We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort

Save
Share
Earl of Mar Estate Mar Hall Drive, Bishopton PA7 5NW Scotland
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Snaptravel
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (852)
360
Panoramas (20)
Room & Suite (128)

About

#2 of 2 hotels in Bishopton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Mar Hall is a luxury five star hotel, golf & spa resort located 10 minutes from Glasgow International Airport. Set within a tranquil 240 acre woodland estate it is perfect for both UK luxury hotel breaks and for business travel in Glasgow – with a little extra class. The Edwardian Scottish Mansion has 53 individually designed bedrooms, a championship golf course, Decleor Spa, swimming pool and offers both fine dining and casual dining options. We are famous as a luxury wedding venue and for exclusive Scottish conference and banqueting facilities. Overlooking the River Clyde, this grand private residence enjoys a Scottish setting with views towards the Kilpatrick Hills. Being privately owned Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort is guided by family values, delivering attentive personal service that is always outstanding but never intrusive.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Golf course
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Butler service
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
1620Reviews21Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 920
  • 353
  • 178
  • 97
  • 74
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
J A wrote a review Yesterday
Glasgow, United Kingdom8 contributions
My daughter (three years old) & I visit on a very last minute trip because our holiday abroad got cancelled due to covid. The hotel is absolutely stunning, the rooms are beautiful & the grounds are pristine with amazing views. Take away from Breakfast was lovely & staff are very welcoming & friendly. Was great that we could bring our wee dog so he didn't have to miss out on the fun!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Lesterfam wrote a review Yesterday
London, United Kingdom115 contributions50 helpful votes
We stayed in a huge room (11), and were made very welcome. The meals we had were very good including the best rack of lamb I’ve had. Very authentic Scottish stately home hotel experience! We had great views over the golf course
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Room 11 is fantastic
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Excursion59774092890 wrote a review Jun. 14
1 contribution2 helpful votes
I didn’t read up on trip advisor about this hotel before my stay, so had no preconceived impression of what to expect. It’s been a difficult few months and me and my husband chose this hotel to take time out to recharge and visit family in the local area. Having now read the reviews I realise that there is a common theme of guests raising the same issues which judging by the management teams responses and the fact that these issues are obviously not being resolved are being ignored. This is NOT a 5 star hotel, having stopped in many some points as to why? Overall hotel in need of some TLC. Whilst it is a historical premises, the decor is old, carpets threadbare, in places on the stairs coming away from the steps. We stayed in a junior suite £580 two nights b &b. Room in areas not clean, light shade & bulbs full of dust, mirrors, mirrored bed !Wardrobe door won’t shut. Plucked rug underneath a damaged chest. Black marks on the carpet near mirror . Tiny TV just about can watch it if sat on sofa, (had grey hairs all over it) but if you want to watch tv in bed- forget it. Restricted window opening so due to extremely warm weather two uncomfortable nights. One shower gel, shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, shower cap- just enough for two for one night. And had to be moved around the bathroom from bath to shower. Toilet that continually ran. Second day came back in the evening after a busy day- no housekeeping. Went to reception and pointedly told I should have put a card ‘make up my room’ - only I didn’t have one!. One of the staff had to bring clean towels etc. Had to put up with unmade bed etc. As others have said - bar 19 don’t bother food not the best. Breakfast undercooked and Luke warm. Won’t be returning or recommending this hotel
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
thamilton wrote a review Jun. 11
Glasgow, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
Myself and my partner stayed last weekend 4th till the 6th June 2021 for her Birthday. We arrived on the Friday at lunchtime we stayed in room 22 a junior suite at first glance the room looked lovely. We went to the main Crystal restaurant for evening dinner the food was lovely however the restaurant itself was in desperate need of a make over the carpets had more ripples than the River Clyde the walls were all stained the room over all was far from clean . After a late walk we returned to the room to find it cold we turned on the central heating only to find it was not working We made contact with reception asking if they could resolve the heating issue long story short the heating within the room was not working as a result we were giving a portable oil heater with the reassurance the heating would be fix in the morning. Taking a wash prior to going to bed we found the sink water would not drain again we informed reception again we were informed this would be resolved in the morning roll on Sunday prior to checking out bathroom sink issue was still not resolved nor was the heating issue. To top it off prior to checking out we went for breakfast The waiter serving our breakfast narrowly missed my partner by inches when he dropped a roasting hot plate right next to our table resulting in the breakfast going all over the table. All was discussed again with the reception staff prior to checking out The receptionist provided me with a contact email address for us to contact the member of staff who over see’s all customer relations issues and complaints I have now sent two individual emails one on Sunday and again on Tuesday on both occasions I have had a reply stating he is speaking with all management concerned and will return back to me to date I have still not had a reply or a explanation. I would definitely not class this hotel as 5* I do take on board it’s a old historic building however the reception area is full dirty and in need of a proper deep clean taking into consideration the hospitality sector was closed for a number of months this would have been a ideal time to give it a make over.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: I would most definitely check all is working prior to settling in
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Mar Hall, Other at Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort
Responded 5 days ago
Dear thamilton, Thank you for getting in touch. I can confirm we have been in direct contact with you regarding the points you have raised. Regards, Mar Hall Hotel
Read more
Jane W wrote a review Jun. 7
Preston, United Kingdom80 contributions63 helpful votes
Room was huge and had a super bathroom, went for a deluxe double, temple spa toiletries were amazing. Easy check in and they agreed to match the booking.com price which was substantially cheaper than the advance rate we had booked directly. Bottle of Prosecco chilling in our room on arrival which was a lovely touch. Shame the spa was closed, so didn’t bother with the pool. Some unfinished parts were scruffy, but on the whole it was a grand place. Good cocktails down at the club house. Breakfast was efficient and tasty.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Always check price compared to booking.com a few days before.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mar Hall, Other at Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Janew413, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay at Mar Hall. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and we very much hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, Management Team Mar Hall Hotel
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$159 - US$340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mar hall bishopton, mar hall hotel bishopton
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandRenfrewshireBishopton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
53
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort?
Nearby attractions include Ascent Aviation (7.9 km), Scottish Maritime Museum, Dumbarton (6.0 km), and Dumbarton Castle (5.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Angelini's Pizzeria, Piccolo Mondo Renfrew, and Green Gates Renfrew.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Scottish Maritime Museum, Dumbarton (6.0 km), Dumbarton Castle (5.4 km), and Overtoun House (4.5 km).
Does Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.