We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,110 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,071: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Angela from the front desk was very nice and informative. The shuttle to Beale street was great also. Definitely would stay again and definitely ask for Angela!? My wife is very picky with 3 star and below hotels and was extremely pleased with this one.

Helpful?
Thank Roland S
ManagerX1, Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review

We appreciate your fantastic remarks about your recent visit to Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown. We are delighted to read you loved our shuttle service and the excellent hospitality you received from Angela. I thank you for acknowledging her efforts. We are thrilled that you and your wife were pleased with our service and can’t wait to welcome you all again... More 

Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel has bed bugs! Had bites all over my husband's legs. Manager reimbursed us for our stay and wasn't rude. Please check your beds if you decide to stay here. I wouldn't recommend it though. It didn't look or smell bad but didn't smell clean either. They said it's just been renovated but it didn't look it.

Helpful?
Thank dsuttle
ManagerX1, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at our hotel and for the feedback. I am so very sorry for the unwelcome visitors in your guest room. I appreciate that you let us know immediately so we could take action to prevent this from occurring to future guests. This was not the experience we hoped for you. We hope our amenities, friendly staff,... More 

Travellers are raving about these Memphis hotels

York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was typical of the Crowne Plaza chain with reasonable rooms and very comfy beds. There's a small gym, pool, free wi-fi and on-site laundry so it's adequate and in a reasonable position for Memphis central attractions.

Helpful?
Thank HfamilyYork
ManagerX1, Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for being so specific in your evaluation of our hotel. We are happy to note that your overall stay was pleasant, and you enjoyed the great value we offer and got a good night’s sleep while here. On behalf of everyone at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, we invite you to stay with us again when in our area.... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I liked the look from the outside. The entrance is nice. The staff is friendly. The breakfast was added when I booked and was good. The common areas looked nice. I was on the 7th floor with a window view of the Bass Pro shop. The roomed looked as if it needed to be cleaned. There was nothing that stood... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jack L
ManagerX1, Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review

We appreciate your valuable feedback. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your overall time, and liked our friendly associates and the breakfast we serve. We hope you will come back so we can provide you with the letter-perfect stay you deserve. Thanks again for being our guest. It was our pleasure accommodating you! Sincerely, Mark Baker General Manager More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here one night due to business meeting. Hotel was clean and "mostly" updated. Some things have been overlooked in the reno such as old ceiling tiles, rusty shower shelving and old fixtures. Front desk was nice and acknowledged reward members. Restaurant is awful and super small. Hamburgers were frozen patties. Coke was flat. Breakfast buffett had cold items and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Honest1always
ManagerX1, Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post a review. We are glad that you liked our well-kept property and our front desk service. However, we are sorry that you were unhappy with our breakfast offerings and for your disappointment with our on-site restaurant. We appreciate your feedback as it lets us know where we need... More 

Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Was at the hotel last week as a guest- Great staff. From Front desk to the shuttle driver everyone asked how I was doing and always smiled. Was invited for dinner during the grand reopening without prior knowledge. Thank you. Was pleasantly surprised with quality of food. Pasta was great !

Helpful?
Thank Casey786786
ManagerX1, Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown and for taking the time to write about your positive experience. We take great pride in training our associates to handle your every need, and reading compliments like yours is the greatest reward we can receive. We hope to welcome you back very soon for another outstanding stay! Sincerely,... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good location near main sights tram stop outside very smart inside we were on third floor noisy room freeway outside lots of traffic don't think the Windows are double glazed very nice room large beds breakfast is expensive not many choices outside hotel have to walk to find eating places would not advise after dark river lies nearby don't ask... More 

Helpful?
Thank ChristineLangton
ManagerX1, Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review

Thanks for being our guest. We are happy that you liked our convenient location and your comfortable room. However, we are sorry for the noise issue you had and that you were unhappy with our breakfast charges. We appreciate your feedback as it lets us know where we need to focus our attention to better serve our guests. It was... More 

Leicestershire
Level Contributor
138 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room we were initially allocated overlooked the very busy road outside (I believe an Interstate). The traffic noise was too loud for me, so as we were staying two nights I asked Reception if we could be moved and they accommodated us in a room right opposite (which overlooked the pool). No road noise on this side and we... More 

Helpful?
Thank CCFCfan
ManagerX1, Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown and for posting your great remarks. We have a wonderful team whose main goal is to please our guests, but your compliments for our shuttle service made my day! It’s our pleasure knowing you had a comfortable visit and loved our complimentary breakfast. Thanks for being our guest, and we hope... More 

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
118 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is my first stay here and if you don't want to read further, I will stay here again . The check in process was a bit slow but Angela the associate at the desk made is as smooth as she possibly could and was very accommodating to our group. The rooms are tastefully done, the linens are fresh and... More 

Helpful?
Thank mfheinonen
ManagerX1, Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post such wonderful feedback about Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown. We are delighted to know that you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed your room and all the amenities we provide. We are thankful for recognizing Angela for her great customer service skills. I will surely convey your compliments to her. We appreciate your... More 

Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had an amazing stay at the Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown. Angela and the rest of the staff went above and beyond to ensure our stay was 10 out of 10. We had a beautiful city skyline room with more than enough amenities. Hotel shuttle brought us everywhere we needed to be and picked us up. Staff was pleasant and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Imw123
ManagerX1, Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review

We appreciate the outstanding review and are delighted to know how much you enjoyed your stay. Thanks so much for acknowledging the excellent service you received from our staff, especially from Angela. We are also glad you liked our well-appointed property and the facilities we have to offer. Your feedback is important and lets us know how we are performing.... More 

223 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (135)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (71)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (88)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (27)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
Comfort Inn Downtown
#10 of 137 in Memphis
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#11 of 137 in Memphis
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stay in the heart of historical Memphis traditions at the fully renovated Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown. Fresh from a multi- million dollar renovation, no detail has been overlooked. Our hotel is within minutes of famed Barbeque and Blues. Perfectly situated between the Memphis Cook Convention Center and Beale Street, the newly renovated Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown is the ideal location for those in town for business and pleasure. A wonderful compliment to the Memphis city vibe, the updated features bring the excitement of the street right into the lobby of our hotel. Every detail about this distinct hotel has you in mind. Spacious, modern guest rooms with unbeatable views of the Memphis skyline, or St. Jude's Campus and Bass Pro Shop at the famed Pyramid. Our rooms offer efficient, user friendly workspace, free Wi-Fi, as well as refrigerators and in-room safes. A top of the line, exercise facility equipped to meet the most demanding personal workout regimen. Enjoy socializing with colleagues and friends in a newly designed public area that provides quiet seclusion or a multitude of entertainment options to suit every wish, including the newly added Blues Patio fully equipped with cooling mist and fans. Enjoy a bite or a libation in our famous Notes and Provisions. Be sure to say hello to the local mixologist! Don't forget to visit the in-house St. Jude's art gallery and see how miracles happen. As a partner with St. Jude's Research Hospital we have the distinct privilege of supporting them and the pleasure of witnessing the difference it makes. Now you can as well. "Success has nothing to do with what you gain in life or accomplish for yourself. It's what you do for others." - St. Jude Founder Danny Thomas Whatever the reason is for your visit, you'll experience a new and better way of hospitality at the Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown

Address: 300 North Second Street, Memphis, TN 38105 (Formerly Wyndham Garden Hotel)
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Price Range: $130 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Memphis
Memphis Crowne Plaza
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown staff and other travellers.
23 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (23)

Questions? Get answers from Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“reserve a suite well in advance”
 of 5 bubbles z0elife, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms away from elevators tend to be quieter”
 of 5 bubbles EvetteD, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We have stayed here several times. Never had a noise problem. Is located next to I-40 so easy in and out.”
 of 5 bubbles lrrp2015, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose a pool facing room rather than an interstate one for a quieter option”
 of 5 bubbles HfamilyYork, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Amazing location near all attraction. Walk along the river and the Pyramid is 5 mins away.”
 of 5 bubbles Casey786786, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay