Torrent Walk Hotel

Torrent Walk Hotel

Smithfield Street, Snowdonia-Eryri National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1AA Wales
Traveller (13)
Continental breakfast available
Dining (1)
Bathroom (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#2 of 3 small hotels in Dolgellau
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Lively and fun community pub with local characters and fantastic and calming atmosphere.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Internet
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Quaint

Location

Smithfield Street, Snowdonia-Eryri National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1AA Wales
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 79 out of 100
79
Anglesey Airport
71.2 km
See all flights
Chester Airport
80.3 km
See all flights
39Reviews3Q+A4Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 29
  • 6
  • 1
  • 1
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
StoneStaffs wrote a review Mar 2020
Stone, United Kingdom174 contributions158 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed on a Saturday night and arrived as a Welsh international rugby match was about to start on the TV (there are lots in the pub) - the place was heaving!!
I think this used to be much more of a foody pub, at the moment the focus is very much a drinks pub. Which wasn’t a problem for me as I love my ale and they had a great range. The room was fine, nice and clean with a fridge and fresh milk. The breakfast was the best I’ve had in a long time. Nice touches such as handmade cushions and really thick high quality curtains.
I suspect that if you stayed here in the week it would be quite peaceful, but on a weekend be warned there is a fair bit of noise. We went up to the room at about midnight, but it is open well into the early hours (I think 3am although I was asleep long before that). I’m sure in the week it would be quieter though. If you are happy to stay in a lively pub then this place is fine, and Dolgellau is a nice little town.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TheCelticCouple wrote a review Feb 2024
North Wales, United Kingdom119 contributions66 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great value Sunday lunch. Choice of meats or veggie and plenty of tasty veg as well as yorkshire puds. Puddings available but we were too full to try then. The Torrent's so popular you should book. Good drinks selection including great wines as advised by Dolgellau's famous wine expert.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Book to avoid disappointment
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jimmy U wrote a review Feb 2023
Liverpool, United Kingdom4 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Went for lunch at The Torrent Walk Hotel with my wife. Staff were very friendly and the lunch was lovely and such great value. Lovely place with traditional bar area and recent refurbishment to other rooms and toilets. Would definitely recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
cottonwalsall wrote a review Oct 2023
walsall95 contributions17 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We came with family and friends for lunch. I can honestly say it's one of the best meals I have ever eaten out. The portions are massive, taste of all the food was amazing. Thank you to the staff for a wonderful afternoon. We shall return soon very soon.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Richard W wrote a review Dec 2014
Holyhead, United Kingdom1 contribution7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A great pub with a cosy atomsphere on one side and a large area for Pool on the other. A nice little snug in between aswel only enhances its charm. A very good selection of real ales from around the local county with Breweries such as Purple Moose & Cwrw Llyn featured during our stay. Friendly atmosphere throughout with landlord Gareth ensuring you are well looked after - definitely worth a visit if you're in the local area & fancy some decent real ale!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2014
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: There are only a small selection of rooms but are all on the upper floors of this old style town...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hannahdymond wrote a review Oct 2015
London, United Kingdom79 contributions28 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Rude local people. One person moved my jacket and stole our table/ seats and didn't even apologise. The pub has a bad atmosphere that made us feel very uncomfortable not being in the area. Found it of Dolgellau in general so maybe it is just how people in the area act. Wouldn't return
Read more
Date of stay: October 2015Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from dolboy1, Owner at Torrent Walk Hotel
Responded Nov 12, 2015
Sorry to hear that you didnt enjoy your time here at the TORRENT WALK HOTEL OR DOLGELLAU IN GENERAL,shame really because so many be for you and after you have. The atmosphere of Dolgellau is friendly and welcoming as stated daily by other customers on many sites, in the bar's, shop's,caffe's and so on. I was close to writing "give us another go",but i wont.... From myself, my customers and the people of Dolgellau in general "PLEASE DON'T RETURN" ((OOOP'S how rude !!!)) xxx GARETH xxx
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steve H wrote a review Aug 2015
Derby, England, United Kingdom33 contributions21 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It was cold, windy & dark, and from the outside this looked a little run down and intimidating.
How wrong could I be....
Noticed 6 hand pumps through the window, so it had to be worth a try.
Lovely welcome from the guy behind the bar, who told me about the 5 beers available (one was cider). All local welsh brews, with a great mix of varieties.
Sampled three, all perfect, found a comfy armchair in the corner, and logged onto the free WiFi. browsed a little, but ended up in a conversation with the barman and a couple of locals.
Wish I could have spent longer in there, or longer in Dolgellau, so I could go back...
Thank you...
Read more
Date of stay: August 2015Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from dolboy1, Owner at Torrent Walk Hotel
Responded Oct 1, 2015
thank you for taking the time to review us, im glad that you never walked by and did pop in and enjoyed your time with us, im proud to anounce that we have made it in to the CAMRA GOOD BEER GUIDE 2016 and hope to see you again some time. Gareth
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
2014rainy wrote a review Aug 2014
Chester, United Kingdom43 contributions46 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Best place to go for a drink, for locals and tourists a like. They have a nice B and B above which I have stayed in before. Central and well priced. Family run place, good old Gareth at the helm.

They have darts nights and bingo, usually a group of nice lads having a friendly pool competition.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2014Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rosie L wrote a review Jun 2016
Runcorn, United Kingdom5 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We've been to the Torrent a few times before ;) and as we were in Dol last weekend, we decided to pay a visit.
Good beer and great company, as usual. The smoking area is fantastic and the atmosphere is very welcoming.
We will be returning, hopefully we won't be leaving it as long between visits this time.
Rosie & Mark x
Read more
Date of stay: June 2016
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
608JO wrote a review Oct 2015
Alcester, United Kingdom76 contributions36 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We first visited the Torrent Walk about eighteen months ago in the summer. We were exploring Dolgellau and came across this little pub, outside were some tables in the sunshine. My husband went in to get the drinks and came out and said he could not believe how friendly the locals were! As we sat outside enjoying our drinks, the locals would come out for a smoke but would also come over and have a chat, a very pleasant experience! We have just returned from another visit to Dolgellau and a return visit to the Torrent Walk pub. Sun shining, great range of real ales on offer and local still just as friendly, superb!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Dolgellau area.
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesNorth WalesSnowdonia-Eryri National ParkDolgellau
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Torrent Walk Hotel - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Torrent Walk Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Torrent Walk Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Beechwood House (0.2 km), Cross Keys Dolgellau (0.02 km), and St. Mary's Church (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Torrent Walk Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Torrent Walk Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Torrent Walk Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tafarn Y Gader Tapas, Bistro & Bar, Y Meirionnydd Restaurant, and T H Roberts Coffee Shop.
Is Torrent Walk Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 km away from the centre of Dolgellau.
Are pets allowed at Torrent Walk Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Torrent Walk Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Cymer Abbey (1.6 km).
All Dolgellau HotelsDolgellau Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in DolgellauHotels near Torrent Walk Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars