We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bosville Hotel

Save
Share
9-11 Bosville Terrace, Portree IV51 9DG Scotland
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$142
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-10-27
Booking.com
US$142
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-10-26
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
US$142
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-10-26
Hotels.comUS$142
eDreamsUS$142
TravelocityUS$142
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (191)
360
Panoramas (9)
Room & Suite (111)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#5 of 7 hotels in Portree
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A modern newly refurbished stunning hotel in the heart of Portree with an award winning stylish seafood restaurant and bar.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Non-smoking hotel
Complimentary instant cofffee
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Safe
Telephone
Bottled water
Coffee / tea maker
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
388Reviews11Q+A66Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 190
  • 128
  • 46
  • 11
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Evenwalser wrote a review Jul. 2021
Austin, Texas6 contributions2 helpful votes
Lovely stay in a nice room with a view of the harbour. Dining downstairs for dinner was very good, in fact, best chips I have ever had. Location was easy and ideal however parking can be tricky. Great base of operation for exploration of Skye. Hotel is clean, friendly, accommodating and comfortable.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Bosville Hotel, General Manager at Bosville Hotel
Responded yesterday
Dear Evenwalser, Thank you for your lovely review and your kind feedback about our team. We are very glad to learn you had an enjoyable stay and that you found the Bosville Hotel to be conveniently located. Parking can indeed be tricky- luckily, in addition to the publicly owned spots outside reception, there are other paid-for options only a few yards away from reception. We hope you had an equally enjoyable onward journey and we look forward to welcoming you in the future for another lovely stay! Kind regards, Linda & The Guest Relations Team
Read more
Roundy wrote a review Jul. 2021
Horsham, United Kingdom2533 contributions482 helpful votes
+1
We first stayed in this hotel last September for 3 nights and enjoyed the experience, benefiting from a 3 nights for the price of 2 deal on a "cosy" sea view room. There were still some things we wanted to do on Skye, so when we decided to do the North Coast 500 road trip this June we thought we would return for 2 nights. Unfortunately we could not get a deal this time, and the only sea view room available was a family room with one double and one single bed. We also had one lovely dinner in the Dulce & Brose restaurant on the ground floor and our bill for the nights including the dinner was nearly £700 so it is expensive if you don't get a special rate. As before the room was very comfortable and had everything we wanted, and this room had a much bigger ensuite than our previous cosy room. The sea view was actually a view up the main street, with the sea over to the side (we were above the bar end of the building this time, rather than above the restaurant) so we had less of a sea view than our previous visit. I think in hindsight we should have opted for a non-sea view room given the cost. Contrary to the previous review we loved the continental platter on the slate for breakfast and ate most of it each morning. The croissants are lovely and fresh and the fruit compote yoghurt is scrummy! You can always send it back when they deliver it if it you aren't going to touch it. Nice breakfast menu overall too. Recommend the pancakes with bacon and maple syrup as well as the Full Scottish! On our other night we asked the Bosville receptionist to book us in for dinner at the Chargrill restaurant at the sister Marmalade Hotel, which was a 10-15min walk (uphill) at the back of the town. The restaurant there had a lovely view across its garden out across Portree Bay, so worth asking for a window table there if possible - we were lucky enough to be given one. It may also be better value to stay there, and some of their rooms would have that nice sea view too, although it's obviously more distant than at the Bosville. The food was great anyway - they specialise in steaks but with other dishes available (I had monkfish) and with a nice selection of sides. I'm only giving this hotel a 4 rather than a 5 this time because of the room rate (by far the most we paid per night across 9 hotels in our NC500 trip and they were all lovely) but realise the Bosville is in a prime location and people are obviously willing to pay the rate as they were full (my husband was not happy with me when he found out what rate I had booked at!).
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Bosville Hotel, General Manager at Bosville Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Roundy, Thank you for your review. We are always delighted to welcome previous guests back, it is a great honor to have guests choose us again. As per our conversation during your stay, it would have been lovely to be notified of this prior to your arrival. We could have definitely worked on a mutually agreed solution in terms of room allocation/rates. You stayed in a family room for 3 this time - as you could notice first hand, a much more roomier experience compared to the small double you had booked in September. This did unfortunately mean a higher rate, as you also stayed in June this time (part of the high season on the isle of Skye). Thank you for your kind feedback about our breakfast and dinner - our chefs will be very pleased to hear you could appreciate the results of their hard work. It is reassuring to receive positive feedback about the compromises we have had to adopt after the pandemic, particularly in terms of breakfast. Is has certainly not been an easy year and a half. We are doing our very best to provide all our guests with an enjoyable time away from home, after such a long hiatus. Thank you for your comments about our sister hotel the Marmalade - the hotel was recently enriched with a separate extension and they have free parking on the premises. Their rates are therefore slightly higher than ours, however the facilities, the comfort and the team certainly make the Marmalade worthwhile. Much like airline companies, our rates fluctuate throughout the year, based on demand, market trends and pricing at similarly rated properties on the island. On your next visit, please do make sure to contact us before travelling - we would love to welcome you again. Kind regards, Linda & The Guest Relations Team
Read more
CarolineWR wrote a review Jul. 2021
U.K.97 contributions68 helpful votes
I guess staying in the centre of Portree would warrant a premium price, but at £284 a night (superior room) this was not really value for money and parking is a nightmare! Pleasant enough room with some nice Scottish fabrics to brighten it up, enormous, comfortable double bed and a spacious, good quality bathroom and a nice view over the street. However, the bedroom was huge and basically empty; a small widow seat bench, but no seating area and no dressing table (why don’t women get into hotel design??) – just empty space. Breakfast was weird – a selection of croissants, yoghurt, a few berries and a broken granola bar(?) served precariously on a slate regardless of whether you wanted it or not. So much must have been wasted. Cooked items to order were good.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Bosville Hotel, General Manager at Bosville Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear CarolineWR, Thank you for your comprehensive, detailed review about your stay with us. We are sorry to hear you feel so strongly about details that have been attentively looked into, to grant the most enjoyable stay to all our guests (even during an on-going world-wide pandemic). We are particularly proud of our breakfast offer, considering most hotels do not currently offer breakfast or only serve a continental platter with an anonymous slice of cheese or ham. Disappointing to hear that our platters featuring a freshly made granola bar, a yogurt parfait, croissants and fresh berries seemed weird to you. All our guests are free to choose whether to consume the platter or not. We just consider it hospitable to offer a sizeable breakfast to compensate for the beautiful buffet we used to have prior to the pandemic. All our platforms, including our website, do advertise the unfortunate absence of parking at the Bosville Hotel. In addition to the publicly owned spots outside reception, there are other paid-for options in town only a few yards away (4 minutes away by foot, at the very maximum). Might be worth redirecting your feedback to the Highland Council? Our rates fluctuate throughout the year, in line with market trends and pricing at similarly rated properties on the island. Considering your positive feedback about the size of the room and bathroom, the breakfast offer, the comfort and the view, we are confused by your comments on value for money. All our superior rooms feature sizeable tables and chairs - we are therefore also unsure about your comments regarding the absence of a seating area in your room. This being said, we hope you had a safe onward journey and we wish you a prosperous continuation of the year 2021. Kind regards, Linda & The Guest Relations Team
Read more
J migd wrote a review Jul. 2021
London, United Kingdom2 contributions
One of the better hotels in Portree, not deserving of £330/night. The cottage was sizeable, very ugly exterior, awkward stairs and ceilings, flickering lights and had a mouse infestation. No privacy on ground floor. Friendly staff. Wouldn’t recommend or stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Not as pretty as the pictures suggest.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Bosville Hotel, General Manager at Bosville Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. Must we say, this is quite the accusation. The interiors of the cottage were and are not infested - the pest control company found evidence of the infestation outside of the premises and this was dealt with promptly. We are sorry to hear you found one of the oldest buildings in town to be ugly. Should you have read the description of the cottage on our website, you would have been aware of the building being divided onto two levels by a spiral staircase and featuring a sloped ceiling on the top floor. The lower floor of the cottage does have curtains on every window and the bathroom features frosted glass windows - we are sorry you feel this did not guarantee sufficient privacy. We would have also loved being made aware of the flickering lights - we could have addressed this for you during your stay. We hope you had a safe onward journey. Kind regards, Linda & The Guest Relations Team
Read more
mazandjoe wrote a review Jun. 2021
Stourbridge, United Kingdom58 contributions11 helpful votes
On arrival we were told because of a cancellation we had been upgraded to superior double room, which was a nice surprise. The room was fabulous we loved the little extras like a percolated coffee, the use of bath robes & slippers, the bathroom was really modern and big and the view over the harbour was great. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We didn’t manage to eat there but that was our mistake, by the time we decided there wasn’t any tables. We decided to eat at their sister hotel The Marmalade only a short walk from The Bosville. The parking is limited but if you’re lucky you can get a spot right outside the hotel. It is in the centre of Portree so great location. It did cost over £200 for one night but it was our treat and the upgrade helped enormously. We would have no trouble recommending this hotel to family and friends.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Bosville Hotel, General Manager at Bosville Hotel
Responded Jun. 25, 2021
Dear mazandjoe, What a lovely review, THANK YOU. On behalf of our entire team, I can definitely say your feedback makes us all very grateful for the results of our hard work in making all of our guests' stays worthwhile (including upgrades, wherever possible!). Attention to detail is one of our main assets - from the amenities in the room, to accurately selected materials, to the freshest ingredients on our menu, to pre-arrival emails suggesting a booking is made in advance for our restaurant to avoid disappointment. All our platforms and confirmation emails do state the unfortunate absence of parking at the Bosville Hotel. Luckily, as you could experience, in addition to the publicly owned spots outside reception, there are other (paid-for) options in town only a few yards away. Thank you very much once again for choosing us and we hope to welcome you again to the Bosville Hotel in the future! Kind regards, Linda & The Guest Relations Team
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$151 - US$280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandThe HebridesIsle of SkyePortree
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Bosville Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Bosville Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Skye Batiks (0.1 km), The Isle of Skye Soap Company (0.2 km), and The Lump (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Bosville Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Bosville Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Bosville Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Scorrybreac Restaurant, The Rosedale Hotel Restaurant, and Dulse & Brose at The Bosville.
Are there any historical sites close to Bosville Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St. Columba's Isle (8.0 km).
Does Bosville Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.