We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Comrie Croft Eco Hostel & Camping

  • Free Parking
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

224 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 217: English reviews
Start your review of Comrie Croft Eco Hostel & Camping
 Click to rate
Cologne, Germany
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Comrie Croft was a perfect venue for our surprise 70th birthday party. The barn was beautifully lit and warm and the fire pit in the courtyard was very welcoming for our guests as they arrived. The staff were incredibly helpful to work with and ensured that at every step of the way we were happy with the organisation. They worked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank becksandtim
CrofterAndrew, Owner at Comrie Croft Eco Hostel & Camping, responded to this review

Thanks for taking time to write us as review. It looked like an awesome party, lots of sore heads in the morning I'm sure. Ellen (our events coordinator) will be delighted to hear it went well. We all enjoyed being part of the surprise. Hope to see you all back at the Croft soon. Amanda (Front of House).

Lausanne, Switzerland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were invited to a wedding and the Hostel had been privatized for the occasion. Everything was perfect and very convenient to host many people as well as to dine and party in the barn area. The area is very beautiful and short walks from the hostel give access to nice views of the region. Only (small) drawback, it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank simon t
CrofterAndrew, Owner at Comrie Croft Eco Hostel & Camping, responded to this review

Thanks for the review Simon, it's always nice to hear that guests have enjoyed their time at Comrie Croft. I'm sorry you found the rooms too hot. I spoke with our maintenance team about it, with the temperatures outside being so variable at the moment they have struggled to get the ideal balance. We have turned the thermostat down a...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

Totally rundown, dirty, freezing accommodation. Hired for the weekend, arrived Friday pm, no heating on for such a huge place. Took until Sunday to heat up. The rooms were very basic but the whole place needs an overhaul. The floors were filthy, sticky and really didn't want to take shoes off. Damp on walls. The only good thing was the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janice h
CrofterAndrew, Owner at Comrie Croft Eco Hostel & Camping, responded to this review

Hi Janice, I'm sorry to hear that you had a disappointing stay at Combruith. We pride ourselves on having clean and cosy accommodation, something has obviously gone wrong. I'd appreciate it if you could contact me directly so we can talk through the issues. My email is amanda@comriecroft.com. Thanks, Amanda (Front of House)

Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

Myself and my girlfriend stayed in one of the newer woodland Katas for a couple of nights at the beginning of January. From arrival all the staff were extremely friendly and approachable. We arrived while it was still daylight so was easy finding the Kata as they are all clearly signposted. The Kata itself was brilliant. Clean and tidy with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David H
CrofterAndrew, Owner at Comrie Croft Eco Hostel & Camping, responded to this review

Great to hear from you David. Martin and Daniel (our Kata building team) will be delighted to know you enjoyed the Kata and that it kept you cosy. Hopefully we'll see you back here soon. Amanda (Front of House)

Newburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 December 2016

Arrived in the dark and having never been before was having trouble finding our Kata! Luckily remembered our torches and head torches(a must!) Asked a passing fellow camper who put down his water carrier and took us right up to our Kata (Thank you James) Fire had been lit for us (thank you so much) and the inside of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trudmeister
CrofterAndrew, Owner at Comrie Croft Eco Hostel & Camping, responded to this review

Sounds like you had the perfect weekend, thanks for taking time to write us as review. I'm sorry to hear you had trouble finding your Kata, should you have any problems in the future the phone number for our on-call staff member is on all the reception doors, they'll be happy to help you. Glad to hear you kept warm...

Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 November 2016

I was here recently for a Wedding in August and previously for Duke of Edinburgh expeditions (great for Bronze award kids). Every time i have stayed here it has been absolutely fantastic, from the helpfulness of the staff to the food in the cafe, even the mountain biking routes are very well maintained (i highly recommend giving them a go)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Will M
CrofterAndrew, Owner at Comrie Croft Eco Hostel & Camping, responded to this review

Sounds like you've experienced almost every part of Comrie Croft. A kata next time? Thank you for your comments, we love to hear that people enjoy their time here. The barn is an amazing space and as you've seen yourself with a little hard work it can look awesome. I'm intrigued by the intense rounders game, maybe you could teach...

