We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The West Arms Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The West Arms Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

454 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The West Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 452: English reviews
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 April 2015

My husband and I stayed for one night, great room with four poster bed, fantastic dinner and breakfast the next morning. Beautiful setting and a 15 minute drive took us to Llangollen, well worth a visit

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Will020612
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 April 2015

We visited The West Arms recently and found the hotel,owners and staff to be very good indeed. Greeted by a roaring fire and by the owner Geoff with a welcoming smile we were made to feel immediately " at home ". The hotel is family owned and run by Geoff, his wife Gill, daughter Sarah and their very efficient Manager...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank southport76
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 April 2015 via mobile

Attended a birthday function and the food was great. We did need to pre-order which was a bit odd rather than selecting on the day but the portions were good and the roast potatoes amazing. They have lots of unique dining zones so can cater for all sizes. Nice place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul P
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 April 2015

We have just returned from an amazing 2 night stay in this beautiful quirky Hotel. We stayed in The Howard room which was wonderful, a beautiful 4 poster bed in a lovely clean and extremely comfortable room, the 2 dogs and ourselves loved the view from the window over the valley. From the minute we arrived we were made to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marie C
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review - and once again I thank everyone who takes the time and trouble to post reviews. I would dearly love to have enough time to write back to every reviewer but I try to devote my time to the guests whilst they staying with us and also to keeping the hotel running to a...

Reviewed 20 April 2015

After visiting late last year we couldn't wait to return so was eagerly anticipating this weekend away! We were not disappointed! The hotel is situated in a fabulous valley just over the border from England. The fields were full of tiny lambs and the hillsides verdant green. The drive to the hotel was fabulous and dropping down into the village...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rkartist
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 April 2015

We booked a night here as it was close to Oswestry where we had to visit one Saturday. We couldn't believe that only 9 miles from Oswestry itself is this 'hidden valley', beauty, peace, friendly locals and hosts. We stayed in the Willow room, which was a treat, a home away from home feel but also luxury. We enjoyed a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank esheedub
Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 April 2015

Lovely location. Beautiful surroundings. We stayed in room 12, corner room at the bottom of the building. Powerful shower and nice bathroom. We arrived mid afternoon, it was cold and windy outside so set up a place in the bar area. One of my only issues with this hotels as the cost of hot drinks. A cup of tea was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank N_31644
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review. On the whole you had a good experience which pleases us. We must rectify the comment about the price of tea - the cost of a Pot of Tea is £5, not a cup. We never offer a cup of tea. So a Pot of Tea, (served with extra hot water) which is enough...

Greenfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 April 2015

We recently had an over night stay on a Travelzoo voucher which was extremely good value for money. The location is idyllic if you want to get away and relax. We went on a walk and the scenery was stunning. All the staff at the hotel were friendly and made you fieel welcome. The food was excellent on the whole....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gazmax
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for posting your review. We quite agree that serving white sliced bread with a traditional cheese board is totally inappropriate and not up to the normal dining standard offered at The West Arms. We apologise for this "blip" and have spoken to the staff member who served it to you. We hope that it does not remain in your...

Reviewed 12 April 2015 via mobile

We've just spent two nights in the Willow Suite and it was mostly good What took the edge off for us was little niggles like no one cleaned / tidied the room for the duration of our two night stay, and it felt like we were being awkward just because we asked if we could order breakfast when we'd been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil A
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review - we are pleased you enjoyed yourselves on the whole - but wish to apologise for the room not being serviced. We had allocated the smaller suite to you but decided to upgrade you to the larger suite at the last moment and your room was missed off the housekeeping list the following morning for this...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 April 2015

Just returned from a lovely overnight stay using a Travel Zoo voucher. Good value for money, food excellent, staff very helpful and friendly, would definitely return. Locally known as the Hidden Valley.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Barb81w

158 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (139)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanarmon DC
0.0 km away
The Hand at Llanarmon
The Hand at Llanarmon
#1 of 2 in Llanarmon DC
356 reviews
18.8 km away
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llanwddyn
1,323 reviews
11.2 km away
Chainbridge Hotel
Chainbridge Hotel
#1 of 9 in Llangollen
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 km away
Sweeney Hall Hotel
Sweeney Hall Hotel
#3 of 6 in Oswestry
357 reviews
10.9 km away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#5 of 9 in Llangollen
402 reviews
39.8 km away
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
#1 of 1 in Pentre Halkyn
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The West Arms is a traditional Olde Inn (16th Century) with beams and uneven slate flagged floors, roaring open fires and low ceilings. It offers an abundance of warmth and charm with quirky individuality. No bedrooms are the same. We are a privately owned business with a wealth of experience, offer a friendly informal welcome. We have 15 bedrooms, a superb Chef who has a great pedigree, lovely friendly staff and are situated in a beautiful location. If you want a bland boutique modern hotel with a lack of soul, The West Arms is not the place for you! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The West Arms Hotel

Address: Llanarmon DC | Llangollen, Llanarmon DC LL20 7LD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llanarmon DC
Price Range: $101 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The West Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The West Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Arms Hotel
West Arms Llanarmon Dc
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The West Arms Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
North of London
11 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The West Arms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Watch your head if you're tall! and the stairs may be limiting if you're "a bit dodgy on your pins".”
 of 5 bubbles fauntleburyi, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“No advice given which can help”
 of 5 bubbles jid16, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“stay in the main hotel, not the annex”
 of 5 bubbles afield, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Had a real country view from room 11 .”
 of 5 bubbles malpasomarkp, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Forget the dodgy shower and the bathroom door without a handle, but this is a charming period room with a very comfortable four-poster bed.”
 of 5 bubbles Mr.Mole., 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay