We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Glenburn Hotel Ltd

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

870 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 870: English reviews
Start your review of The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
 Click to rate
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We visited on a Shearings trip and stayed at this fantastic hotel. The hotel was being refurbished very tastefully and was full of character and history. The hotel was in an exceptional location with great views and only about 10 mins walk from the town centre. The staff, food and amenities were great. The trip was exceptional value for money...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
leeds
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

As this is not a Shearings Bay hotel, it has a new owner. The hotel is going through a refurbishment, so be patient. As this was a Shearings trip, I enjoyed it. The room was good, with a view. Dining facilities was good, staff friendly, but can seem frantic, as they deal with the meals. Bar staff friendly, as was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank remmingtonLeeds
Management response:

Many thanks for your lovely comments on your stay at the Glenburn. All is going well on the renovations at the hotel and the place is looking fantastic. Remember if staying again you can book direct with us at the hotel. Take care and hope to see you back with us some day. Kind Regards Debbie Deputy Manager

Motherwell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This was our First visit to Rothesay, Isle of Bute. We had taken the car over and we Noticed this Hotel from the Ferry and we knew this is where we wanted to Stay. We spoke to reception staff and they were very Helpful. We wanted a Sea View and we got Exactly that on the 3rd Floor and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sc0tsJandC
Management response:

Honestly what a wonderful review can't thank you enough for posting it on our site. Lovely to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us and we really are getting really great feed back on the refurbishment that has been so far. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Glenburn in the future and thank you once...

Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

As with many previous reviews, I have to report that the new owners are really going to town with the refurbishment of the Glenburn. The fitters appeared to be wrapping up the 2nd floor bedroom refurbs as we were leaving, Fri 17/03 so hopefully until the next phase gets underway the disruptions should be at a minimum. The Ground floor...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank allmychoicestaken
Management response:

What a great review a massive thank you from all the team at the Glenburn for sharing your experience on our site. Refurbishment is going really well on the 2nd floor so not long until we can start on the 1st floor. Exciting times ahead for the Glenburn so thank you again for putting your comments out there for other...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Glenburn Hotel On a Shearings trip again. This island is beautiful and very peaceful. The hotel is in my opinion excellent although it is no longer a Bay Hotel. It's being renovated big time by its new owners to a very high standard. The staff are helpful and efficient. Robert, one of the barmen is friendly and obviously knows Rothesay....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Johnmhouston
Management response:

Thank you for posting such a lovely review about your stay on Bute. We are getting great feed back on the renovations in the hotel and yes I would agree they are to a very high standard. I have already passed on to Robert your kind comments and he thanks you for that. We will let the boys in the...

Reviewed 1 week ago

A wonderful looking building which dates back to 1892 and over looks the wonderful Rothesay Bay, some rooms have recently been refurbished and in some areas still waiting to be finished. We had a wonderful seaview room which had been refurbished in some great detail but unfortunately the room wasn't checked by house keeping before we arrived as brown rusty...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sandra P
Management response:

Thank you for your review, can I start by apologising for any problems that you had with some of the staff. Its something we really don't get complaints about is the staff but I will certainly look in to the issues that you had during your stay with us. Hope you decide to come back in the future and sorry...

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

No longer a shearing hotel, the New owner's are refurbishing to a high standard, excellent location, staff friendly, lovely food. Stayed in room 126 with great views out to sea and mountains. Would recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank carolann2514
Management response:

Many thanks for your wonderful review on your stay at the Glenburn Hotel. Views more often than not get mentioned and rightly so. Please do recommend us and look forward to welcoming you back at the Glenburn in the near future. Kind regards Debbie Deputy Manager

bridgenorth
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have been back from this loveley hotel a week and just want to say a great time was had by all 4 of us have been to this hotel many times and never had a complaint the staff the food entertainment excellent and the icing on the cake was our room 3rd floor refurbished no expense has been spared...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank highley
Management response:

Thank you for such a wonderful review and yes you are correct his name is Denis. Refurbishment is going great and making a huge difference to the hotel. And yes we look forward to your next visit and hopefully some time soon. Thanks again for your review and I will be sure to pass on to Denis your kind comments....

Bridlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is well worth a visit. The hotel is being restored to a high standard with excellent lounges and bars, entertainment room and spacious bedrooms. The food was well presented with attentive service. It is only a few minutes walk from the centre of Rothesay. There is a good bus service if you want to walk some, bus some. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 164Dorothy
Management response:

What a fantastic review and lovely to see how much you enjoyed your break with us. We do appreciate you sharing your kind comments on our site and hope we will see you back at the Glenburn in the future. Thank you again take care for now. Kind Regards Debbie Deputy Manager

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I absolutely love this hotel never had a bad stay in it to date. Me and my fiancé go here every year, the staff are amazing and the food is great. We love the amazing view that you get from the amazing location of the hotel. We can't wait to go back :)

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank WeeTricia91
Management response:

Well we love your amazing review big thank you from all the team at the Glenburn. The views from the hotel are beautiful and in the summer months even better. Hope you plan another visit to the Isle of Bute and the Glenburn in the near future and thanks again for your posting. Kind Regards Debbie Deputy Manager

366 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (356)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (88)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (61)
Viewed
View from Room (44)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (116)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothesay
1.0 km away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rothesay
229 reviews
1.7 km away
Chandlers Hotel
Chandlers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ascog
291 reviews
30.5 km away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
2,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 km away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
1,409 reviews
0.4 km away
St. Ebba B & B
St. Ebba B & B
#3 of 19 in Rothesay
87 reviews
0.4 km away
Boat House
Boat House
#2 of 19 in Rothesay
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Exuding an air of grandeur and charm, this impressive Victorian sandstone Hotel was built in 1892. Set in an outstanding position above its own terraced gardens, the Glenburn enjoys a superb panorama across the waters of Rothesay Bay to the Cowal Peninsula. Step inside the hotel and you'll be greeted by spacious well-proportioned rooms which offer a level of comfort which should immediately put you at ease. With a wealth of outdoor pursuits on the isle, from fishing to bowling and from golf to walking, it's up to you how you choose to relax at the Glenburn... socialise in the bar, escape to the quiet lounge, indulge in a game of snooker or just enjoy the evening entertainment. The town's shops, harbour, medieval castle ruins and sporting facilities are just a pleasant walk away along the palm fringed promenade. The hotel contains some guest parking which is located at the front and side of the building. The Hotel is about to embark on a major renovation on bedrooms and ground floor lounges due for completion by February 2017. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Glenburn Hotel Ltd

Address: Mount Stuart Road, Rothesay PA20 9JP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Bute > Rothesay
Price Range: $115 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glenburn Hotel Ltd 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Glenburn Hotel Ltd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenburn Hotel Rothesay
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd Rothesay, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Glenburn Hotel Ltd staff and other travellers.
27 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (27)

Questions? Get answers from The Glenburn Hotel Ltd staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for an upgrade to a sea view, and any issues with your room see reception on day of arrival, not when your going home.”
 of 5 bubbles remmingtonLeeds, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We were on 3rd floor rooms refurbished to a high standard very nice”
 of 5 bubbles highley, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“go for the views”
 of 5 bubbles WeeTricia91, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Worth paying for a sea view which is stunning - see photo”
 of 5 bubbles MarianVaughn, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“sea view, we had a generator outside our window!”
 of 5 bubbles myramoo2, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5