We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort

Save
Share
Ferntower Road What3words: ///play.sofas.drain, Crieff PH7 3LQ Scotland
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Hotels.com
Travelocity
eDreams
Orbitz.com
Official Site
Priceline
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1878)
Room & Suite (275)
Dining (114)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 3 hotels in Crieff
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Arguably the most comprehensive family resort in Scotland, 4 star Crieff Hydro is centrally located in its own 900 acre estate with an unrivaled range of leisure pursuits for all ages. Choose from over 40 on-site leisure activities and take advantage of inclusive daily childcare for 2-12 year olds in the 700m2 kids club. Extensively redeveloped from top to bottom, Crieff Hydro is only an hours drive from both Glasgow and Edinburgh.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Restaurant
Bicycle rental
Golf course
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Adult pool
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Vending machine
Horseback riding
Mini golf
Tennis court
Entertainment staff
Table tennis
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Steam room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Polish
5,162Reviews76Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2,357
  • 1,413
  • 711
  • 420
  • 261
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
linzyg1984 wrote a review Feb. 2021
Rhodes, Greece4 contributions5 helpful votes
I’ll start of by letting people know my review is based on their customer service only and not their hotel as I believe it’s only fair to give an honest review. We booked this hotel for over the Xmas break, well in advance. In November it looked as though covid wasn’t going to allow our trip so after some emails back and forth we decided to cancel and was told we would receive a full refund of the deposit we’d paid, that being £729 this was no small amount of money. They advised that refunds could take upto 28 days to which I emailed to say that was an excessive amount of time for a refund especially around Xmas time as that sort of money would come in handy. I was told that it’s usually much faster then that but could take upto 28 days, they also went onto say that the refund had already been processed and sent me their version of a receipt on 8th December. Fast forward to today 8th February as I don’t want bore everyone with the detailed emails back and forth for the last 2 months but I’ve only just had my refund, and that’s only because I went through visa and they have forced Crieff into giving me the money back. How Crieff are issuing receipts for refunds that haven’t happened seems like fraud to me. The amount of emails and phone calls and complaints I have had to make in order to get this money back is just terrible service. Anytime you speak to anyone in customer service it’s always a different person and they never have a clue what you’re talking about. You can only ever speak to somebody in an email As they’re currently not taking any calls due to covid, but they are still taking your money no doubt about that!! Be weary about booking here as I can only imagine the customer service at the hotel is just as poor. We were hoping to rebook for this Christmas instead but now I’ll be taking my money to someone who knows how to deal with customers correctly and don’t lie!! I’ve not had any kind of explanation of apology at the point either. Just a message from the bank to say visa have got the money bank.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Crieff Hydro, General Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort
Responded Feb. 9, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to post a review linzyg1984. We are very sorry to hear that you are so disappointed with your experience to date. As TripAdvisor is an anonymous forum, we have unfortunately been unable to locate your details. Although we are taking calls, we suggest that the best way to contact us is by E-mail. The majority of refunds are done within 10 to 14 days but if you could please send an E-mail to Customer.Service@crieffhydro.com with your details and booking reference then a senior manager will be in touch with you.
Read more
johnm123456 wrote a review Dec. 2020
Perth, United Kingdom42 contributions16 helpful votes
I just wanted to say I received a present of a 3 night stay for Dinner, B & B and had a wonderful stay The staff were amazing and went out of their way to put guests first at these uncertain times The food was amazing and it was a joy to sit in the Winter Gardens and enjoy afternoon tea.... views were amazing !! I visited leisure centre and all guidelines were carried out to the highest standards Well done everyone and hopefully 2021 will be the year for Mr Leckie and his wonderful staff to open their doors to guest again
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Crieff Hydro, General Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort
Responded Dec. 31, 2020
Thank you for posting a review johnm123456 and for your kind comments which are much appreciated. We are delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us and hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the very near future.
Read more
debbie079 wrote a review Dec. 2020
glasgow27 contributions32 helpful votes
Action Glen was amazing! Charlie’s hot chocolates were superb. Noah was extremely patient and very friendly at the air rifle shooting. Jamie was also lovely, and very patient, even allowing my ten year old son to run along behind the segways (at a safe distance) These three staff members really stood out and are a credit to your team. I hope they all enjoy their Christmas! Everything else was a bit of a let down. Children having swimming lessons were allowed to have fun with the extra large floats but paying guests were not allowed to use them. Room 123, not sure how you can call it a suite. No sofa, just two chairs with a small round table, no separate living space. Not sure where four people sit? Although management did bring extra chairs after I requested them. When you walk on the carpet it sounds like you are walking on top of plastic bags, hardly a luxurious spacious suite. No accessible lockers in male changing room. Waiter in the only restaurant that was open permanently had his mask on his chin. Hotel advertised on an updated daily menu on the website salmon and burgers are available but this is not the case. Menu very limited. Nutella at breakfast had mould on it but was advised it was “fat bubbles” ( which it definitely was not) the waitress advised me it was only two weeks out of date and they would still be serving it to guests. I did speak with the manager and write my review while staying at the hotel, so management were aware of the failings. I understand the hotel are adapting to recent changes but the hotel is only at around 10% capacity, so in my opinion staff should be on the ball.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Crieff Hydro, General Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort
Responded Dec. 28, 2020
Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience debbie079. Whilst it was lovely to hear of the things that you enjoyed during your stay, we were very sorry to hear that you found other aspects to be disappointing and note that you shared your concerns with the Management Team during your visit. Guest feedback is very valuable to us in helping us to improve the service that we can offer and we really do hope that you will feel able to visit us again in the future and that it won't be too long before we have the opportunity of welcoming you back.
Read more
Gill M wrote a review Dec. 2020
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom44 contributions55 helpful votes
We'd booked a lodge and 2 rooms in the hotel for the festive break earlier this year before the covid pandemic took hold. Every single member of staff we have dealt with has been totally professional and undaunting in their efforts to try and make our break happen. We are truly gutted that despite all their efforts the hotel has had to close its doors again. I don't think any member of staff could have worked harder over the past few months in such challenging circumstances. They had been so professional, friendly and helpful and as a family we wanted to publicly thank them all. Special mention to Kelly who I spoke to on several occasions and who made sure I was kept fully updated at alll times. Thanks guys. Stay safe and healthy and we look forward to seeing you Christmas 2021.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Crieff Hydro, General Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort
Responded Dec. 28, 2020
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback gillm890 and for your kind comments. We are so sorry to learn of your disappointment at not being able to stay as planned although it was lovely to read your positive comments regarding our team which are so much appreciated and will be a pleasure to share. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you next year.
Read more
RosiePerth123 wrote a review Dec. 2020
Dundee, United Kingdom190 contributions146 helpful votes
Booked a very last minute family break within our Tier to escape the monotony working from home brings! Booked a lodge and it was very comfy and very well equipped and spotlessly clean. Some buts like the entrance a bit tired due to west and rear but that’s to be expected and deck area extremely slippy (be aware as we saw a member of staff fall) . Our lodge had a spectacular outlook and we looked down on the Xmas lights from the Candy Cane walk and the village beyond! The main hotel building is spectacular with various restaurants to suit all tastes and budgets ! The pool was open via booking system but changing rooms not open so a bit tricky especially trying to manage a toddler and the pool was quite cold. Beauty salon open for limited services . It’s beautifully decorated for Xmas and they have managed to stage a Santa experience for the children which was wonderful and one of the main reasons for our trip. Staff were all efficient and helpful. Lots of outdoor activities going on ...sadly the weather was at its worst so we didn’t partake in many otter than the reindeer experience which was really good! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely return soon.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Crieff Hydro, General Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort
Responded Dec. 28, 2020
Thank you so much for posting a review RosiePerth123. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and particularly liked the Christmas decorations and activities. We hope that you will visit us again before too long.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$142 - US$278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
crieff hydro hotel crieff, crieff hydro resort, crieff hotel hydro, crieff hydro scotland
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandPerth and KinrossCrieff
NUMBER OF ROOMS
254
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort?
Nearby attractions include Macrosty Park (0.7 km), Action Glen (0.4 km), and The Strathearn Gallery (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Yann's, Lounge in Crieff, and Delivino.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Crieff.
Are any cleaning services offered at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Polish.