Southbank
Reviewed 22 November 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for a weekend in November for some dear friends who were getting married in the local church. A whole bunch of us wedding guests stayed here occupying most of the rooms ranging from shared dorms to family rooms. I stayed in a dorm which was standard backpacker/hostel quality (a bit of a struggle for me however good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate L
CrofterAndrew, Owner at Comrie Croft Eco Hostel & Camping, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking time to write us a review. Sounds like your friend had a great wedding and you enjoyed yourself too. It's amazing what a few fairy lights can do to make a party go with a swing. Hope to see you back here soon. Amanda (front of house)

Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 November 2016 via mobile

Lovely site, friendly staff, nice shop, fab location. We stayed for 2 nights, it was freezing but the camping area is so nice. Lovely drive into nearby town. Had a great time. Would love to go back, but I think I'm past camping though.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank leeann c
CrofterAndrew, Owner at Comrie Croft Eco Hostel & Camping, responded to this review

Hi Leeann, so nice to hear you enjoyed your stay even if it was a little cold. Maybe next time you could try one of our Kata's? They have a cosy bed platform and wood burning stove, camping but with benefits! Hope to see you soon, Amanda (Front of House)

Reviewed 7 November 2016 via mobile

Booked in for four in one of the katas, and loved it. We were hiking in the area during the day and arrived about 4pm, just in time to get the fires lit before the sun disappeared completely. Everything we needed was provided in the Kata, wood for the stove, gas cooking stove, dishes, cutlery and some pillows, but bring...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kerr M
CrofterAndrew, Owner at Comrie Croft Eco Hostel & Camping, responded to this review

It's always great to hear that guests have enjoyed their stay, thanks for taking the time to review us. Sounds like you had a wonderful day hiking & then cosying down in our Kata. Our 100 mile shop is still a work in progress, with us discovering new products available within 100 miles of the croft every day. As most...

Reviewed 5 October 2016

I booked this site as the one we originally wanted to use in Glencoe was being used by a marathon, however Comrie Croft was cheaper and a decent alternative. Advertised as like wildcamping, it sounded right up our street. I wanted to introduce my other half to camping gradually and not just pitch up at the top of mountain and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil Y
CrofterAndrew, Owner at Comrie Croft Eco Hostel & Camping, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write us a review Neil, we appreciate it. Sorry to hear your experience wasn’t quite as you expected. We do say the woodland pitches are like wild camping but with facilities as they are more secluded and individual than the meadows. I appreciate that as you like more adventurous wild camping this may not...

90 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (86)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crieff
21.6 km away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
5.8 km away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
6.6 km away
Murraypark Hotel
Murraypark Hotel
#3 of 3 in Crieff
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.9 km away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
17.1 km away
Cromlix
Cromlix
#1 of 1 in Kinbuck
941 reviews
6.3 km away
Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Comrie Croft, the friendly wee farm on the edge of the Highlands. We offer great value in the great outdoors! Stay in the farmstead with private ensuite rooms and the friendly camaraderie of a hostel. Or experience natural camping with access to hot showers and facilities: bring your own tent or hire a Swedish kata with a bed and wood stove to keep it cosy all year round. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Comrie Croft Eco Hostel & Camping

Address: Comrie Road | Braincroft, Crieff PH7 4JZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Crieff
Price Range: $26 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Comrie Croft Eco Hostel And Camping
Comrie Croft Eco Hostel & Camping Hotel Crieff
Comrie Croft Eco Hostel & Camping Crieff, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Comrie Croft Eco Hostel & Camping staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Comrie Croft Eco Hostel & Camping staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all rooms are quiet, it comes down to preference really.”
 of 5 bubbles willm500, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Campsite for privacy, farmhouse and steading for comfort.”
 of 5 bubbles carrie_winger, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I scored 5 for rooms, but have not stayed at the hostel, only camped, but the pitches are great.”
 of 5 bubbles KerstinW589, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“top views from the high meadow pitches, arrive earlier to get a spot at the front.”
 of 5 bubbles hanadrobgaw, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All tent locations fab, forest quieter - katas located here also. Cars allowed to tent destinations for loading/unloading only.”
 of 5 bubbles Z3234JLleet, 15 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5