We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Caledonian Hotel

Expedia.comUS$53*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Caledonian Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

143 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 135: English reviews
Start your review of Caledonian Hotel
 Click to rate
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I prefer here if we are taking the children as we are usually served quickly and the kids don't get bored waiting. Our meals are always good, feel their drink especially soft and children's drinks are very over priced.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ClaireBease
cali398, Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there. Thanks for the review. We understand that kids can become bored while waiting, so we do always try to delivery speedy service. Hope to see you soon Lauren

Levenmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My husband & I arrived for a breakfast this morning (Sunday) to see a notice on the door saying they were closed for staff training, not the 1st time this had happened to us, there were another 3 couples there & a small child standing @ the door reading the notice as well, not good for custom, expect you will...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carol G
cali398, Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there, sorry for the delay in replying. Due to a very important staff meeting, all of our staff had to attend, which did mean we had to close for a short time. Unfortunately there is never a good time to close the restaurant. I can only apologise for any inconvenience. Asstitant Manager Lauren Turnbull

Reviewed 12 April 2017

Good choice menu family friendly good service and helpful staff sunday lunch is nice at reasonable price has seperate part for functions clean decor toilets same can reserve table depends on day as can get busy

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen K
cali398, Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Stephen K, great review, I hope this isn't your "last visit" to us. Lauren

Levenmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 April 2017

It really cant get any worse. Took my son in for a bite to eat but we couldn't get a suitable table as they were all dirty with dishes, glasses etc. I approached the bar where there was 3 staff members standing having a chat. I asked if I could have a table cleared for us to eat at, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Spewy87
cali398, Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Spewy87, I will certainly take this up with the staff to find out what went wrong here. Thank you for making us aware of this. Assistant Manager Lauren Turnbull

Ayr, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 April 2017

The only positive thing was the staff who although they looked a bit miserable were helpful. To be fair the sheets were clean and there was plenty of hot water for a bath as well. To give an impression of how grim the place was I had to use baby wipes to clean my feet after accidentally stepping on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackie E
cali398, Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Good Evening Jackie E, We appreciate all feedback from our guests, and take it very seriously. Of course I will discuss with staff on how we can avoid this. Assistant Manger Lauren Turnbull

Leven, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 March 2017

I ordered fish and chips I felt that my meal had been sitting in the kitchen before it was brought out to my table the chips were horrible and I asked the waitress to take them back to the kitchen and the fish was greasy my husband had gammon steak with chips and he would be lucky if he got...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dougblack
cali398, Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there, Sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy our food. We always strive to deliver great food and customer service to everyone. Assistant Manger Lauren Turnbull

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 March 2017

the caledonian is a one stop gap as in it is alright for a over night stay the rooms are clean bed is good for a nights sleep shower is ok but could not have a bath the staff make you feel very welcome and are polite but 9 pounds for breakfast is a no chance when they charge 9.99...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank george c
cali398, Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Hi george c, I m not sure if you were aware but we do breakfast from £3.99. Maybe next time you through you can try our cooked breakfast. Look forward to seeing you again Lauren

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 February 2017

This was my 2nd stay here and don't think I will be back. 2 nights in June for a friend's birthday. We had driven almost 6 hours to be kept waiting to book in as nobody about. Told someone would be with us in a minute turned out was more like 10 minutes. Price increased since my last stay and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank tori4187069
cali398, Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there, Firstly let me apologise for your recent stay. We certainly take all feed back on board and discuss with staff on how we can improve and change things to better suit our guests. I am sorry that you had to wait at reception, unfortunately our reception is not covered at all times, the duty manager on shift is...

Elgin, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 February 2017

Good hotel with very good catering facilities. The fish and chips are to die for as are most of the other meals. Good selection of beers and excellent coffee. Centrally located and good for most of the east fife area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CANISTHEDOG
cali398, Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you CANISTHEDOG for this great review. Next time you are in Fife be sure to visit us again. Lauren

Atherstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 February 2017

Convenient for town and fairly good value but looks a bit tired and could do with some redecoration to brighten it up. The general appearance is that of a "chain" hotel and seemed popular with people staying for work purposes. Wifi is through "the cloud" which I don't like to use and prefer independent wifi free from data collection and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stuart E

14 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leven
2.8 km away
Old Manor Hotel
Old Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lundin Links
496 reviews
9.8 km away
Premier Inn Glenrothes Hotel
10.7 km away
Golden Acorn Hotel
Golden Acorn Hotel
#5 of 9 in Glenrothes
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes
11.1 km away
Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club
11.6 km away
Lomond Hills Hotel
Lomond Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Freuchie
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Caledonian Hotel

Address: 81 High Street, Leven, Levenmouth KY8 4NG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Levenmouth > Leven
Price Range: $77 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Caledonian Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, LateRooms, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Caledonian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caledonian Hotel Leven
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Caledonian Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't come here.”
  • Decor room 16
907jackiee, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“One with clean windows”
  • Basic
tori4187069, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the front are probably better”
derekmunro41, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The hotel was very quiet so any of the rooms would have been acceptable.”
HazelA428, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“None don't go!”
wishbonemusic, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$53* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$53
Booking.comUS$53
Orbitz.comUS$53
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates