We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Royal an Lochan

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Royal an Lochan
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

443 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Royal an Lochan
See the most recent reviews
Showing 442: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2016

We booked for a 2 night stay and were delighted with the Hotel and the wonderful food. We were warmly greeted and both Keith & Christine made sure we had everything we required. They were interested in where we visited during our days. The food was superb and so well presented. It was hard to choose just what to have....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christine M
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this review

I am rather late in responding to your review, but once again the weather is lovely. I am sitting in my house at the back of the hotel catching up on 'paperwork' with the patio doors open and the sun streaming in, it is towards the end of March but blue skies and sunshine just make everything, even 'paperwork' more...

ayrshire
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

Lovely 2 night break to recharge batteries . Hotel lovely and clean very friendly atmosphere. Keith and Christine are lovely. Food fantastic lots fish as expected but the venison I had last night was exceptional. A lovely place, this is our third visit food hard to beat even breakfast was fab, hope to return soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank madmegAyrshire
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write a lovely review which has sadly taken me a few months to respond to, but I do appreciate you writing this lovely review for others to read. Thank you once more and we look foward to welcoming you back to our lovely hotel sometime in the near future, I hope. Christine

Troon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 October 2016

Took advantage of special offer in October to stay at the Royal and loved the relaxing decor and quiet but friendly atmosphere. Room was great with huge bed and amazing bathroom. View across the Sound to Bute was idyllic. The Hotel is mildly idiosyncratic but rather liked that too. Food was all of first class quality, thoughtful and well presented....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maggiec428
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this review

It still amazes me as to how many people come to our hotel just to relax and get away from it all. As we are only 2hrs away from central Glasgow, when you are here you are still not a million miles away from city life. Many of our returning guests arrive armed with books and some, a weeks worth...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 October 2016

My husband and I got married at The Royal 5 years ago and this was our 4th stay at the hotel now in total, of which 3 of our stays were with the current owners, Keith & Christine. I am sorry it has taken us 5 years to return but that is no reflection on the hotel, but due to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laineylop
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this review

Thank you for writing such a concise review and as we agreed on your departure hopefully it will not be so long before you return again. Thank you once again for the 5 Stars these are very much appreciated by us, the owners and the staff. Hope to see you next year? Christine

Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed at Royal an Lochan late September. Great location and we had a room with view over the loch. Room was fine but bathroom was small and the over bath shower very weak and hardly usable. However there was plenty of hot water for baths after long days walking sections of the Cowal Way Choice at breakfast for good with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bill F
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this review

Showers are the bane of my life and no doubt they are for many other hoteliers. When we first took over the hotel we had so many things we wanted to do, changing the showers in some of the rooms was on that wish list, but with an old building like ours it is not that straight forward and we...

Dalkeith
Reviewed 15 October 2016

The wonderful view from our room let us start the day feeling relaxed and grateful for the reminder that such lovely scenery is so accessible in Scotland. We were fortunate in having lovely weather during our short break and enjoyed it immensly. The hotel was a delight.Large comfortable room with 2 armchairs flanking the window overlooking the water. Very comfy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eiloon
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a straight forward honest review. We are located in a lovely scenic area in a country of outstanding beauty. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Thank you once again. Christine

Monster
Reviewed 29 September 2016

We went here for dinner in the pub and were pleasantly surprised by the quality and the friendly service by the owners Keith and Christine. A wonderful place, cosy, clean and pleasant! Service is great.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GeorginaW
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review and thank you for the 5 stars. We hope to see you again in the future. Christine

Scotland
Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

Repeat visit to this hotel & a disappointing one. Still a lovely location, but poor in other areas. I understand the hotel is up for sale and probably for the best as I think present owners have lost interest. Food & service indifferent verging on rude. Awkward asking for an extra coffee at breakfast and being 'ordered' into a back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lmac3
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write a review, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. However, I would just like to say that even though the hotel is up for sale we have not lost interest and still enjoy working hard to make each and every stay that bit special. Christine

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 September 2016

The views from the restaurant, breakfast room and sun room are stunning. We enjoyed the peace of no children or dogs and the lounge at night with the fire and candles is just so comfortable and relaxing - a lovely place to sit with a drink and chat to new friends. The menu will suit seafood lovers but it is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank G D
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review about your stay, such a shame we did not reach the 5* mark. I agree our menus do have more seafood on than most but we try to make the most of local produce and shellfish is in abundance here, however there were meat dishes on the menu, for example the other main courses...

Blackburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 September 2016

My wife and I would like to thank Christine and Keith for a fantastic 4 night stay. Nothing was too much trouble and the food in the restaurant was really very good.....I had scallops three nights out of the four. Our room which overlooked the loch had a great view of the Isle of Bute. The Royal an Lochan, Tighnabraich...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SASCOTT54
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this review

Thank you, thank you, thank you! I don't think I need to add anything to this lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you back. Christine

137 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (104)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tighnabruaich
0.9 km away
The Kames Hotel
The Kames Hotel
#2 of 3 in Tighnabruaich
255 reviews
11.0 km away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
11.3 km away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Colintraive Hotel
Colintraive Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colintraive
298 reviews
13.3 km away
West Loch Hotel
West Loch Hotel
#3 of 4 in Tarbert
242 reviews
32.2 km away
The Creggans Inn
The Creggans Inn
#1 of 1 in Strachur
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
As you arrive the magical waterside setting will take your breath away. If you enjoy supremely fresh seafood, comfortable rooms with stunning views, great individual hospitality and an area with fabulous seascapes with an island feel your stay at The Royal an Lochan will leave nothing to be desired. We are however only 90 mins from Glasgow and on a scenic peninsula. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Royal an Lochan

Address: Shore Road, Tighnabruaich PA21 2BE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Tighnabruaich
Price Range: $124 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal an Lochan 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Royal an Lochan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal An Lochan Hotel Tighnabruaich
An Lochan Tighnabruaich
An Lochan Hotel Tighnabruaich
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Royal an Lochan staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Glasgow, United Kingdom
10 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Royal an Lochan staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I had room 6. Sea view and although i was alone, its a huge double room., more than enough for any couple”
 of 5 bubbles , 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Worth paying for a sea view room (most rooms do in fact have a sea view).”
 of 5 bubbles veronica59, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“sea facing”
 of 5 bubbles darylmatthews, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 8 is massive with lovely seaviews”
 of 5 bubbles carolinepF1754NA, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Sea view rooms are fab for view.”
 of 5 bubbles Cumnockshadysadie, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5