We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
2017-12-24 2017-12-25
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Commodore Guest House

    12 Battery Place, Rothesay, Scotland
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    2017-12-24 2017-12-25
    Are these your travel dates?
    TripAdvisor uses this information to find you the lowest prices for your stay.
    Traveller (20)
    Room & Suite (20)
    Hotel & Grounds (20)
    Overview
    • Excellent81%
    • Very good13%
    • Average3%
    • Poor1%
    • Terrible2%
    Travellers talk about
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Breakfast included
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Pets Allowed
    Wheelchair Access
    Pool
    Restaurant
    All hotel details
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
    Write a ReviewReviews (169)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    1 - 5 of 166 reviews

    Reviewed 27 September 2017

    My family had to stay overnight in Rothesay at the last minute due to an unexpected ferry cancellation and we ended up here at the Commodore. The staff were lovely, and the beds and pillows were SO COMFORTABLE. My god, the pillow was amazing.

    Thank Chloe N
    Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

    We stayed at the Commodore Hotel last night due to ferries going down. We had went over to Rothesay for a day out with our dog and when we were told that due to weather there was to be no ferries sailing. We were recommended...More

    Thank Sarah F
    Reviewed 4 September 2017

    Harry and Hazel are the most wonderful hosts. We visited Bute by aircraft and flew into the small grass landing strip at the south end of the island. Unfortunately, we picked up a puncture and had to find accommodation at very short notice. The Commodore...More

    Thank DavidandShirley2015
    Response from HAZELGRE, General Manager at Commodore Guest HouseResponded 10 September 2017

    Thank You for your genuine review, it really was a pleasure to help you guys out, luckily the local garage was able to sort out your puncture, thank you once again for your review and hopefully we will see you next time you visit Bute...More

    Reviewed 28 August 2017

    what a wonderful stay with harry hazel and mark .first class all the way from the views across the bay to the super shower , we had a previous horrible experience in another hotel and when we enquired here about accomodation . the welcome from...More

    Thank Tansy L
    Response from HAZELGRE, General Manager at Commodore Guest HouseResponded 10 September 2017

    Thank You for your very kind review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that Skye enjoyed the wee treats, I must also say Thank You for the lovely card you sent, and the Beautiful Basket Bouquet of Flowers it was very...More

    Reviewed 30 July 2017

    Uncomfortable, Unwelcoming & Intrusive, that about sums it up ... That's how I felt during my stay here. I won't go into too much detail, because you honestly would not believe it... Rothesay as a place to stay is a great wee venue with a...More

    1  Thank TheHungryIntruder
    Response from HAZELGRE, Owner at Commodore Guest HouseResponded 21 August 2017

    Thank You for your review which we expected, you were welcomed very well, you were in fact impressed with the room allocated a twin sea-view room, said you were going out for the day to the local public houses, you and your partner were very...More

    Anchor Hotel
    465 reviews
    #1 of 4 hotels in Tarbert
    23 km
     
    The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
    1,001 reviews
    #1 of 3 hotels in Rothesay
    0.4 km
     
    The Victoria Hotel
    263 reviews
    #2 of 3 hotels in Rothesay
    0.5 km
     
    Knockderry House Hotel
    589 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Cove
    22.5 km
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Breakfast included
    • Free Parking
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Breakfast included
    • Free Parking
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$77 - US$120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 8
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Commodore Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • United Kingdom >
    • Scotland >
    • Argyll and Bute >
    • Isle of Bute >
    • Rothesay
    • Also Known As
    • Commodore Guest House Rothesay, Scotland
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (20)
    Room & Suite (20)
    Hotel & Grounds (20)
    Bathroom (3)
    Nearby
    Sponsored by:
    Nearby HotelsSee all 5 hotels in Isle of Bute
    The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
    1,001 reviews
    .43 km away
     
    The Victoria Hotel
    263 reviews
    .55 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Harry Haw's
    558 reviews
    .47 km away
    Musicker Cafe
    141 reviews
    .46 km away
    Esplanade Hotel
    324 reviews
    .41 km away
    Victoria's Restaurant
    137 reviews
    .51 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Rothesay's Victorian Toilets
    384 reviews
    .38 km away
    Rothesay VisitScotland iCentre
    190 reviews
    .48 km away
    Rothesay Castle
    261 reviews
    .53 km away
    Bute Brew Co.
    105 reviews
    .77 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    Paul N
    7 June 2017|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from HAZELGRE | Property representative |
    yes we can accommodate you on the dates you require in October and we can accommodate a walker/chair
    0
    Votes
    neiltorr
    29 May 2016|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from HAZELGRE | Property representative |
    Thank you for your enquiry, £80.00 per night for a Double en-suite Garden view room or £90.00 per night for a Sea-View Double en-suite room including Breakfast.
    0
    Votes
    izzyross1956
    4 September 2015|
    Answer
    Response from Harry A |
    I'm afraid I don't remember there being a bar area - if there was, we didn't use it, so I can' t help. Sorry.
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "sea view rooms are wonderful"
    Read review
    "If available, book a room with a sea view"
    Read review
    "Sea View rooms"
    Read review
    "Sea-View rooms have a stunning view over the bay"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing