We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Commodore Guest House

169 reviews
Save
Traveller (20)
Room & Suite (23)
Overview
  • Excellent81%
  • Very good13%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed
Wheelchair Access
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (169)Write a Review
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveller rating
132
22
6
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
132
22
6
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshappier circumstancesfull scottish breakfastferry terminalon arrivalplace to staytwin bedsstay overnightbiscuitshaggisat short noticehome from homefantastic stayb and broom was spotlesswonderful hostsfeel very welcomeshort break
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 166 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2017

My family had to stay overnight in Rothesay at the last minute due to an unexpected ferry cancellation and we ended up here at the Commodore. The staff were lovely, and the beds and pillows were SO COMFORTABLE. My god, the pillow was amazing.

Thank Chloe N
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Commodore Hotel last night due to ferries going down. We had went over to Rothesay for a day out with our dog and when we were told that due to weather there was to be no ferries sailing. We were recommended...More

Thank Sarah F
Reviewed 4 September 2017

Harry and Hazel are the most wonderful hosts. We visited Bute by aircraft and flew into the small grass landing strip at the south end of the island. Unfortunately, we picked up a puncture and had to find accommodation at very short notice. The Commodore...More

Thank DavidandShirley2015
Response from HAZELGRE, General Manager at Commodore Guest HouseResponded 10 September 2017

Thank You for your genuine review, it really was a pleasure to help you guys out, luckily the local garage was able to sort out your puncture, thank you once again for your review and hopefully we will see you next time you visit Bute...More

Reviewed 28 August 2017

what a wonderful stay with harry hazel and mark .first class all the way from the views across the bay to the super shower , we had a previous horrible experience in another hotel and when we enquired here about accomodation . the welcome from...More

Thank Tansy L
Response from HAZELGRE, General Manager at Commodore Guest HouseResponded 10 September 2017

Thank You for your very kind review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that Skye enjoyed the wee treats, I must also say Thank You for the lovely card you sent, and the Beautiful Basket Bouquet of Flowers it was very...More

Reviewed 30 July 2017

Uncomfortable, Unwelcoming & Intrusive, that about sums it up ... That's how I felt during my stay here. I won't go into too much detail, because you honestly would not believe it... Rothesay as a place to stay is a great wee venue with a...More

1  Thank TheHungryIntruder
Response from HAZELGRE, Owner at Commodore Guest HouseResponded 21 August 2017

Thank You for your review which we expected, you were welcomed very well, you were in fact impressed with the room allocated a twin sea-view room, said you were going out for the day to the local public houses, you and your partner were very...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345634
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Breakfast included
Free Parking
Hotel Amenities
Breakfast included
Free Parking
Details
Price range
US$97 - US$140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$97 - US$140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (20)
Room & Suite (23)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Paul N
7 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from HAZELGRE | Property representative |
yes we can accommodate you on the dates you require in October and we can accommodate a walker/chair
0
Votes
neiltorr
29 May 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from HAZELGRE | Property representative |
Thank you for your enquiry, £80.00 per night for a Double en-suite Garden view room or £90.00 per night for a Sea-View Double en-suite room including Breakfast.
0
Votes
izzyross1956
4 September 2015|
Answer
Response from Harry A |
I'm afraid I don't remember there being a bar area - if there was, we didn't use it, so I can' t help. Sorry.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"sea view rooms are wonderful"
Read review
"If available, book a room with a sea view"
Read review
"Sea View rooms"
Read review
"Sea-View rooms have a stunning view over the bay"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing