The Melville Inn

The Melville Inn

Traveller (91)
Room & Suite (41)
Dining (14)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 1 hotels in Lasswade
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Offering the best in modern accommodation, this is a high-spec low cost hotel near Edinburgh, Dalkeith, that will give you all the comfort and style you expect from a top-notch break but without the impact on your wallet. Ideal for a leisure break and for business users wanting easy access to Edinburgh, Innkeeper’s Collection, Dalkeith offers Hypnos beds, air conditioning, a 24/7 reception and luggage storage area for round-the-clock support. Each room is individually styled and full of the warmth and rustic charm characterised by The Melville Inn country pub next door. Continental and cooked breakfast plus parking are included in the cost of your stay.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Internet
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Taxi service
Non-smoking hotel
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Room features
Seating area
Clothes rack
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles121 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Melville Inn garners praise for its clean, comfortable accommodations and a location that offers easy access to Edinburgh. Guests have called out the spotless rooms and the hotel's overall cleanliness as highlights of their stay. While the staff's friendliness and helpfulness are frequently mentioned, some visitors have experienced occasional delays at reception. The on-site dining options add to the convenience, though issues with air conditioning and noise have been noted. Despite that, the reasonable pricing for both the rooms and breakfast contributes to the hotel's value.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Tranquil
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Reasonable
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Friendly
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
121Reviews1Q+A13Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 87
  • 24
  • 5
  • 3
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Anne W wrote a review Sep 2020
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here as an overnight break in a longer trip and thought it was excellent. The staff were genuinely friendly and the facilities were great. Highlights:

• High standard of cleanliness
• Comfy beds
• Big TV
• Proper blackout curtains
• Powerful shower
• Plentiful sockets including USB near beds
• Individual reading lights
• Tasteful decor

The restaurant next door does great food at reasonable prices and we enjoyed our takeaway breakfast in the morning.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The Melville Inn
Responded Sep 6, 2020
annewitton, Thank you for the feedback we hope you visit us again soon. Regards, Team Melville
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jessica Harris-Pugh wrote a review Sep 2020
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel room was immaculate, clean and modern, with a view of trees from our window. We had a large double bed, plus a sofa bed for our son who is three years old. We booked two nights for £100 - a very reasonable price and the breakfast pack was included which consisted of muffins, yoghurts, fruit, cereal bars and coffee/juice. There is a bus stop next to the hotel and it is a short bus ride into Edinburgh. The bar/restaurant was nice and clean; the food was a bit pricey if you were on a budget but very tasty. We would highly recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The Melville Inn
Responded Sep 16, 2020
Hi Jessica, Thanks for the great review and feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon. Team Melville
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
lottylulu wrote a review Sep 2020
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for 5 nightin August as a base to tour the lowlands and Loch lomond and the trossachs. We also visited the coastline, Dunbar and North Berwick. The staff on Reception were lovely so helpful and friendly I have to mention them Hets, Jane and Linda nothing was too much trouble. The housekeeper manager was also very nice as they couldn't clean the rooms daily because of covid but we were not worried as they said to put dirty towels and cups outside the door and they changed them no problem and emptied our bins. The rooms were really comfy and very modern and the bed was so comfortable. The restaurant was really cosy and food good especially the cooked breakfast. We will definitely be back hopefully before Christmas if we can. Thank you melville inn for a lovely stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The Melville Inn
Responded Sep 9, 2020
Lottylulu, Thank you for the great review. We look forward to your return. Kind Regards, Team Melville
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Angelina Mcfeely wrote a review Nov 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked here for my sisters 50th birthday trip. The hotel is immaculately clean. The rooms are beautiful. We had 3 rooms and all were perfect. The staff here are very welcoming and lovely. It’s a really quiet hotel. The breakfasts are delightful and of great quality. The beds are so comfy. The only tiny thing I found was that you could feel the crack where the beds were pushed together. This didn’t bother us as we slept so well. The shower is great. We cannot wait to come back to stay. Even though we had a busy birthday weekend we felt well rested staying at this hotel. Would certainly recommend staying here. Taxis are great and cost around £20 into Edinburgh city centre. Very covid safe hotel. All staff had masks and there was hand sanitiser available.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The Melville Inn
Responded Nov 11, 2021
Thank you so much for the great review and feedback. We are so glad you had such a great time with us. We hope to see you again soon Team Melville
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Yvonne H wrote a review Oct 2020
Gateshead, United Kingdom
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Thank you for a wonderful week at Innkeepers Hotel, brand new building with comfortable beds in new modern rooms, nice decor, very spacious and clean.

Nice village of Dalkeith with all u need. Shops, cafes and restaurants.

Six miles from Edinburgh, drive in 20-30 mins into Musselborough, lovely harbour and cafes, visit Dalkeith National Park and Palace opposite.

Portobello Beach is worth going to, its beautiful with cafes and restaurants, lots going on here, a busker, great atmosphere. Swimming and suffers were all here.

It's fair to mention that our stay at Innkeepers/Melville Inn had strict Covid rules in place but relaxed too. Good hearty meals and drinks available at The Melville Inn, with comfortable traditional dining and drinking areas inside and spacious gardens and tables and chairs for relaxed experience and safe feel.

Dobbies Garden Centre 50 Yards away, great food and shopping available.

