We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Cross Keys

Agoda.comUS$97*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Cross Keys
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

125 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Cross Keys
See the most recent reviews
Showing 125: English reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2016

I loved The Cross Keys.. I visited back in June with my husband and In-laws and we all had a great time. The pub/ restaurant has a lovely warm vibe. Everyone was friendly and relaxed. The staff and locals were happy to chat and it really made you feel at home. We ordered the Fish dinner and honestly it was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Krystalspring11
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 September 2016

We stayed here taking two rooms out of the three I think they have available. We can vouch for it being a comfortable and restful stay. The Cross Keys offers a good quality standard of B& B accommodation- The menu and food get great reviews We enjoyed a good breakfast , with good choice and quality locally sourced food on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul C
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

Great lunch, good selection of items to choose from. Some traditional mains such as steak pie and fish and chips. I had chicken caeser salad which was well constructed and dressed. Crunchy croutons and whole anchovies featured. Ambience cosy, a bit sparse and bare, dark wood features a lot. Open fire a good feature.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lawson01
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 September 2016

Found this pub in the good pub guide when we stayed in nearby Stirling and what a great find. Parked right outside. Friendly welcome including for the dog. Wonderful lunch. The Cullen skink was to die for! The lamb was delicious and my husband enjoyed his homemade pie. . Very large portions leaving and reasonable prices. Nice atmosphere in pub....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Liz R
Marple
Reviewed 31 August 2016

Arrived quite late and left early so we did not explore the area as we had to move on. A really lovely meal which we could not fault, excellent menu and it was hard to decide on what to chose as several of the meals looked great. Enjoyed some pleasant drinks and there was a good atmosphere in the bar....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marpleboy
Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2016

Everything you could wish for in a traditional British Inn. Bright airy room with very comfortable bed, useful facilities( DVDs and books for customer use in bad weather available) Very friendly and helpful staff( including Jess the pub dog!) and excellent evening meal and breakfast. In fact, the best evening meal we've had in a pub for a very long...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sue P
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2016

After reading some complimentary reviews on The Cross Keys Inn we decided to give it a try for Sunday Lunch. On their website it shows pictures of thick slices of a 'home made' roast, cooked perfectly and supposedly with roasted vegetables which looked very appetizing. The reality was disappointing. I asked our waiter if they beef was in fact home...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tonmax
Brianhcrosskeys, Owner at The Cross Keys, responded to this review

Really sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your recent visit. I can see from your comments why you weren't happy. Your description certainly doesn't sound like our usual great standard of Sunday lunch. Please allow us to make it up to you - lunch on us! Give me a call on 01786 870293 and let me know a date which...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

What a great menu! Enjoyed lunch here with dear friends, especially the amazing trio of tapas. All hot , freshly cooked and so tasty. Charming staff and homely atmosphere. Thoroughly recommend dining here!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hannab3
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

We ate in this pub cause we were staying for the night at Kippen. What a surprise ! The local lager was excellent, we ordered lamb with carrot and dauphinois and really enjoyed it ! The atmosphere at the pub was nice and cozy. If you pass through this town, stop at this pub, you won't be disappointed.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Céline S
KINROSS
Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

This is a very dark and old pub that won Pub Grub of the year 2016. Had lunch here on Wednesday when they offer two for one (241) on their fish and chips. The quality of the fish was very good, not greasy as sometimes fish and chips can be and portion size was adequate for lunchtime. Tried their own...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank ROBERT S

13 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kippen
12.9 km away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
383 reviews
13.6 km away
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
18.8 km away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 km away
Old Churches House Hotel
15.3 km away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
0.1 km away
The Inn at Kippen
The Inn at Kippen
#1 of 2 in Kippen
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Cross Keys is a traditional and comfortable Inn nestled in the village of Kippen between the Loch lomond and trossachs national park and the ancient city of Stirling, Scotland. There are three contemporary en suite rooms with heated floors, excellent beds and fresh white linen. The pub has log fires in winter and the beer garden has great view in the summer. Food at the Cross Keys is traditional modern with standards and specials side by side. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Cross Keys

Address: Main Street, Kippen FK8 3DN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Kippen
Price Range: $129 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Cross Keys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cross Keys Hotel Kippen
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Cross Keys staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Only 3 rooms available. Room 3 was fine for us. Plenty space for us plus dog.”
JHPHOTO, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Avoid the twin room”
Marpleboy, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room 3 at the back of hotel and very quiet.”
GeorgieB56, 5 Feb 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in the double room and were very happy with it.”
499Emily499, 16 Jul 2015 | Read review
“No tea or coffee in the room so if you are a caffeine addict take a travel kettle with you.”
Longforganlad, 28 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
US$97* /night
View Deal
Priceline
Booking.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates