We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ben Lawers Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ben Lawers Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

183 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 178: English reviews
Start your review of Ben Lawers Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Fantastic place in the middle of Loch Tay, full of peace and quiet, with a fantastic view and wonderfully friendly people! Easily reachable by car, perfect for a healthy holiday made of great places to wander around, fresh air to breath, fantastic food to eat, good old whiskey to taste and friendly local people to meet!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Selene C
Caithness and Sutherland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very comfortable room, clean and well furnished. Food excellent, best breakfast for a long time. Owners very welcoming and helpful. Dog friendly and obviously used by lots of walkers and climbers. Would recommend this as a base for exploring the beautiful country, only downside is that you must have a car. Nearby Killin is well worth a visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank highlandlady144
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2017

Our room was fine, looked newly decorated, bathroom could have done with a bit of TLC but overall had everything we needed for a stay over. The bar was well stocked with very reasonable prices. Didn't have dinner but the breakfast was good. Ideal place for walkers to stay. The owner was very pleasant and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ang123977
Dundee
Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

It's been many years since we last came here. It's still a great country pub but is under new management and rooms have had a serious upgrade. Hotel is dog friendly, including rooms and bar, but maybe a little too dog friendly when other residents are allowed to take their dog into the dining area when others are eating there....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LocalFoodieBoy
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
5 reviews
11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

First went to scope out this as we were looking for a New Year's Eve venue. Barman was extremely friendly. We went to celebrate new year there, and I have to say what a warm welcome we received. The locals and all the staff were brilliant. I would recommend this friendly, chirpy and quirky pub.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
scotland
Reviewed 27 November 2016

A party of 12 of us went for an evening meal in the hotel after a day out in the beautiful winter Loch Tay /Ben Lawers sunshine. We were rewarded with excellent food (piping hot, large portions of simple dishes [gammon, fish pie, fish and chips, steak pie, cottage pie, chicken pie to name a few), good beer [Head East...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peebleslad
Edinburgh
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

We were a large party staying nearby and booked a big table for dinner on Saturday evening. The food arrived piping hot, huge portions and thoroughly enjoyable. The owner very kindly drove us all back to our cottage after our dinner. I think everyone enjoyed their meal. Thanks again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glentress_Peebles
Larkhall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

After a three hour drive my wife and I were happy to arrive at Ben Lawers hotel for our second stay which was two years ago. This was soon short lived as we met the new management. The manager seemed uninterested and not what you would expect from a manager of a hotel. I'll come back to him later... The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank George S
paul g, Owner at Ben Lawers Hotel, responded to this review

we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us but complaining on a social media site dose not help you as me and your wife had to stand on the stairs for a good 5 minutes waiting on you i then showed you to the room that you had booked (which at no time did you say it...

Reviewed 18 October 2016

Upon arrival we were shown to our room, we had been upgraded to the family room and so had a lovely sized double room with a separate room with bunk beds, as well as a decent size bathroom. The room was very clean and tidy, with good storage space and lighting. The bed was a touch softer than I'm used...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ali C
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2016

The new proprietor of the Lawers Hotel is the rudest man I've ever met in any establishment. Our 3 night stay at the Ben Lawers Hotel was the only negative aspect of an otherwise perfect wedding. He couldn't have been more rude, unhelpful or unfriendly. He turned away my stepson's grandfather at 2am, we had left his room unlocked and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lauran0rda
paul g, Owner at Ben Lawers Hotel, responded to this review

Were do we start ??????? Not once has it been mentioned that we let your guests use the car park on both sides of the building for the whole weekend because they had no where else to sleep apart from in their vehicles also that we had to clear all the cigarette ends up at the end of their stay...

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberfeldy
20.1 km away
Moness Resort
Moness Resort
#1 of 4 in Aberfeldy
3,217 reviews
4.0 km away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
368 reviews
11.2 km away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 km away
The Weem Inn
The Weem Inn
#2 of 4 in Aberfeldy
81 reviews
10.9 km away
The Kenmore Club
The Kenmore Club
#1 of 2 in Kenmore
336 reviews
20.4 km away
Schiehallion Hotel
Schiehallion Hotel
#6 of 21 in Aberfeldy
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Small and friendly rural hotel with fantastic scenery of Lochs and Mountains in one of Scotland’s most beautiful but accessible areas. Less than two hours drive from Glasgow or Edinburgh and within easy access of many of Scotland’s attractions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ben Lawers Hotel

Address: Balie Mhuilinn | Lawers, Aberfeldy PH15 2PA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Aberfeldy
Price Range: $100 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ben Lawers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ben Lawers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ben Lawers Hotel Aberfeldy, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ben Lawers Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for room not facing the main road”
ang123977, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If the rooms are anything like the food wouldn't bother.”
v1zetoR, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for one away from the road”
636hamishf, 10 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Do book meals in advance especially if you are a larger group”
A2075GFsandram, 14 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Try beds first!”
desmondf526, 28 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5