We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Pool House

Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Pool House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

143 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Pool House
See the most recent reviews
Scottish Highlands
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Emailed this place to arrange an intimate wedding. Got a rather curt reply to say they did weddings but when did I want it as they are closed some of the year. No mention of this on website. Would it not be better to tell people when they are actually open? I replied with my preferred date, although mentioned I...

 Report
Helpful?
13Thank HebrideanPrincess
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We stayed there as a birthday treat for one of our party. Overall the cost of our trip was c£500 for an overnight stay inc food and drink. The food was special but the host and his wife were the most miserable hosts Ive ever had the misfortune to experience. At breakfast the owner stood over us whilst we ate...

 Report
Helpful?
12Thank Chickaboo68
houseonarock, Manager at Pool House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. May we correct a few points relating to the comments you have made. It may be that the inaccuracies contained in your piece are a result of the rather long period of time that has elapsed since you stayed at Pool House. Although you claim to have stayed in September this year; your visit was...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 November 2011

This small hotel is quirky in every way. The decor in the hotel is amazing and whilst it takes a bit of getting used to, you can only appreciate the extraordinary attention to detail on the maritime theme. It is positioned on the edge of the loch and has beautiful views and great walks nearby. We stayed in HMS Diadem...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mos2011
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2011

My wife and I just sent the weekend at the Pool House and thought it was great. Quirky, definitely but loved it. Food was spot on and The family-run service is both individual and personal. Room was amazing; really large with lots of nice touches. On a cold wet afternoon we loved coming back into the room to find our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alistbr
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Stayed here with my partner for three nights. We stayed in a lovely large suite however no matter how well its was decorated, it is still a conservatory of "CR Smith" ilk. The view was "alright" but nothing special. I have certainly stayed in hotels in the highlands with better views! Even though we were paying close to £400 a...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Ross6786
houseonarock, Manager at Pool House, responded to this review

Thank you for your interesting review, however we are sure that you would not wish in any way to mislead other Tripadvisor readers and would therefore appreciate us clarifying some of the details you have included in your imaginative piece. 1. You did not stay 3 nights at Pool House 2. You did not pay £400 per night 3. You...

nyon
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Beautifully situated on the seafront at Poolewe. Our suite had an enormous sitting room with balcony overlooking the bay. The bedroom was a little on the small side and completely taken up by the bed. Huge bathroom with clawfoot bath. We disregarded stupid rule about not taking drink into one's room! Slightly bizarre decor in the dining room. Stunningly good...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NyonZmac
Aberdeen
Reviewed 26 September 2011

This place is the bee`s knee`s. Simple, Beautiful & well decorated. Each suite is individual and special. We stayed in the Whimbrel suite over Valentines weekend. It such romantic surroundings with all the glens/munros & wildlife. I think many big hotels could take a few leafs out of pool house books on how to achieve greatness. The dining was immense,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SimpyA
Aberdeenshire
Reviewed 7 September 2011

My husband booked two nights in HMS Nairana. The room definitely had the wow factor. However, the bed was the uncomfiest I've ever slept in! The mattress was like a trampoline and every time my husband moved I almost bounced off the bed. I also found it hard to believe it was King Size. The room was also very expensive...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nilequeen_13
Oxford, UK
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Managers and would-be owners of (ex-) Von Essen hotels, listen up! These guys, despite apparently being technically a guesthouse and not a hotel, provide the definitive luxury country house hotel experience. In my experience, this is the benchmark. Pool House has an extraordinary Tardis-like quality. Unremarkable from the outside, the extraordinary decor inside manages to be striking, unique, beautiful, idiosyncratic,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oxfordshireboy
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 August 2011

I desided to take my girlfriend (now fiancee) away on a romantic break, I looked for somewhere that would have the wow factor. I was so nervous as i had only seen the pool house on pictures, After arrival we were greeted by one of Peters daughters, this family run peice of tranquil heaven was such a delight to experience....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank donna g

127 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (110)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poolewe
0.1 km away
Poolewe Hotel
Poolewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poolewe
168 reviews
26.8 km away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
542 reviews
6.8 km away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 km away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
128 reviews
7.7 km away
Gairloch Highland Lodge
Gairloch Highland Lodge
#3 of 5 in Gairloch
141 reviews
8.2 km away
Aultbea Hotel
Aultbea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aultbea
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Pool House

Address: Pool House Highland, Poolewe IV22 2LD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Poolewe
Hotel Class:5 star — Pool House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Pool House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pool Hotel Poolewe
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pool House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 month ago
houseonarock Property representative
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Not as helpful

We accept one dog (small to medium size) in the Writer's Retreat in the garden.

1 month ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Pool House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Scharnhorn suite overlooks the sea with its own verandah. Gorgeous!”
Ambrose1, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“just take whatever you are offered!”
JS186525, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Scharnhorst suite has a balcony with a beautiful view and is very spacious - more spacious than the average suite.”
TKC12015, 12 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Highly recommend the Scharnhorst suite but book well in advance as this hotel has a lot of regulars!”
  • The drawing room of the Scharnhorst Suite
  • The private balcony of the Scharnhorst Suite
  • Our private living room in the Scharnhorst Suite
  • The bathroom of the Scharnhorst Suite
  • The Scharnhorst Suite
  • The gardens of Pool House Hotel
317jt, 11 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Ashanti Suite.”
RaffaDeG2013, 7 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5