We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ben Lawers Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Ben Lawers Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

177 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 173: English reviews
scotland
Reviewed 1 week ago

A party of 12 of us went for an evening meal in the hotel after a day out in the beautiful winter Loch Tay /Ben Lawers sunshine. We were rewarded with excellent food (piping hot, large portions of simple dishes [gammon, fish pie, fish and chips, steak pie, cottage pie, chicken pie to name a few), good beer [Head East...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peebleslad
Edinburgh
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were a large party staying nearby and booked a big table for dinner on Saturday evening. The food arrived piping hot, huge portions and thoroughly enjoyable. The owner very kindly drove us all back to our cottage after our dinner. I think everyone enjoyed their meal. Thanks again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glentress_Peebles
Larkhall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After a three hour drive my wife and I were happy to arrive at Ben Lawers hotel for our second stay which was two years ago. This was soon short lived as we met the new management. The manager seemed uninterested and not what you would expect from a manager of a hotel. I'll come back to him later... The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank George S
paul g, Owner at Ben Lawers Hotel, responded to this review

we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us but complaining on a social media site dose not help you as me and your wife had to stand on the stairs for a good 5 minutes waiting on you i then showed you to the room that you had booked (which at no time did you say it...

Reviewed 18 October 2016

Upon arrival we were shown to our room, we had been upgraded to the family room and so had a lovely sized double room with a separate room with bunk beds, as well as a decent size bathroom. The room was very clean and tidy, with good storage space and lighting. The bed was a touch softer than I'm used...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ali C
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2016

The new proprietor of the Lawers Hotel is the rudest man I've ever met in any establishment. Our 3 night stay at the Ben Lawers Hotel was the only negative aspect of an otherwise perfect wedding. He couldn't have been more rude, unhelpful or unfriendly. He turned away my stepson's grandfather at 2am, we had left his room unlocked and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lauran0rda
paul g, Owner at Ben Lawers Hotel, responded to this review

Were do we start ??????? Not once has it been mentioned that we let your guests use the car park on both sides of the building for the whole weekend because they had no where else to sleep apart from in their vehicles also that we had to clear all the cigarette ends up at the end of their stay...

Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

Rude ill mannered host, mould in shower and on bathroom ceiling. Room smelled of fried food, we were kept awake until after midnight by the host playing loud music in the bar below whilst he was in there drinking with another! Can't imagine that he has any returning customers. It's a pity because it's in a beautiful location. The only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gruf1
paul g, Owner at Ben Lawers Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel but not once was i rude to you or any other guest as for the shower room it is hard to vent a room with no window in and only a small extractor fan to remove all the steam. music in the hotel is set and at no...

falkirk
Reviewed 3 October 2016

We visited here for one night with dinner booked too. We got shown to our room and given our key. The room was small'ish but adequate. The bathroom was ever so small though with no room between the toilet and the bath at all. Again, not the end of the world but for taller / rounder guests this could be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank juddles1
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 September 2016

We were really looking forward to Sunday lunch here. Unfortunately it did not live up to expectations. No warm welcome, the food served on cold plates which made the food luke warm, roast beef was not that good, the broccoli was yellow, carrots hard and so left most of it - couldn't even be bothered to try a desert. Paid...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank v1zetoR
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

Popped in for Sunday lunch as staying along at The Bothy - Craggantoul. Roast beef was delicious (and plenty of it!), mashed tatties were actual tatties!! (All restaurants near where we live generally seem to serve some sort of smash/instant potato so this was a lovely change!) and the Yorkshire pudding.... Perfect! Dare I say it, would have given my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gillian W
Andover, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 August 2016

We have been regular visitors to the Aberfeldy area over many years so this review is based upon our most recent visits which usually totalled three in the two week holiday we recently enjoyed. We have over the years visited Lawers Hotel many times returning usually from Glencoe area or further afield. We have never stayed but have frequented the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank TonyandJanH

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberfeldy
4.0 km away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
335 reviews
11.2 km away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
792 reviews
20.1 km away
Moness Resort
Moness Resort
#1 of 4 in Aberfeldy
2,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 km away
The Weem Inn
The Weem Inn
#2 of 4 in Aberfeldy
75 reviews
19.4 km away
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinloch Rannoch
1,100 reviews
19.9 km away
Errichel House and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Small and friendly rural hotel with fantastic scenery of Lochs and Mountains in one of Scotland’s most beautiful but accessible areas. Less than two hours drive from Glasgow or Edinburgh and within easy access of many of Scotland’s attractions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ben Lawers Hotel

Address: Balie Mhuilinn | Lawers, Aberfeldy PH15 2PA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Aberfeldy
Price Range: $96 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ben Lawers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Ben Lawers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ben Lawers Hotel Aberfeldy, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ben Lawers Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If the rooms are anything like the food wouldn't bother.”
 of 5 bubbles v1zetoR, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for one away from the road”
 of 5 bubbles 636hamishf, 10 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Do book meals in advance especially if you are a larger group”
 of 5 bubbles A2075GFsandram, 14 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Try beds first!”
 of 5 bubbles desmondf526, 28 May 2015 | Read review
“Although the rooms are above the pub its not noisy. The bar does play music but I hardly noticed it as its not loud and more of a background music.”
 of 5 bubbles fizzHampshire, 27 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay