We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Bankes Arms Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Corfe Castle
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Bankes Arms Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

78 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 78: English reviews
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On arrival, the staff appeared disorganised and vague about where we should sit. Eventually, we were shown to a table at the back of the hotel. This was also where the coffee was being made and the constant banging to empty the coffee grounds throughout our meal did not make for a relaxing atmosphere. I had been looking forward to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank littlebear56
George P, Owner at The Bankes Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us. There should always be a member of staff present to greet each customer on arrival and ensure that there is table space and you are shown to your table prior to assigning a waiter/waitress to you. If this was not the case then I apologise. Unfortunately the coffee...

Poole, Dorset
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Myself and 12 members of my family visited here today. Waited an hour for food which then came bit by bit over 15 mins. We were told that 3 orders had been 'lost' after the first meals had been finished. My daughter's drink was forgotten, the salmon fish cakes came without lemon wedges, the £12.95 poached salmon salad main was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank seanjess
George P, Owner at The Bankes Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us. I was not on site when you and your group visited but I am very disappointed that you did not have the experience that every customer that walks through the door should expect and should receive. I am urgently looking into what happened so that I can take...

Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

Food very good and well presented. Paul, who I assume was in charge of restaurant, was very efficient. Only complaint was waitress wasn't very alert and didn't notice when drinks were waiting to be served, would have given 5 stars otherwise. Would recommend it and will go back again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tinty2
George P, Owner at The Bankes Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us. We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable time and that Paul looked after you so well. I will look into the speed at which the drinks are taken to the table as we are always looking for ways to constantly improve and appreciate any feedback given...

Bournemouth
Reviewed 2 December 2016

We called in to the Bankes Arm Hotel for a meal on a freezing foggy December night, to be greeted warmly by the enthusiastic staff. We found a cosy table by the fire and ordered Thai Green Curry and Sea Bass Risotto. Both meals were absolutely first class and could not be faulted. No hesitation to recommend the hotel for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BoBBournemouth
George P, Owner at The Bankes Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us. We are delighted to receive such a fantastic review. All of your comments will be passed onto all of the team here as they are the ones that work so hard to ensure that everyone is made to feel welcome and at home. All of the food is...

Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

Visited on a wet Saturday lunchtime, the two of us & dog. Nice and cosy with a fire burning in the hearth. Staff were very welcoming to us and to the dog who got a few treats. The selection of ales wasn't huge but they are well kept and poured. The menu is reasonable in choice; a good selection of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt B
George P, Owner at The Bankes Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us. We are delighted that you had such a good experience. I will pass your comments onto all of the team who work so hard to make sure we get it right with each and every customer. We are gradually building a reputation by providing a consistent level of...

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Regular visitors to Corfe Castle when we last visited in April 2016, refurbishment was well under way but no restaurant in place. We chose to eat here as a part of 11, including 5 children, and were accommodated in the very pleasant side room. The food was lovely, coming altogether, with the childrens' being served first, as requested, to give...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mgsm1223
George P, Owner at The Bankes Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us. We are delighted that you came back and enjoyed it so much. I will pass your comments onto all of the team who work so hard to ensure that the whole process runs smoothly and the customer can feel like it is a home away from home. We...

Warminster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2016

2 real ales good wine list and that BGV Friendly and attentive staff. who cheerfully dealt with our none-standard requirements Cosy, candle lit bar and dining area No distractions (fruit machines etc), just people doing what they do best, having a good time, great atmosphere Large garden and restaurant Good parking and access up steps

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pete C
George P, Owner at The Bankes Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us. We are all delighted that you enjoyed the experience. A lot of work goes into the décor and creating the home away from home atmosphere. We have a large range of wines, ales and spirits that are exclusive to us in the area. All of the staff (both...

Witney, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 October 2016

We ordered a starter of Cold Meats to share, to be followed by Lamb Cutlets and "Fish and Chips". BUT the "Fish and Chips" arrived first. We pointed this out, so the meal was removed and the starter arrived. It took a while to eat the starter and the main meals subsequently arrived - cooled on the inside, dried up...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank dryeonquelp
George P, Owner at The Bankes Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write and then alter your review following my response. I note that you subsequently changed the score of your review. It seems that there was a misunderstanding in the original response which has now been deleted following you changing your review and I cannot refer to it. The owners are more than happy...

Windsor, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Early Saturday evening after a long coast walk, sat down at a table near the bar and ordered soon after. Food turned up quickly, was hot, fresh and delicious. The staff were friendly and polite. Drinks also turned up quickly when ordered from the table

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phillip E
George P, Owner at The Bankes Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time here. The local area has many lovely long walks and there is nothing better than ending it here with a great choice of freshly cooked food to order and a unique selection of wines, spirits and ales. I will pass...

Stevenage, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2016

Had an hour to kill and wants a little drink, so popped in and sat in garden watching the world go by. Barman was very friendly and comical, and selection on bar did not disappoint. Also great as we could see train arrive going onto Norden so new we had about 20 minutes for it to be back to take...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Doug T
George P, Owner at The Bankes Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us. We are glad that you enjoyed wiling away your time with the unparalelled views of the whole castle as well as being able to watch the steam trains trundle past at the end of the car park. Our bar stocks a range of unique alcohol due to not...

18 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corfe Castle
0.1 km away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
857 reviews
7.4 km away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
842 reviews
6.2 km away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wareham
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 km away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 3 in West Lulworth
400 reviews
7.6 km away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
5.3 km away
Springfield Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A Boutique Hotel offering fine food and a selection of Real Ales Ciders Spirits Wines and Soft Drinks, Garden and Terrace. We are continuing with our extensive renovation and will be opening our Hotel rooms shortly. Meanwhile we have opened our fully renovated bar and restaurant ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Bankes Arms Hotel

Address: 23 East Street | Corfe Castle, Corfe Castle BH20 5ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Corfe Castle
Price Range: $65 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Bankes Arms Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Bankes Arms Hotel
Bankes Arms Corfe Castle
The Bankes Arms Hotel Corfe Castle, England, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Bankes Arms Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Bankes Arms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Cant advise on the rooms as we only had a meal”
 of 5 bubbles BoBBournemouth, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Did not use the rooms only the pub for lunch.”
 of 5 bubbles breakychef, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“If you go into the beer garden for a drink, take your camera you can pictures of the trains pulling in and out of Corfe Castle station”
 of 5 bubbles 600arthurd, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Did not stay in the hotel. We only had food.”
 of 5 bubbles Space1985, 12 May 2016 | Read review
“room over the bar so expected a degree of noise but this was all over when the pub closed. It did not disturb us at all. beautiful views”
 of 5 bubbles jc48448, 18 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5