The staff made our stay so memorable. Jayne Hanlon on reception was so helpful with information and gave us a brochure of the area, such a lovely personality. Linda was lovely too. Emma in The Melville Inn gave us such a warm welcome, went out of her way and Helen, Maggie and Ashleigh and Robyn, lovely girls. We found new friends. We hope to be back again very soon. Thanks so much. 💕 Xxx ☺
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The Melville Inn
Responded Oct 13, 2020
Thank you so much for the wonderful review and kind words for all the team. We are so happy to have played our part in your break away and that you enjoyed your time with us. Hope to see you again soon Team Melville
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Li wrote a review Aug 2022
Manchester, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed as a family for one night, our room was spotless and had plenty of space for us all. There was a light (alarm light?) that kept flashing intermittently right above the bed which was a bit annoying when trying to get to sleep. Other than that though the room suited our needs and was very comfortable.

Breakfast was included in the price but there was a £10 limit which we haven’t come across before. On the menu we were given to choose from, granola was £6.50 so you couldn’t get much for the £10 without paying extra if you didn’t want a cooked breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Thomas Woods, General Manager at The Melville Inn
Responded Sep 14, 2022
Hello and thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our guests that book breakfast can choose from the menu. Kind Regards Team Melville
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TillyC3 wrote a review Mar 2020
York, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked this through Booking.com and thought this place was really good value but also a lovely, modern and very clean place to stay too. The photos don’t actually do this place justice, it was even better than I anticipated.
Rooms are large and modern with beautiful decor, large bathroom with huge shower, super large comfy beds, tv in room and tea and coffee facilities, not the mention the pub outside the front door, the atmosphere, service and food were fantastic! Breakfast is served in the pub in the morning though I have to say this was a little disorganised! The only other down side to this place is the location, as there isn’t much to walk to but fine if you have a car which we did.

I cannot fault this place and would definitely recommend it. I wouldn’t hesitate to book again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Melville Inn
Responded Mar 20, 2020
Thank you for the lovely review. We are happy you enjoyed your visit to The Melville. We hope to see you again soon. Regards, Team Melville
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jim j wrote a review Dec 2021
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for two nights, a fabulous hotel, the room I had was spotless and the bed was very comfortable, but the duvet was a bit warm and heavy. But the only thing I can fault and it is a BIG ONE for myself is the internet it says WiFi is available in all areas and is free of charge no wonder it is free it is non-existent, tried using my data no signal and no phone coverage had to stand at the window for about a minute and eventually got a signal. In these days business people need WiFi in hotels especially when they say they have it, on that would I stay here again no. Hotel 5 stars internet 0 stars
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The Melville Inn
Responded Dec 10, 2021
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review - we are very sorry you found the WiFi so unreliable and scored us so low based on this Team Melville
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Julie M wrote a review Apr 2024
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Nice decor, very dark room though, plenty plugs, hangers and towels.

However in the room there was a sign saying the air conditioning wasn’t working. I specifically chose a hotel with air con, even though it was further out from our destination.. Nothing on the hotels website or Facebook page warned of this. Nothing mentioned in the 2 emails I received in the days before our stay asking me to check in, and nothing said at reception, neither before or after they took my card payment for the room.
Immediately after discovering that there was no air con and no bathroom fan and the room window does not open even half a centimetre, I went back to reception and asked to be moved to a room with air con working, but was refused.

I was given a small fan which didn’t provide much relief at all during the night, making sleep really uncomfortable, and we checked out early.

Really disappointing stay. Reception had a list of all the rooms with no air con working and a list of rooms where the air con sometimes worked.
Very poor way to run a business
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Confirm your room has air con before checking in/paying
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager A, General Manager at The Melville Inn
Responded Apr 9, 2024
Hello. We do currently have issues with some of our units. This is being addressed as quickly as possible. We were not able to move you rooms as the hotel was full whilst you were here. Kind regards Team Melville
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jane D wrote a review Apr 2024
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely hotel with friendly, helpful staff. Very clean , with good shower and very comfortable bed.We stayed 5 nights for a family wedding, the food was also great, we had breakfast every day and dinner a couple of times. The location is very handy as the bus stop is on the road outside, and just a quick journey into Edinburgh with very regular buses. We would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager A, General Manager at The Melville Inn
Responded Apr 17, 2024
Hello and thank you for your great review. Kind regards Team Melville
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Julie M wrote a tip Apr 2024
Edinburgh, United Kingdom44 contributions11 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Confirm your room has air con before checking in/paying"
Read full review
Darren M wrote a tip Mar 2024
Edinburgh, United Kingdom120 contributions19 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Good parking outside."
Read full review
Sue Gray wrote a tip Dec 2023
Aberdeen, United Kingdom10 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Easy bus access into Edinburgh"
Read full review
Sharon D wrote a tip Oct 2023
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring pillows if you like a fair few pillows."
Read full review
skypilot wrote a tip Jul 2023
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom129 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Not obvious where to enter, look for Dobbies Garden Centre, enter then turn left to hotel car park - dark signs not obvious"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Lasswade area.
PRICE RANGE
C$155 - C$281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandMidlothianLasswade
NUMBER OF ROOMS
74
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

The Melville Inn - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about The Melville Inn
Which popular attractions are close to The Melville Inn?
Nearby attractions include Arthur's Seat (6.8 km), Palace of Holyroodhouse (7.9 km), and Locked In Edinburgh (7.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Melville Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Melville Inn?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Melville Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Melville Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Stewart Brewing Beer and Pizza Kitchen, Haldi, and Parrilla Argentinian Grill - Musselburgh.
Are there any historical sites close to The Melville Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Palace of Holyroodhouse (7.9 km), Gilmerton Cove (2.6 km), and Craigmillar Castle (4.4 km).
Is The Melville Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Lasswade HotelsLasswade Hotel DealsHotels near The Melville Inn
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars