We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Invercauld Arms Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Invercauld Arms Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

492 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Invercauld Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 478: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 July 2015 via mobile

The hotel is clean but it is tired and needs refurbishment - for instance the carpet in my room was very worn. The food is OK but the portions are small - probably designed for the elderly coach parties that would be their standard customers. WIFI is only available in reception, which is a bit annoying, especially as the mobile...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review, I’m glad you found the hotel to be clean, sorry you found the portions size not be enough, if you had ask for more the staff would have been only to happy to oblige. Regards Jane

LINCOLN
Reviewed 1 July 2015

What a delightful place ,we requested a room on lower floor and got a spacious room on the ground floor ,it was delightful .Staff very pleasant at all times well stocked bar enjoyable food and a quiet nights sleep,excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank barbarasbistro
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review

What a lovely 5* review thank you, it nice to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, I have passed on your lovely comments to the staff regarding the service level they were thrilled, thanks again. Regards Jane

Reading
Reviewed 1 July 2015

This appears to be part of a change, but you would never guess it by it's exterior appearance. It has the look of a country hotel/pub with dining, rather than a chain hotel. There was no room in the main restaurant when we arrived without a reservation, but the staff offered us an adjacent room which was perfectly suitable. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tud59
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for a posting a wonderfully positive review of your stay with us, it was so nice to read you enjoyed your break with us, we do offer value for money breaks, I will pass on your lovely comments onto my stay. Hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Jane

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 June 2015 via mobile

Arrived late on the Friday evening, having phoned ahead and pre warned the hotel. Waited 10mins before any staff available to check us in. Room was very good, clean, well presented, four poster bed, spacious, all the usuals but very thin towels. Our friends could not report the same - their room was the opposite. Walls very thin, you could...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank helen r
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review of your stay, apologies you had to wait short period of time to check-in at reception, glad you found your room to be clean you where booked into our premier room, your friends booked into a standard room, sorry you found the walls to be thin it is an older building dating back to...

Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 June 2015

Were delighted when we found out we were going to Braemar. We went in March and were delighted with our room, well decorated, clean. Food was good, hotel staff very friendly. Always enjoy going to Scotland. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 655pas
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to share your review; I am pleased to see you enjoyed your stay and found your room to be comfortable. I will pass your comments to all my staff; we look forward to welcoming you back to the Invercauld Arms Hotel Regards Jane

Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 June 2015

Very lucky to have one of the front rooms with a bay window. The food and waiting staff were excellent. Good choice of food and plenty of it. The entertainment at night was very good. The hotel is situated in a perfect spot in the village, only about an 8 minute walk or less if you walk faster, to the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank lavender20142014
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for leaving a lovely review, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and it was nice to read you will be back, thanks again. Kind regards Jane

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 June 2015

With the only other large hotel closed for renovation, The Invercauld provides one of the few bars in the town. Having completed a good hill walk, we thought that we deserved some refreshments, so we dropped in. The rarge of beers and lagers on offer was pathetic, and nothing worth dirtying a glass for. There has been a rise in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank George K
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review

I am disappointed to read that you found out prices expensive for food, we offer value for money. However I am confused regarding your comment about out range of Beers and Lagers as we offer Tetley smooth, Carlsberg, Carlsberg Export, and also we offer range of 5 real ales which are from local brewery and bottle beer we certainly feel...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 June 2015

just back from Braemar where we spent five lovely days with Shearings Travel, in a lovely peaceful area.The hotel was warm and welcoming, nice room overlooking the side garden was clean and had been recently updated with new shower and tv set and was quite any time of day also had,comfy beds. The dining room was very inviting with VERY...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jo w
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for a lovely review of your recent stay with us, I am glad to read the staff looked after you so well and that you found the food to be good, I have a good bunch of staff here who work so hard so everyone enjoys their holiday with us. Thanks again for a lovely review. Hope to...

Reviewed 20 June 2015

We have just returned from a 5 day Shearings Coach trip at the Invercauld Arms had a wonderful time no complaints whatsoever, from the friendly helpful staff the cleanliness of the hotel and the good choice of food - which was always piping hot. A beautiful setting. Would stay there again. Also good day trips with knowledgable tour guide Debbie.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ruth F
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for wonderfully positive review. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your lovely comments to Debbie who has a vast knowledge of the area, and the rest of my team. Hope to see you again soon Regards Jane

Reviewed 16 June 2015 via mobile

Just a bar meal on Tuesday evening, there being a distinct lack of competition in the vicinity. Fish and chips seemed like a safe bet. A greasy, small and skin-on haddock fillet in batter which managed to be oily and mushy at the same time, and so-so chips. Far below the standard of any self-respecting chippy. Beer and service pleasant,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank dovidola
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review

I’ve read through your review and am disappointed that you did not enjoy your evening meal with us. I have spoken with my team, and wish you had complained at the time to give us a chance to rectify this for you. Thanks again for the nice mention of the Bar Staff. Regards Jane

159 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (149)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braemar
0.7 km away
Moorfield House Hotel
Moorfield House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Braemar
257 reviews
16.3 km away
Dalmunzie Castle
Dalmunzie Castle
#1 of 1 in Spittal of Glenshee
349 reviews
38.8 km away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 km away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#3 of 4 in Ballater
555 reviews
31.5 km away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
341 reviews
39.2 km away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The impressive baronial style of The Invercauld Arms is set against the stunning backdrop of the Grampian Mountains. The Castle view Restaurant with its impressive windows and wood paneling adds to the character of the hotel and makes for an informal dining experience with us. The Rebel Lounge comes alive most evenings with our talented entertainers offering a relaxed style of entertainment for you to enjoy. In the winter months there is a traditional coal and log fire burning in the front lounge providing a warm welcome for weary travelers. The intimate atmosphere of our Slante Bar provides a very cosy and relaxed setting for unwinding at the end of the day. The Invercauld Arms is ideal for those looking to partake in outdoor activities, explore the Highlands or just relax and enjoy the unrivaled world famous Scottish hospitality. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Invercauld Arms Hotel

Address: Main Street, Braemar AB35 5YR, Scotland (Formerly Bay Invercauld Arms Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Braemar
Price Range: $85 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Invercauld Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Invercauld Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Invercauld Arms Hotel Braemar, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Invercauld Arms Hotel staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
tonbridge
over a year ago
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Bradford, United Kingdom
over a year ago
tonbridge
over a year ago

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from The Invercauld Arms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Mountain views rapt the front”
 of 5 bubbles mariaandwes, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“all rooms are quiet”
 of 5 bubbles brahamrussell, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“View towards Braemar Castle is nice.”
 of 5 bubbles jacl93, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms very widely in facilities and there's no lift.. But hotel management will do their best to make you comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles GeoffAdams, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had only an evening bar meal there but will go again.”
 of 5 bubbles 572robertg, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5