We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Portpatrick Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Portpatrick Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

488 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Portpatrick Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 487: English reviews
Glasgow
Reviewed 18 June 2015

Booked two nights B&B and paid for an upgraded room. We stayed one night and left the next day - had enough......... The room was a turret room which was very quirky and quite nice. No heating and we switched on the electric heaters in both locations - connecting door to the turret room. There was a flat screen TV...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank AGR77
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. The heating you switched on, is the room heating. All rooms have convection heaters. The décor is not to everyone’s liking although it does get its fair share of compliments. It sounds as though you had an unfortunate dining experience whilst here and I do apologise for that. Thankfully however, this is not the normal experience...

Newcastleton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 June 2015

Just had a lovely restful weekend, We had a warm welcome from the staff our room was clean and comfortable. The dining room light and airy with good food served by helpful friendly waiters and waitresses. No cooking smells . To top it off the sun shone all weekend . A wee bit disappointed that there is no entertainment in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaret C
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing. It was nice to finally have some sunshine this year. I’m glad you enjoyed your weekend break here at Portpatrick. We found that little or no-one watched the entertainment in the summer months. They were more interested in going out while the bright nights are here.

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 June 2015

What a wonderful location on the top of a cliff overlooking the village itself and the sea. The hotel itself however is very regimented probably as a result of a lot of owners Shearings bus parties . Our room was good enough if a bit dated but everything worked. The dining room was a bit impersonal and the food to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tony D
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. I will pass your kind comments onto Melvin.

Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 June 2015 via mobile

Having just returned from the Portpatrick Hotel I had to write a review. We arrived on Monday June 8 on a Shearings trip, and despite being sat on coaches for nearly 8 hours the staff were first rate. Check-in was a breeze and we were given directions to our rooms. There is an elevator but if you are on the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank HalifaxLad
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and your trips out on the coach. As you say, we are very fortunate to be in such a lovely location.

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 12 June 2015

Not as good as it should be - must do better! We stayed at the Portpatrick Hotel for one night. We evidently got the last available room. When we found that the main light fizzed and seemed to be on the point of burning we were told (by going to reception - the room phone didn't work) that there were...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Peter S
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for writing. The wifi is in the public areas. This is where it works best. some rooms pick it up, but not very well. I’m not sure how you had trouble finding the hotel as it’s the largest thing in a small village and stands out from wherever you are in the village.

Rochester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 June 2015

We stayed, at the Hotel for a few days, the room was furnished well, but the room itself was a little tired, and needed decorating etc. But we had a very large window, facing the sea, and very good views of Portpatrick itself. The Hotel is well situated on the top of the cliffs facing the Town. The restaurant was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul B
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. As mentioned before, the continued redecoration of both rooms and externally are planned to start this month. This is an ongoing process that takes time to complete as we do not close for this to happen.

Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 June 2015

Booked a coach trip with Shearings, stayed in single room 216, at back of hotel overlooking the harbour. i paid £20 single room supplement & £28 for sea view. The bedroom had a leaky window. The bathroom only had a bath, with a rubber shower attachment on the back of the door, another guest told me that they do not...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Linda Susan B
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write. Room 216 has an internal bathroom which means no window. It also means you have to switch the light on each time you are about to enter it.

Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 June 2015

Took my 87. year old mother on a Shearings trip here.Have read other reviews and the negative ones have elements of truth but our stay was excellent. Clean tidy rooms overlooking the golf course were in need of some TLC but were adequate for single use.Food was excellent.Adifferent menu every night and excellent variety for breakfast. Service could not be...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank joy w
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. We are working to have the external area and all rooms finished by early next year. Thanks also for the recommendation.

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 June 2015

The hotel is in a fabulous position on the hill top, with 86 steps down to the harbour! But sadly in need of updating. We paid extra for a superior room, with a sea view. What we got was a large corner room with a king size bed (there was enough space for it to take a super king size)...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SHB61
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind comments on the staff. I am sorry you were disappointed and I will look into the the issues you had in the room. The height of the windows is something we can do nothing about. I personally would reinstate the window and put a separate wardrobe within the room. All rooms are unfortunately electrically heated on...

Annan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 June 2015

Magnificent setting looking over Portpatrck village and harbour -horrendous weather conditions made the position even more spectacular. Hotel , however, did not live up to our expectations -it would seem that Shearings had spent their budget on new carpets in the hallways and stairs without paying attention to the state of the bedroom windows which were a disgrace (certainly room...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank stronbae
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review

You were correct to say that the weather was horrendous. Monday and Tuesday weather was some the worst we have seen in a long time. The 110 year old windows do handle this type of storm very well. They do need changed and being listed it is not only a more complicated exercise, but a much more expensive one as...

243 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (234)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (72)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (80)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portpatrick
0.2 km away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portpatrick
306 reviews
3.2 km away
Knockinaam Lodge
Knockinaam Lodge
#2 of 5 in Portpatrick
262 reviews
18.4 km away
Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Downshire Hotel
The Downshire Hotel
#5 of 5 in Portpatrick
103 reviews
9.4 km away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#3 of 3 in Stranraer
337 reviews
28.1 km away
Glenapp Castle
Glenapp Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballantrae
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Portpatrick is a small fishing village set in a peaceful and unspoilt corner of Southern Scotland. The Portpatrick Hotel is the perfect base from which to explore this delightful area. The Portpatrick Hotel is a spectacular property standing on Galloway’s clifftops in nine acres of grounds, overlooking the village and its secluded harbour. The area is a haven for lovers of sports and the outdoors, with its own tennis court and 9-hole golf course. You’ll also find a variety of wonderful opportunities for birdwatching and fishing. From the hotel you can enjoy day trips to nearby Stranraer, magnificent historical sites and gardens, or even a trip by ferry to Northern Ireland. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Portpatrick Hotel

Address: Heugh Road, Portpatrick DG9 8TQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Portpatrick
Price Range: $145 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Portpatrick Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Portpatrick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Portpatrick Hotel Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Portpatrick Hotel staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Lichfield, United Kingdom
9 months ago
Ayr, United Kingdom
8 months ago
Coleraine, United Kingdom

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from The Portpatrick Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 2 sea views, but be aware has flight of stairs down to room”
 of 5 bubbles 400Jan50, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Sea view room is a must .”
 of 5 bubbles michael2311, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Pay extra for a sea view,”
 of 5 bubbles Jean Innes, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“sea view room is a must!!”
 of 5 bubbles SarahP27, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Sea view room definitely worth the extra.”
 of 5 bubbles O9192OWdavidn, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5