We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ducks Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Ducks Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

314 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 311: English reviews
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Located in Aberlady, in an ideal location central to the Scotland Golf Coast, Duck's Inn presents an outstanding combination of top-class dining, super friendly staff, and lodging that's anywhere from 1000 yards to 10 miles away from some of the best golf courses in the world. Think Muirfield, North Berwick, and the historic Old Course at Musselburgh. For golfers, food... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank LinkedGolfers
Eider, Owner at Ducks Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write, we enjoyed having you. Malcolm More 

Aberdeen
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Very nice place to stay. Friendly staff - including the very chatty owner!! Fantastic restaurant - really nice meal. Room was not great. Clean but aged and dull decor. But quiet and with a comfortable bed. Would happily go back.

Helpful?
Thank briansQ2400FH
Eider, Owner at Ducks Inn, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed the food and our stay over all. We are working on the bathrooms this winter. Thanks for your comments. Malcolm More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

We dined late one afternoon and were shown into a bar/dining area filled with tables and chairs - not much room to move- too much squeezed into a small space so ambience a little lacking. Choose carefully from the menu - the salmon parfait priced in excess of £9 comprised three small teaspoonfuls with a few small wafers and mango... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jings63
Eider, Owner at Ducks Inn, responded to this review

Sorry you didn't find what you wanted, those little wafers and puree take a lot of work. We don't open packets pf pre prepared food. Every thing is home made with a lot of care. Malcolm More 

Aufkirchen, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

Nice little Hotel in Aberlady, friendly and helpfully employees! A good original breakfast and also the rest from the kitchen was fantastic! i would come back again. one highlight was the indoorgolf with the hotelmanager!

Helpful?
1 Thank MaFlAk
Eider, Owner at Ducks Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write, I am very glad you enjoyed the food, that's what we are all about. Thanks for coming, hope we se you in the not too distant future. Malcolm More 

Wareham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2016

Duck's inn is a great find. Lovely location within easy reach of some great coastal walks and lots of golf courses. It is rare to find such a dog friendly pub restaurant and hotel. The food was nouveaux cuisine and was superb. Excellent hosts in the form of Malcolm and Fiona who could not have been more attentive or engaging.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gordon M
Eider, Owner at Ducks Inn, responded to this review

We try to create memories, that's what life's about after all. I am very glad you enjoyed your time with us, hope to see you soon. Malcolm More 

Shangrila, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

2p a half pint sounds good but unfortunately that was the price that I was asked for at the Ducks Inn for water. 2nd last day walking the John Muir Way, I asked politely if I could fill my water bottle. The woman did oblige but not without banging on about walkers not leaving a tip if they got to... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Kenny M
Eider, Owner at Ducks Inn, responded to this review

I am always sorry if some one does not have a good experience at Ducks, however!!!! We regularly fill up folks water bottles and let them use the toilet, we do it because we try to help people not because we have to. We are not a 'a public service' as this man said during his visit, we are a... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2016

We stayed here on 26th August for the Celebration of Scottish Game and Seafood and had a great experience with really lovely food. Service was excellent and informative without overloading us with detail. Thoroughly enjoyable evening and overnight stay. We've been here a few times now and the welcome, service and food are always warm, friendly and high quality. It's... More 

Helpful?
Thank Helen H
Moffat, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed for one night with my wife could not fault it . We had a terrific meal and the owner introduced himself nice personal touch. Very busy with golfers not surprising number of courses round about but this did not put us off one little bit. Lovely place to stay.

Helpful?
Thank bob s
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2016

On 26th August we were fortunate enough to attend Duck's 7 course Celebration of Scottish game and seafood. The menu was superb, with each of the courses combining a range of flavours to tickle the palate. Duck, fennel and macerated peaches. Langoustine with courgette and sweet corn (including sweet corn icecream). Quail. Lemon sole with crab and pork cheek tortellini.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nigel R
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Visited here on 6 August with friends from Germany. Had been here previously so took them as atmosphere and food is very good. When the prat of an owner found out guests where from Germany he made very insensitive comments about the war and tried to convince them Germans laugh about the war. My guests were very angry before the... More 

Helpful?
Thank daviddoigedra
Eider, Owner at Ducks Inn, responded to this review

A little context needed perhaps? We have a lot of folk from Germany visiting and the numbers are growing, we have done a lot of marketing there I a have made a few trips to promote the area and Ducks Inn. When it comes the subject of the war which was a vey long time ago I am possibly more... More 

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberlady
4.7 km away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
9.6 km away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
2,097 reviews
10.7 km away
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 km away
Nether Abbey Hotel
Nether Abbey Hotel
#4 of 5 in North Berwick
280 reviews
22.1 km away
Dunmuir Hotel
Dunmuir Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunbar
249 reviews
21.2 km away
Bayswell Park Hotel
Bayswell Park Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunbar
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Built in 1638, the eight bed roomed house and the neighboring school were converted into a 23 en-suite bedroom hotel in 1970. All rooms have central heating, hairdryers, ironing facilities, direct dial telephones, wi-fi access, colour televisions and tea/coffee making facilities. In Duck's Restaurant you can enjoy fresh local produce prepared skilfully with care. Other facilities include Donalds bar/bistro with an extensive whiskey collection, real ale and a sheltered courtyard for alfresco dining and drinks. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ducks Inn

Address: Main Street, Aberlady EH32 0RE, Scotland (Formerly Ducks at Kilspindie House)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Aberlady
Price Range: $163 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ducks Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Ducks Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ducks At Kilspindie House Hotel Aberlady
Ducks At Kilspindie Hotel
Ducks At Kilspindie Aberlady
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ducks Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Ducks Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask Ros at reception, she is very helpful”
 of 5 bubbles nigelr243, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
“If your German don't go!”
 of 5 bubbles daviddoigedra, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Good rooms on ground floor when you find them”
 of 5 bubbles UpTheTown, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room 9 has access to a flat roof on the second floor...poses a security risk as the room is easily accessed fro the roof.”
 of 5 bubbles 480bobt, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Upstairs where the honeymoon suit is located”
 of 5 bubbles desiej411, 16 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay