Viewed
Deluxe Family Sea View Room (62)
Viewed
Deluxe Four Poster Sea View Room (50)
Viewed
Deluxe Sea View Room (57)
Viewed
Deluxe Sea View Room with Balcony (60)
Viewed
Executive Deluxe (Non-Sea View) (50)
Viewed
Executive Sun Pipe (Non-Sea View) (52)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (42)
Viewed
Outdoor Pool (20)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (68)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (53)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolacombe
0.9 km away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
723 reviews
6.8 km away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,588 reviews
1.2 km away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 km away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
495 reviews
4.5 km away
Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel
15.6 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Watersmeet Hotel & Restaurant
Watersmeet Hotel & Restaurant
Cuisines: British, European
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Watersmeet hotel located on the quiet edge of Woolacombe is one of Devon's finest coastal hotels. It is perfectly perched on the cliff edge above a quiet, sandy beach known as Combegate beach. All but three of the bedrooms offer spectacular sea views to Lundy Island and Baggy Point. A number of the bedrooms have original wooden balconies where you can sit and watch magnificent sunsets. The seaward side of the hotel offers one long, uninterrupted panorama and whether you're reading the paper in the lounge or dining in the restaurant you can enjoy the most wonderful views of the sea and rolling surf. The very best pocket sprung beds; thick, luxurious duvets; crisp white linen and superior memory foam pillows ensure a comfortable night's sleep. The table d'hote and bistro restaurants offer a high standard of cuisine. 2 AA rosette awarded many of the ingredients are locally sourced. On the hotel's doorstep is one of the country's best surfing beaches; a top links golf course. For the ramblers - the hotel could not be better placed with scenic National Trust land that surround the hotel and beautiful coastal footpaths to Morte Point and Lee. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Watersmeet Hotel

Address: Woolacombe EX34 7EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe
Price Range: $191 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Watersmeet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Watersmeet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Watersmeet Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Kendal, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Watersmeet Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I would ask for a view of the bay”
 of 5 bubbles WarwickshireMarakesh, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“havent had a bad room yet”
 of 5 bubbles anthonya932, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Most rooms overlook the bay”
 of 5 bubbles Roger2585, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you can go for sea view - well worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles , 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Sea view on first floor gives excellent views. Oh and there is a lift if needed.”
 of 5 bubbles 573suzannew, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay