We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Dryburgh Abbey Hotel

Expedia.comUS$163*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

901 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 878: English reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2016 via mobile

I will start with the good points as you arrive at the hotel it's very beautiful with amazing views which carrys on to the check on area but that's about it we arrived at our room and it was really tired looking, grout missing out of the tiles in bathroom , the pillows were pathetic and I woke up with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Irishsky14
Ken B, General Manager at Dryburgh Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Irishsky14, Thank you for your comments and note everything you mention. We are embarking on a planned programme of maintenance and refurbishment which take in all items that you highlight and also will be looking at housekeeping items and the swimming pool. I am disappointed to learn that you did not enjoy our food and sincerely apologise that the...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 April 2016

Stayed here for our anniversary break on a great deal from Groupon I is old fashioned, but that's what we like and it has a lovely ambience. the staff are all excellent and very helpful with any questions. Food was good and room service breakfast was excellent. will be back!!!!!!!!!!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 192nectar
Ken B, General Manager at Dryburgh Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 192nectar, Thank you for your comments and delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Dryburgh abbey hotel in the future. Best wishes, Ken Buchanan

Reviewed 18 April 2016 via mobile

Went with our local jaguar club for a long weekend ,lovely setting ,the food was delicious . The hotel it self was good but a little tired in places ,would certainly go again . The staff were very friendly and helpful . Excellent weekend . Visited the ruined abbey next to the hotel ,very interesting place .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sidle36
Ken B, General Manager at Dryburgh Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sidle36, Thank you for your comments and delighted you had an enjoyable stay with us and you were all a lovely group to look after and I noticed you some fantastic vehicles parked outside the hotel! We hope you do return to Dryburgh Abbey Hotel again and would be delighted to welcome you all back. Best wishes, Ken Buchanan

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 April 2016

I can see where people are coming from when they say the hotel needs updating, but wouldn't that take away a lot of its charm? Lovely hotel and friendly staff. I agree about food and bar prices being quite high though. The shower in our room was useless..no power about it at all but apart from that I have no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LandN89
Ken B, General Manager at Dryburgh Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LandN89, Thank you for your comments which I will take on board. Our planned maintenance and development programme is underway in order to address the issues you raise and please be assured this will undertaken sympathetic to the character of the building. I hope you will return to Dryburgh Abbey Hotel again in the future and if so you...

UK
Reviewed 17 April 2016 via mobile

Staff were very good. Shame the fabric of the building doesn't live up to the prices. Paint flaking off ceilings, no grout between tiles in the bath room. Stains on towels and baby cot. Dirty bathroom. Sauna not working due to electric problem. The pool area in general very tatty. Plenty of warning signs though, lots and lots of warning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jonathane1976a
Ken B, General Manager at Dryburgh Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jonathane1976a Thank you for your comments and I will share these with the team and sincerely apologise that our housekeeping standards were not to our usual high standard. I note all your points suffice to say that we are in the process of undertaking a planned mainatence and development programme which will address all the issues that you have...

Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 April 2016

The Dryburgh Abbey Country House Hotel is a very special 4 Star Country House Hotel in the heart of the Scottish Borders. It is quite unique. Situated in a pleasant wooded private estate on the banks of the River Tweed it overlooks the ruins of Dryburgh Abbey built in 1150 by the Premonstratensian canons. We had a tower room overlooking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WanderingPriest
Ken B, General Manager at Dryburgh Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear WanderingPriest, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at Dryburgh abbey Hotel. I take your comments on board about the orange juice and look into this matter with the Head Chef. We do hope you will return to Dryburgh Abbey Hotel in the future. Best wishes, Ken Buchanan

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 April 2016 via mobile

Great location next to the abbey and the Tweed. Pleasant room, well furnished and good facilities. Excellent food, lots of choice for someone who can't eat gluten and good value. The hotel has very helpful and welcoming staff who go out of their way to make their guests feel comfortable. Definitely somewhere we will visit again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hobbit64
Ken B, General Manager at Dryburgh Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hobbit64, Thank you for your comments and delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us at Dryburgh Abbey Hotel. We are continually striving to improve on all aspects of our guest experience and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Best wishes, Ken Buchanan

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 April 2016

There is no denying that Dryburgh Abbey Hotel looks grand in its beautiful setting. This sense of luxury follows you into the lobby where staff were friendly, quick check in, and obviously newly updated decor. There are plenty of cosy lounges and really on paper there are all the amenities you could desire, in a lovely location. The food was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter W
Ken B, Owner at Dryburgh Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Peter W, Many thanks for your feedback. I note all your comments and I can assure you I have them in hand in relation to upgrading our bedrooms and swimming pool area and housekeeping consistency. I completely understand that Dryburgh has so much potential and we are continually looking to develop these areas through our maintenance and development programme...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 April 2016 via mobile

Visited solo for business - very affordable rate and perfect location. I've not made it to the pool unfortunately as this closes at eight which is too early for those travelling and it doesn't open until eight which again is too late for those travelling. Rooms are pretty dated but they are clean and warm. Team seem a little dippy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kitka-101
Ken B, General Manager at Dryburgh Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kitka-101, Thank you for your comments which I will share with my team. I take all your comments on board and can assure that we are addressing the issues you raise through our development and maintenance programme. Hopefully when you return you will see the changes being made. Best wishes, Ken Buchanan

Dalkeith, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 April 2016

We have been here several times over the years and this visit was a Christmas gift worth £185 for dinner, bed and breakfast. A suite had been booked for the night and our expectations were high. However, the suite was a bit tired and outdated and the paint work very chipped in places. The skirting boards were coated with large...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RaeMcGhee
Ken B, General Manager at Dryburgh Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear RaeMcGhee, Thank you for your comments which I will raise with the Dryburgh team. I am disappointed to learn that your recent visit to us did not meet your expectations. We are in a period of developing and our bedrooms through a program of maintenance and take on board all the comments made. Quite clearly our check out procedure...

306 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (256)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (51)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (134)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Boswells
1.1 km away
Buccleuch Arms Scottish Borders
37.8 km away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
730 reviews
11.6 km away
Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.6 km away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
34.9 km away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
4.9 km away
The Townhouse Hotel
The Townhouse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Melrose
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Dryburgh Abbey Hotel sits on the banks of the River Tweed in the breathtaking Borders countryside. Next to the historic ruins of Dryburgh Abbey, Sir Walter Scott's last resting place, it offers a fabulous location for fishing, cycling, walking, or simply enjoying a relaxing leisure break. Quality local produce is served in the tranquil setting of the Tweed resataurant by friendly and attentive staff. The proximity of the hotel to the Abbey also makes it an ideal venue for that special wedding day. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dryburgh Abbey Hotel

Address: St. Boswells, St Boswells TD6 0RQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > St Boswells
Price Range: $132 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dryburgh Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Dryburgh Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dryburgh Abbey Melrose
Hotel Dryburgh Abbey
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel St Boswells, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dryburgh Abbey Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Dryburgh Abbey Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lift available..we were on second floor, plenty of lounges to relax with newspapers etc.”
Arranbees, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Overlooks river Tweed. Has lift. Breakfast/Dinner on 1st floor. Bar/Bistro on ground floor. Can hire rooms for family parties teas/meals.”
I1534TUmichaelp, 13 May 2017 | Read review
“Friendly and good value.The ruined abbey worth a visit.”
StephenF130, 8 May 2017 | Read review
“208 was wonderfull!”
janed552, 2 May 2017 | Read review
“If you can afford it try booking the Lady Mertoun Suite for a really nice treat.”
V7813FZthomass, 2 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$163* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$168
TravelocityUS$162
Hotels.comUS$163
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates