We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Courtyard Memphis Downtown

Show Prices
#34 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Courtyard Memphis Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

379 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Memphis Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 373: English reviews
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

I've stayed here for business on several occasions and can't figure out why all the rooms have a real musty smell. This is a very standard layout for Courtyards, with barely average service. The smell of the rooms is unpleasant and not common around town. There's many other options close by and choosing one of them on my next trip.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
CY_Downtown_Manager, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Memphis Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to offer feedback regarding your stay. I'm disappointed to learn you had issues with the smell of your room. As a repeat guest I am especially sorry we didn't have the opportunity to address your concern. Our goal is to provide clean comfortable rooms along with great service, my apologies if that was not your...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 9 December 2016

I'll start with the positive - This is a modern property (2010 I believe), that has all you would expect including free WiFi, fitness center and a breakfast/dinner restaurant (the Bistro). There is a Starbucks on premises if you care for their coffee, but even if you do not care for their coffee there is a coffee maker in room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank irishWnk
CourtyardMemDowntown, General Manager at Courtyard Memphis Downtown, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to share your comments with us here and also when I had the opportunity to have a phone conversation while in house. Please be assured that all issues that were discussed with me have been addressed and corrective action taken. Thanks again for your feedback.

Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewed 19 November 2016 via mobile

My birthday was celebrated here. The guy at the front desk greeted us as soon as we I gave him my name for check in with "HAPPY birthday". The rooms were spacious and the hotel was very clean. Most reviewers are complaining about the price. However, what do you expect for Downtown Memphis. I felt safe and my car (used...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsGayden14
CY_Downtown_Manager, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Memphis Downtown, responded to this review

Happy Belated Birthday! I'm glad you chose to celebrate your special day at our hotel. Thank you for the positive feedback, our goal is to provide our guests with great service; I'm happy to share your comments with our staff. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again.

Stewartsville, New Jersey
Reviewed 16 November 2016

The hotel overall is clean and modern. The rooms are comfortably appointed and have limited amenities. The location is ideal for walking to restaurants. The café in the lobby was ideal for a quick breakfast. The staff were friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Corina_Fisher
CY_Downtown_Manager, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Memphis Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience. I'm glad you found our location ideal for downtown walking, as well as the convenience of our in house BISTRO restaurant. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again.

Reviewed 12 November 2016

Stayed here 2 nights. I had a king room with modern furnishings--good sized bathroom. Room as quiet. There is a BISTRO downstairs that you can purchase breakfast items. The hotel is off of Main Street where the trolley line runs all the way to Beale street (or a 7 minute drive). The Mud River Monorail is just a five minute...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SFO415415
CourtyardMemDowntown, General Manager at Courtyard Memphis Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. Hope to see you again on your next visit to Memphis.

Lexington, Kentucky
Reviewed 7 November 2016

Overnighted Nov. 5, hotel is near the Memphis attractions especially the Flight restaurant and Beale Street. Valet parking personnel were attentive, quick and accurate. Justin went out of his way to make breakfast the next morning the best!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edgar I
CY_Downtown_Manager, Manager at Courtyard Memphis Downtown, responded to this review

Thanks you very much for staying with us and taking time to rate our hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed our downtown attractions and our staff. We look forward to your next visit!

Iowa City, Iowa
Reviewed 31 October 2016

Great location for many downtown activities. We visited Beale Street and it was a comfortable walk. There is a trolley that drives right by that can ease your walking, if desired. The room was super clean, the lobby was modern and clean. The staff was great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dan K
CourtyardMemDowntown, General Manager at Courtyard Memphis Downtown, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us. Hope to see you again on your next visit to Memphis.

Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

Pro- Great location and walkable to alot of places. Courtyard consistency. Cons- self park is half a block away. Location of safe in room is awkward at best. Shower temperature can be tricky, old plumbing?

 Report
Helpful?
Thank w0f2015
CourtyardMemDowntown, General Manager at Courtyard Memphis Downtown, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us and your comments. We appreciate your feedback and it has been shared with our associates for their attention and follow up. Hope to see you again on your next visit to Memphis.

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 17 October 2016

I usually don't write negative reviews but our stay here was extremely disappointing. My mom, grandmother, and I stayed here for 2 nights. The 2nd night we were woken up twice (3am and 5am) by police banging on the door across from us. Through the peephole we were able to see the police banging loudly and then hiding. We tried...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaret19912014
CY_Downtown_Manager, Manager at Courtyard Memphis Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Margaret- Thank you for providing us with feedback regarding your 2 night stay. I apologize you were awaken during your stay. We value all guest feedback as an opportunity to improve our operation. Thank you for staying with us.

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

We booked this room through the Marriott app which was super convenient. We wanted to get away for the 4th of July holiday. Check in was easy and valet parking was 20 bucks. We didn't mind this because we wouldn't be driving anywhere...you can get to all the tourist attractions on the trolley which runs right in front of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dltayl0r
CourtyardMemDowntown, General Manager at Courtyard Memphis Downtown, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us. Glad you had a great visit for the 4th. Hope to see you again next year!

103 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (66)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
Downtown
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#12 of 136 in Memphis
816 reviews
Comfort Inn Downtown
#10 of 136 in Memphis
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Courtyard Memphis Downtown

Address: 75 Jefferson Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-2127 (Formerly Courtyard Marriott Downtown)
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Price Range: $251 - $456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Memphis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Memphis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Marriott Downtown Hotel Memphis
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Memphis
#24 Business Hotel in Memphis
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Courtyard Memphis Downtown staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Lakeland, Florida
Little Rock, Arkansas
over a year ago
Macomb
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Courtyard Memphis Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Overlooking the Mississippi River is the best view, otherwise not much to see. The balcony room doors don't open.”
704mattv, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“If your stay includes Monday morning, be prepared for the leaf blower guys outside your window early AM -- or bring ear plugs.”
irishWnk, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Drive up the lobby and unload and check-in then drive the half bloock away to self-park”
SFO415415, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Stay in Southaven, MS and just drive up to Memphis.”
PatDaBatt, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you want a room w/ a balcony, you need to request it a day before check in.”
TheLastDonDiva, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5