We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant

Save
Share
Main Street, Achiltibuie IV26 2YQ Scotland
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
eDreams
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (216)
Room & Suite (59)
Dining (41)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

Travellers' Choice
The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant is renowned as an oasis of civilisation tucked away in the ruggedly beautiful, wild and untouched landscape of the Western Scottish Highlands. The hotel is a favourite destination for food lovers, outdoor adventurers and for those looking for peace, tranquillity and fresh air. There are 12 bedrooms comfortable bedrooms with 8 enjoying wonderful sea-views across to the Summer Isles. Food is prepared using local ingredients where possible and it is heavily influenced by the coastal surroundings. In the evening, guests have the choice of dining in the restaurant or bar. The restaurant is smart but relaxed and looks out towards the Summer Isles. Eating in the bar is a more informal experience with the opportunity to meet the local community and enjoy a fine range of ales. The bar is dog-friendly.
Read more

Location

Full view
Contact
Main Street, Achiltibuie IV26 2YQ Scotland
Getting there
Inverness Airport93 kmSee all flights
Stornoway Airport62 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
658Reviews4Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 402
  • 147
  • 59
  • 32
  • 19
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Alison F wrote a review Yesterday
Buckingham, United Kingdom19 contributions10 helpful votes
Superb small suite in an adjacent cottage. Quiet, spotless and full of character. View across to the Summer Isles just magical. Food and wine excellent, although absolutely nothing for vegetarians, which would be my only suggestion for improvement.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
malcolm u wrote a review Sep. 19
Exeter, United Kingdom8 contributions17 helpful votes
we went there expecting a top quality meal only to find that the white wine served to us was tepid and my Guinness was undrinkable. the prices were very high and the menu very limited as the starters were the same as the main courses. the fish of the day was farmed salmon not what you expect from a top quality restaurant what food that was served us was very poor. the pub just up the road serves much better seafood at much less cost. so the summer isles hotel is living of its reputation and is falling very short of the required standards,
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Emma Evans wrote a review Sep. 14
10 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
We was really looking forward to our stay at The Summer Isles Hotel but was hugely disappointed from the minute we entered our drab and dated room. The description read ‘Deluxe Double Room with Sea View’ The room was like a throwback to the 80’s, with what looked like an original bathroom still from that era complete with a bidet. Furniture continued on this theme and looked tired and in places dirty. The amazing view from the window wasn’t so amazing as it was partially obscured by overgrown bushes and trees. Sadly our room was also dirty, tea stains up the wall, dirty bin and spiders and flies that had clearly been having a party for more then a few days. Although I asked for the manager to come and take a look, they never arrived. Dinner in the Bistro was rushed and service was poor as all the staff were young and although friendly lacked any customer service skills. This was the most expensive hotel we booked on our NC500 trip and by far the most disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Simon Cotton, Owner at The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Will E. Sad to read that you did not enjoy your stay. A dirty room has no place in the hotel. Please accept my apologies. Everyone has his/her own view on decor. Many of our guests like a huge bathroom, long cast iron bath, separate shower, double sinks, brass taps and - yes - a bidet! Best wishes. Simon Cotton
Read more
maureen d wrote a review Sep. 13
Petersfield, United Kingdom61 contributions53 helpful votes
First i must say , lovely view and staff very friendly, the hotel needs a good clean, very dirty carpet in hotel and sofa in bar needs cleaning, our bedroom dated ,bathroom needs a refurbish, the rug in sitting area needs binning, we ate in bistro and had very good steak and chips , breakfast ok had better, hotel not worth the money they are charging.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Simon Cotton, Owner at The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Maureen, Thank you for taking the time to write a review which I have now discussed with the team. We have been washing the carpet in the lounge bar where there is most footfall but the time has come for a complete clean. This will take place on the next dry day when windows and doors can be left open to help the drying process. I have also asked the team to inspect the offending rug in your room which will be replaced if necessary. Best wishes. Simon Cotton
Read more
DCZ213 wrote a review Sep. 10
London, United Kingdom49 contributions34 helpful votes
The biggest failing was a complete absence of any customer service ethos. Many of the staff were young and inexperienced but the management, who should have been setting an example, were rude and unhelpful. We were made to feel that anything we asked for was too much trouble. Just one of many examples: our room wasn't cleaned and, when we asked why, we were told that on arrival we had been informed that, due to Covid, rooms would not be cleaned unless guests asked for this. We hadn't been told this on check in. When we were given this explanation (and no apology) we made it clear that we would like our room cleaned the next day. However, it wasn't cleaned the next day either - no apology, instead we were told that we should have made this clear the day before - which we of course had. Sticking with cleanliness, the information left in the room stated that, due to Covid, the hotel would be regularly cleaned and polished. We never saw anyone cleaning anything at any time of day. The hotel was pretty grubby – we noticed some dead insects behind one of the tables in the dining room and we watched as one of the managers showed a new recruit how to clean a table – by sweeping all the crumbs onto the floor! As rattan covered the floor, who knows how many crumbs are there. The food in the "fine dining" restaurant was a throwback to the early days of nouvelle cuisine – overpriced, pretentious and left us so hungry after busy days walking that we ended up stocking up on snacks from the local shop. An amuse bouche was the same filling as the side of potato served with the turbot. A child sized portion with tiny bits of asparagus on the side – choose a vegetable that is in season and please give us more to eat. Again, only potatoes were on offer which we had to order as we were so hungry after our miserly portion of food. When ordering, we had asked how the turbot was served, but apparently it was too difficult to explain… Breakfast – this is 2021 and sourdough rather than supermarket white or brown sliced bread would not go amiss. Having seen a fellow dinner receive her boiled eggs served peeled on toast, I requested mine in an egg cup. It duly came, peeled in an egg cup! Lunch In the brasserie was sandwiches or the same menu as the evening meal. The menu never changed and was very limited. Requesting a cheese and tomato salad rather than a cheese sandwich with a side salad and chips, resulted in a slice of presliced cheese with a cut up tomato on top and a salad garnish. Supper that evening was the same choices with not a vegetable or salad in sight; only chips as a side – all pre bought, clearly not hand cut. For a ‘luxury’ hotel this is not good enough. Fish of the day was the same every day and always cooked the same way. It would have been nice to feel the staff had some knowledge of local walks, rather than the incomplete photocopied suggestions in the foyer that were clearly written a very long time ago. We even had a walk suggested to us that on paper said not to be undertaken in bad weather and only for experienced hikers. The forecast was rain and we are not experienced hikers! A chance chat with the owner meant we discovered two lovely walks that were not covered in the folder. All of this could be rectified so easily. We have friends who speak fondly of the hotel having stayed there in the past, which is why we decided to go. Sadly, the beautiful location is wasted as the hotel is clearly living off its past reputation. It's tired and in need of a lot of love and attention if it wants to recapture its former glories.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Simon Cotton, Owner at The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
Responded 1 week ago
Dear DCZ, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sad to read that you were disappointed with everything other than the location. You have provided useful detail which helps me to discuss the matters raised with the team and - where reasonable - make changes to improve the service on offer. I state "where reasonable" because I will defend the hotel in relation to several of the matters raised. Items to discuss internally are the check-in process (to always include room service by request), correct cleaning of tables between guests, service of boiled eggs and updated walks. These matters can and will be quickly rectified. I apologise for the impact that each had upon your stay. Service of rooms "by request" has been a big theme of the 2021 season. Our policy is clearly stated in every room we will stick to it for the remainder of the 2021 season. Guest requirements range from "do not cross the threshold of my room on any account" to "service daily". Most have not requested a daily service. You ate in the bistro and the restaurant during your 3 night stay. These venues give our guests a choice between wholesome/comforting (the bistro) and creative fine dining (the restaurant). For most, the combination of both venues, the length of stay and menus that evolve gives sufficient choice. I accept that you did not enjoy the creative fine dining but the large majority of guests think it is fabulous. This formula will not change. Your points re bread (lunch/breakfast) and chips (bistro) are noted and I will consider these when preparing for the 2022 season. For your information, the brioche buns are homemade. Staffing has been a major challenge for the whole of the hospitality industry in 2021. We are fortunate to have assembled a great team. Some left (as planned) in early September to return to university and we recruited to fill each vacancy with young, willing and friendly staff. Most have hospitality experience but it always takes a little time to settle into a new job. I take exception to "living off it's past reputation". This is my fourth season and - like any sensible leader - the business has a clear strategy. We know where we are going and how we are going to get there. This journey does not depend upon past reputation. Best wishes Simon Cotton
Read more
Previous
123456
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandScottish HighlandsRoss and CromartyAchiltibuie
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
Which popular attractions are close to The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant?
Nearby attractions include Achnahaird Bay (6.2 km), Achiltibuie Artists' Gallery (0.5 km), and Loch Bad A' Ghaill (5.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant?
Conveniently located restaurants include SALT Seafood Kitchen, Am Fuaran Bar, and Achiltibuie Piping School Café.
Is The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Achiltibuie.
Are pets allowed at The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, German, and Hungarian.
Does The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.