We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Royal Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Royal Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

641 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 620: English reviews
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I visited the restaurant for lunch with my grown up daughter and elderly parents. The dining area was very nicely decorated, although there were wires coming out of the ceiling so it didn't appear to be quite finished. We were seated and given menus and offered drinks very quickly. The menu, while not being very extensive, sounded good. Our starters...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fionaw476
Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked an overnight stay through My Hotel Break as we've stayed several times in the past and got married here in 2013. Booking was for DBB, BOTTLE OF FIZZ IN AN EXECUTIVE ROOM, on arrival was really impressed with the upgrade this hotel has had, it's beautiful but wasn't long before I was disappointed. Checked in, given room 17, pokey...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mags D
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Like other reviews,it's needs noting that it's being renovating. The parts that have been renovated,the restaurant and the lobby,look nice,so hopefully the rest of the hotel will be too. The room was old and dated,little heating,floorboards creaked really bad throughout the hotel,the lift is a very old one but it worked fine. The food was very nice,as too was the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank terry w
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Not a hotel I will stay in again. My review is based on my experience of this hotel and my own expectations as a paying guest (booked through booking.com £90 per night not including breakfast, average price paid for other 10 rooms used by my family members was between £30-£40...boy were we ripped off!!!) I will say the staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank eclark2017
Nikki_Mathieson, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Eileen Thank you for your honest review. Having already left your review on Facebook sometime ago, we are already in correspondence regarding this but I appreciate your feedback here all the same. As mentioned in an email to yourself, there was a coding error with the till which resulted in the overcharge for your wine, this has since been...

San Francisco
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

The hotel is nearing the end of a major renovation so thought we would give it a go. It was quieter than expected but it is just after Christmas and New Year. Service was excellent and food was good but bordering on the expensive. Main issue was the pipped music. It intruded and was not necessarily to everyone's taste. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 December 2016

on arriving at the hotel check in was good ,staff were excellent .got to my room room 25 and that's where the fun began , the main light wasn't working and there was no bulb in the holder .went to switch on the two lamps to find only one was working.staff eventually brought in another lamp (didn't bother about the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank davyoke
Nikki_Mathieson, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Davyoke Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and I am sorry it wasn't a great one. As you will have noticed from the public areas and function space, we are undergoing a huge refurbishment at the minute but, unfortunately, the rooms are next phase of the refurb which will begin in the...

Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 December 2016

i imagine that like most residents of bridge of allan, we are delighted to see the royal hotel is being refurbished. It is obvious that this is a major upgrade and will hopefully be another attraction to the town. The owners are to be respected and congratulated for making the level of investment that this must be requiring. Today (27th...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Victoria A
Nikki_Mathieson, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Victoria Many thanks for taking the time to review your visit to The Royal Hotel and apologies that it wasn't the best. I've had a chat with the team on shift on the 27th and it seems that they were caught off guard with a very unexpected rush. Although we have been open for residents and pre-booked events|catering,...

Bridge of Allan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 December 2016

24 members of our family, children and adults looked forward to our Christmas meal at the Royal hotel. This was booked in July deposit paid with full amount made over to the hotel as requested. What a disappointment. One hour before drinks order taken Once served a few of the drinks were wrong and a few missing No Tennents available...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mackenzie335
Nikki_Mathieson, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon mackenzie335 Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. Having worked on Christmas Day and spoken to various members of your family on the day, I am aware that you did not have the best experience and can only apologise on behalf of the team. I have subsequently met in person with Laura and would like...

Reviewed 25 December 2016 via mobile

Couldn't have been happier with our Christmas lunch here today. First of all, the staff were fantastic; very efficient, helpful and friendly. The decor is also a thousand times better than it was two years ago. As silly as it might sound, I always judge a restaurant/hotel on the toilets and they were beautiful. :-) The food was absolutely delicious....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo W
Nikki_Mathieson, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Jo W Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Royal Hotel and I am delighted to hear that you had a lovely time. I'll pass your comments regarding the Salmon to our Chef as this is certainly something that could be easily changed. I hope that you have a wonderful New Year and...

Leyland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 December 2016

We booked through a booking firm, thinking we were getting a cheaper option. 110 pounds. If you book direct its 70. We explained this to hotel who were less than sympathetic. Our friends stayed at 40 pounds less with same standard room. Water was brown and bar under renovation. Room very hot!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
Nikki_Mathieson, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Anne S Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback and I am sorry about the confusion with your rates. Our rates do fluctuate depending on availability at the time of booking but I'm sorry to hear that my team didn't deal with this correctly for you. We are undergoing a huge refurbishment, again I'm sorry...

156 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (136)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (70)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridge of Allan
3.9 km away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
1.9 km away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 21 in Stirling
463 reviews
4.1 km away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#11 of 21 in Stirling
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Queen's Hotel
The Queen's Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bridge of Allan
184 reviews
4.1 km away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
4.2 km away
Premier Inn Stirling City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: 55 Henderson Street, Bridge of Allan, Stirling FK9 4HL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Stirling > Bridge of Allan
Price Range: $78 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Bridge Of Allan
The Royal Hotel Bridge Of Allan, Stirling, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Royal Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Royal Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Only honeymoon suite refurbished.”
 of 5 bubbles magsd2017, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Check water, book direct and get a room with a window to let cool air in!”
 of 5 bubbles 197AnneS, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“go somewhere else very poor”
 of 5 bubbles 270stewartl, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had a nice view of the street also the monument on the hill”
 of 5 bubbles 504berniet, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“poor accessibility of lift”
 of 5 bubbles SusanDbl, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5