We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Bay Tarbet Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Bay Tarbet Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

720 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Bay Tarbet Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 712: English reviews
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 June 2014

As a 300 hundred year old hunting lodge, I expected a few creaks, but not every single step getting to the bedrooms! We stayed here for 5 nights as part of a coach tour. Our room was at the back of the building (144) in the 'newer' part of the hotel, with very poor outlook. In the dining room, the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank aldo17
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, I am disappointed to read your opinion of the rooms, we would never intentionally give customer the worst rooms in an attempt to profit from this. The two rooms allocated to yourselves are standard twin rooms (as you had booked) and are certainly not bad rooms at all. You would not/do not pay £37.50 per night extra for...

Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 May 2014

stayed at the tarbet hotel in May. Food, entertainment and staff all brilliant as all 8 shearings breaks we have been on.Hotel itself was a little remote but the trips out more than made up for it.The hotel bar area and lounges had all been updated although the bedrooms were in need of an update.As always fantastic value for money...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank brian w
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your kind review, I will pass on your lovely comments to the all the staff who I am sure will be delighted to hear that they have made such a favourable impression. We hope to welcome you back in the near future and hope you enjoy all your breaks with Shearings

Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stopped for a late lunch at this hotel which looked nice, clean and recently renovated. We both opted for the soup and sandwich combo. How can something so simple be so bad? The soup was supposed to be mushroom. However, I suspect it may have been a powdered mix as the taste was far from mushroom flavour. The texture was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sue B
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am happy to read that you like the decor and condition of the hotel, we do put a lot of time and effort in to keeping it as clean and well maintained as possible. I am very disappointed to read that you had a less than enjoyable...

Worksop, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed at the Tarbet Hotel from 5th to 9th May on a Shearings holiday.We really enjoyed our stay in this lovely old hotel. It is in need of some updating but is spotlessly clean and offered a good variety of food both for breakfast and the evening meal. The room was really large and we had a great view...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SandraCarl
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to post your review I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the deal such good value for money, we also agree that the deals that are on at the moment represent fantastic value for money!!! I will pass on your lovely comments to all the...

Sheringham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Really one disaster after another. Great room with view of the loch which we paid extra £42 for. The windows were steamed up all the time. Spent ages using towels to clean them and see out. Have diet problems and no help given at all - unlike Bay hotel at Strathpeffer who couldn't have been more help. Told no fruit...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Coffdrop60
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Having read your comments regarding your stay, I would like to take the opportunity to clarify the following points: Unfortunately the extraction fan in your bathroom was not switched on (the switch is next to the light switch) and as such the room was bound to fill with some degree of condensation or steam as a result. Had...

birmingham
Reviewed 11 May 2014

As I have been on numerous shearings holidays before basically I knew what to expect. The location of the hotel cannot be faulted, literally on the shores of loch, as I had not been to Scotland before I was unsure, quite what to expect. Check in at the hotel was quick and painless, we were allocated a room on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kateshill
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I will pass on all of your comments to the staff involved, they will be very happy to hear the feedback. I also thank you for your kind comments regarding our excellent drivers who try to ensure that you are enlightened and informed of the lovely scenery we...

Singapore
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We ended our tour of the Isle of the Skye and was driving back to London when we stopped over at Bay Tarbet Hotel for the night. We arrived late and the hotel restaurant was closing, and the staff were kind enough to serve us dinner. Food was healthy as there was little oil and salt in it. As we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jedai79
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your brief stay with us, we hope that you will visit Scotland and us again sometime, Maybe even stay longer!! All the best!!

Harrogate
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Stayed here over night while having to break up a long journey for work. First impressions of the hotel were amazing, from public areas to bedrooms to views that looked that there were from Austria. Staff were friendly, polite and most helpful. I met the manager while I was there and he pointed me and my colleagues to the local...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Luke B
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your review, glad to hear you enjoyed yourself. I will pass on your comments to all concerned. Would we let you back??? Of course we would, hope you will darken our door again in the near future even if it is just to see the local attractions!!! Take care and all the best!!

Lancashire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I stayed here with a Shearing's tour and thoroughly enjoyed it, the food was good and varied, the weather was excellent that particular wheel, I was very lucky, the staff were excellent, the tour was everything I expected and more. The Hotel being right opposite Loch Lomond was absolutely wonderful, I just walked across the road and there I was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 983joans
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent visit to the Tarbet Hotel. I’m glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found both the location and the hotel to be to your enjoyment. I will pass on your lovely comments to all the staff, who I am sure will...

Poissy, France
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Three weeks ago, the Bay Tarbet Hotel kept a party of 5O odd French students well out of the rain when it was pouring outside.We'd gone in, on the off chance, to enquire about an outdoor shelter for our group .It was such a lovely surprise when Dominic made the hotel lounge immediately available to us all, even going to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank isabelle f
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your review It’s great to read that Dominic took the time to look after you all and make sure you were happy, I will pass on my congratulations to him for making such a good impression and taking the opportunity to keep you all dry!! If you are ever in the area again please feel...

213 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (199)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (43)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Other (76)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbet
2.2 km away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
999 reviews
2.0 km away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#2 of 6 in Arrochar
332 reviews
22.1 km away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 km away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
23.3 km away
Knockderry House Hotel
14.3 km away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated within one of Scotland’s largest national parks, the Tarbet has had a rich history as a resting place for travellers for over 400 years. The present building dates back 250 years and was built in the Baronial style. The exterior has recently been redecorated and the hotel presents an impressive first impression even today. There are a total of 69 rooms arranged over two floors, some of which offer spectacular views. The surrounding scenery is second to none, as the hotel looks out over Loch Lomond and Ben Lomond from its location on the banks of the Loch itself. Admire the beautifully decorated restaurant where some tables overlook the loch and take advantage of the spacious entertainment lounge with bar. The Tarbet also has the benefit of a comfortable residents’ lounge with board games and books to help you relax and unwind. The perfect end to a great day’s sightseeing. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Tarbet Hotel

Address: Main Street, Tarbet, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7DE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Tarbet
Price Range: $72 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Tarbet Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Tarbet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarbet Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bay Tarbet Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Bay Tarbet Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“First floor rooms get all the noise from the entertainment downstairs. Avoid if you want a good night's sleep!”
 of 5 bubbles Elbmow, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the front offer good views of Loch Lomond.”
 of 5 bubbles 367jimr, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“side rooms have loch view, 128 is on 1st floor, handy if you are disabled”
 of 5 bubbles marnie50, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the back quieter”
 of 5 bubbles Audrey_Bailey, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't bother”
 of 5 bubbles keno821, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay