We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mackay's Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Mackay\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

364 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 351: English reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Had an overnight here when visiting family. From arrival I found the hotel clean, tidy and most importantly - warm ☺ I was checked in quickly and efficiently by Debbie, hotel manager, then shown to my room by Aaron, duty manager. Both we're so pleasant and answered all my queries. My son was able to have a splash around in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pinknorto1
Debbie S, General Manager at Mackay's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pinknorto1, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, I am pleased to hear you and your son enjoyed your stay and would return again. Please book your return visit direct at the hotel to receive the best available rates, I look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again. Kind Regards Debbie Scott General Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago

We had very good break at hogmany, food was very good breakfast was lovely and fresh salmon on New Year's Day at lunch time was so nice, we were a party of seven had three rooms next to each other rooms were great bit hot but easily adjusted, staff are so nice and helpful, only one small thing no room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karen H
Debbie S, General Manager at Mackay's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Karen H, Thank you for your kind review. I am very pleased to hear that you all had a memorable stay and found the staff nice and helpful they do work very hard to make your stay an enjoyable one. Unfortunately there was nothing we were able to do this year regarding the dance floor due the construction work...

Arbroath
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A group of eight of us travelled to McKay's Hotel on a David Urquhart tour to bring in the New Year. On arrival, Debbie the General Manager, welcomed us to the hotel and her Duty Manager Aaron distributed our room keys and gave help to any passenger requiring it. The hotel is old but our rooms were clean, comfortable and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlexArbroath
Debbie S, General Manager at Mackay's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AlexAbroath, Thank you for such a kind review I am very pleased to hear that everything was to your liking. The staff and I worked very hard over the festive period to ensure everyone had a great time and I am pleased to hear this has not gone unnoticed. I hope you do manage to return as I look...

Stonehaven, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Travelled with Urquhart travel and £600 for a twin room 3 night break. Food awful rooms were cold ground floor rooms poorly accessible for disabled and elderly. Rooms were cold towels not changed and even the bins were not emptied avoid like the plaque feel totally ripped off and will also be complaining to travel company!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jane D
Debbie S, General Manager at Mackay's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jane D, I am terribly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay I only wish you had mentioned something at the time. I am surprised on your comments as I have received nothing but praise from the majority of guests (having spoke to many of them personally) on the food, staff and the rooms many saying they were...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Arrived on Friday 23/12/16 for, four nights over the Christmas period. We had a great time yes the hotel is in the middle of being updated but the staff are brilliant Debbie the manager is really nice. We had 3 meals a day all the food over the 4 days really good we had 3 so called light buffet lunches...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
Debbie S, General Manager at Mackay's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michael A, Thank you very much for your extremely kind review I am really pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay over Christmas the staff and I work very hard to make it special and I am delighted to hear that it has not gone unnoticed. I look forward to seeing you on your return visit. Kind Regards...

Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel, the MacKay's Hotel in Strathpeffer on the night of 2nd Aug 2016. We booked the hotel through Hotel.com the day before. We were so shocked to discover that one of duvets was unbelievably so dirty and full of various shades of brown and black stains! Had we not removed the duvet cover due to the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dadpeck
Debbie S, General Manager at Mackay's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear dadpeck, I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. I am however confused how you can leave a review labelled "Absolutely terrible - stay away" when you haven't been in the building in over four months therefore have no idea of the current state of the hotel? The hotel and the rooms have changed vastly in...

Kilwinning, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Staff want to help and please visitors which is a great start. Rooms are fine and certainly clean. The layout with extensions allows a variery of variations and stairs but all in reasonable. Food served was tasty and well presented.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Donald R
Debbie S, General Manager at Mackay's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Donald R, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. I am very pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay and found the staff very helpful. Hopefully you will return in the future. Kind Regards Debbie Scott General Manager

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 December 2016

Stayed on a short coach holiday recently. Very enjoyable break. We had a ground floor room with a shower in the main building. Overall the hotel was clean, although needing upgrading, the staff were efficient and friendly and the food choices were good and varied. The only down comments we heard often was the state of the tables. They were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emlh-35
Debbie S, General Manager at Mackay's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear emlh-35, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and found the staff to be friendly and efficient they work very hard and its great to hear that it does not go unnoticed. The hotel does need upgrading which we are currently in the process...

Wishaw, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 December 2016

We stayed here for the weekend in a David Urquhart trip and it was excellent. On arrival our room was very comfortable and well decorated The meals served by very polite and mannerly waitresses very very good The evening entertainment was of a high standard and the price of the drink was reasonable Overall a most enjoyable break and i...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brigade02
Debbie S, General Manager at Mackay's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Brigade02, Thank you for your great review, I am so pleased to hear you had an excellent weekend and found the waitresses very polite and entertainment of a high standard. I am delighted to hear that you would not hesitate in returning, hopefully we will see you again in the future. Kind Regards Debbie Scott General Manager

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 December 2016

Just back from a long weekend in Mckays Hotel, with a coach trip. The first room we had been allocated to just had a bath with no overhead shower so we had to ask for a change. Dibble the manager was very patient and found a different room for us with a shower (room29) The room was on the ground...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lindylou40
Debbie S, General Manager at Mackay's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear lindylou40, Thank you very much for your lovely review I am delighted to hear you had a good weekend and you are indeed right the bathrooms are all new in that section. The rest of the beds are next on our to do list already having replaced ten in different parts of the building. Thank you for the lovely...

78 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (78)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (35)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathpeffer
0.3 km away
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ben Wyvis Hotel
#3 of 7 in Strathpeffer
524 reviews
0.1 km away
Bay Highland Hotel
Bay Highland Hotel
#1 of 7 in Strathpeffer
704 reviews
0.1 km away
Strathpeffer Hotel
Strathpeffer Hotel
#6 of 7 in Strathpeffer
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
719 reviews
9.4 km away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dingwall
121 reviews
4.0 km away
Achilty Hotel
Achilty Hotel
#2 of 2 in Contin
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Mackay's Hotel

Address: The Square, Strathpeffer IV14 9DL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Strathpeffer
Price Range: $65 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mackay's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Mackay's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mackays Hotel Strathpeffer
Mackay's Hotel Strathpeffer, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mackay's Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Mackay's Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We needed three rooms and got them right next to each other staff did great job to do this as hotel was very busy....”
 of 5 bubbles , 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try and get a room on the ground floor of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Brigade02, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“room 10 has been upgraded”
 of 5 bubbles disapointedguest2014, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Just old fashioned rooms you only sleep there”
 of 5 bubbles williambB3088CJ, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Main building room”
 of 5 bubbles morags3, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay