We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

North West Castle Hotel

TripAdvisorUS$102*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$108*
US$102*
US$108*
US$101*
US$108*
US$102*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
North West Castle Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

353 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for North West Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 344: English reviews
Livingston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 February 2017

Stayed at the North West Castle Hotel for 2 nights on a dinner, bed and breakfast rate. Could not fault the service...rooms were spotless....customer service was faultless and the meals were delicious.....great value for money, would recommend anyone looking for a hotel in Stranraer to book into the North West Castle Hotel

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison W
Coopers Beach, New Zealand
Reviewed 23 January 2017

Stopped overnight on the way to N. Ireland. Great facilities including a games room and an indoor curling rink. Arrived early but the room was available. The staff, food and services all were excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AndrewUK2013
Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

I fell that you should all know about this wonderful place to stay, especially if you are getting the ferry and more so if you have kids. We highly recommend this hotel and here's is why: Parked outside front door Greeted by the charming Mr Mc Millian himself. Reception staff helpful and fast tracked for 11am after our 7 HR...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Newlord
South West Scotland
Reviewed 17 December 2016

Having paid £30 for a party night, I was very disappointed to say the least with the hotel boasting 4 stars. The buffet food left a lot to be desired tough meat, cold veg and very uninspiring deserts that appeared to have been frozen and we're quite soggy. The new decor and furnishings are very nice but the damp smell...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Solusmor
Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

Not a good hotel very dirty my room had a very bad smell won't be back . Everything about the hotel needs up dating . Evening meals not to bad but that's the only positive about this hotel. Also wifi did not work .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen G
TheMcMillanFamily, Owner at North West Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Mr Greenwood We are sorry to hear that you have a bad impression of the hotel, but we are puzzled by some of your comments. We have placed a note in your room requesting that you make contact with Management to discuss them. We will be very happy to do what we can to make the rest of your...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 December 2016

This hotel looked promising in the pics online etc. But its basically a 1970's hotel with a lot to be done to bring it up even to 3*. We didn't get much information on checking in. Not even on how to access pool or how breakfast would be served. Quite shocking. Just given our key and told to go in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hazelmct
TheMcMillanFamily, Owner at North West Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Hazelmct We are sorry you were disappointed by your recent stay. We are aware that some public areas and guest rooms at the hotel are rather old fashioned and we have a programme in place to bring them up to date. Our newly refurbished function suite is an example of many such projects in the pipeline. We are also...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 December 2016

We've gone once or twice a year for an evening meal, but this time we opted for DB&B. The room and breakfast were very good but the dinner was lamentable. At one time, there was an a la carte and a table d'hote and a large eclectic wine list; not now, just the TD and a much reduced, erratically presented...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lindum20C
TheMcMillanFamily, Owner at North West Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lindum20c Thank you for the kind comments about our friendly and enthusiastic young staff. We were sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy your most recent dinner at North West Castle, having enjoyed previous ones so much. Our two menus are both very much in operation. The DBB package you bought on this occasion included dinner from the table d’hote...

Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile

This a comfortable and pleasant hotel although a bit dated. The rooms are a good size and have good facilities, however the trouser press in my room didn't work. The staff were very friendly and very helpful. The pool area is nice but again the changing area could do with updating. I will be going back and I will be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EldoH
Ayr, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 November 2016

had to leave as member of family was sick, so unable to take breakfast and meal Staff were very good and I had no charge only lost my deposit. Will definitely use this hotel again as this shows excellent customer care. Had similar problem at Marine hotel Troon and they charged full amount because that is the rule. Well dine...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hugh K
Stranraer, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 November 2016 via mobile

Lovely room nice big bathroom and balcony with lounge area. Got a great sleep in the comfy bed. When we didnt appear for breakfast in the morning they called the room and sent it up. Great service thoroughly enjoyed our stay although it was short.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 420clw

69 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (62)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stranraer
14.5 km away
Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel
9.2 km away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portpatrick
316 reviews
0.2 km away
Craignelder Hotel
Craignelder Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stranraer
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 km away
The Portpatrick Hotel
The Portpatrick Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portpatrick
502 reviews
9.7 km away
Knockinaam Lodge
Knockinaam Lodge
#2 of 5 in Portpatrick
268 reviews
9.3 km away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#4 of 5 in Portpatrick
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Traditional town centre hotel ... more   less 

Additional Information about North West Castle Hotel

Address: Portrodie, Stranraer DG9 8EH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Stranraer
Price Range: $103 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — North West Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Booking.com, HRS, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your North West Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North West Castle Hotel Stranraer, Scotland, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from North West Castle Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from North West Castle Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Loch view room was lovely we had room 55”
kyrin94, 24 May 2017 | Read review
“The rooms at the back of the hotel are probably quietest.”
j0hnsellers, 19 May 2017 | Read review
“Stay clear of this castle it's a joke”
james19832017, 11 May 2017 | Read review
“Number 58.”
hardy002, 1 May 2017 | Read review
“Front of hotel with view of the harbour”
magsdan29, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$102* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$101
Booking.comUS$102
HRS.comUS$108
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates