We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Tyn-y-Groes Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ganllwyd
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

88 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Tyn-y-Groes Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 88: English reviews
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 July 2015 via mobile

Once again we had a lovely weekend at the Tyn-Y-Groes. Derek was extremely helpful whenever we needed something, and we would recommend this hotel if you're visiting coed y brenin. Breakfast is the perfect size if you're planning on heading out on the bikes right after breakfast, and the 4 meals we had in the evening were also excellent. Room...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MBarrett84
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 July 2015

Well if I was to read all these reviews and take on board comments I would not have stayed let's hope most are open minded. Derek and his family are lovely and obviously work very hard. He is a very accommodating man who strives to do his best and make sure your stay is comfortable not sure if some of...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Tracey G
Dolgellau, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 July 2015

We took our family for a meal last week and the food and service was excellent as it always is never experienced a bad dining experience and would highly recommend to all.Friendly and accommodating staff.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank kathrynH2978PN
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 June 2015

I have never come across such a Rude manager in the hospitality business. I feel like I have to write a review on this one. I always try and be fair and there are a few positives but I will share my experience. I found this place on late rooms and rang up the hotel to enquiry if they took...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank gail t
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 June 2015

I don’t often do reviews but I felt compelled to do one in this case. The first thing I would say about this place and the biggest let down is the owner Derek. He is very surly and matter of fact and does not come across well at all. I would go as far as to say he is rude....

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Steve P
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 May 2015 via mobile

Possibly the worst hotel experience ever, lacking in the most basic requirements, ie a working hot shower and flushing toilet we ended up showering at the the Coed Y a Brenin facilities, filthy dusty rooms, dirty and grubby communal areas, inappropriate owner / manager. Avoid at all costs! Expensive !! This should be an absolute hot spot for outdoors travellers...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mark M
nephitynyg, Owner at Tyn-y-Groes Hotel, responded to this review

I complained to Trip advisor about this comment, firstly, why is there a comment posted some 1 year after the stay, secondly, we have no record of any one of this name or from the isle of man staying during June of last year and thirdly, we dont have a communal room. son this puts me in a bit of...

Cheadle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2015

Oh dear! When will owners learn that you have to work to get people to come back. Visited this establishment on and off for the last 25 years. Assme it`s now in new hands. Over priced, basic food . £30 for burger and beef pie with 2 drinks. Had to request salt and vinegar! Food was ok, but lacked any...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank graham_r_fowler
nephitynyg, Owner at Tyn-y-Groes Hotel, responded to this review

This is most unusual as my wife spent quite some time chatting with you. The prices are published and we only use the best Welsh Black cuts in the meals you had hence the price. With regards to the salt and vinegar my grand daughter forgot,(which upset her) Regarding the TV, I've no idea what happened there. Indecently we had...

Runcorn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 February 2015

Visited this pub for a meal on Monday 8th February. Owner was very friendly and meals were OK but nothing spectacular We have had a lot better! I had lasagne and my partner had gammon and whilst I wouldnt dispute the portion sizes were good the meat was lumpy in lasagne and my partners chips were greasy. We had one...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Helen Y
nephitynyg, Owner at Tyn-y-Groes Hotel, responded to this review

If I remember correctly, we were the only establishment open, that in its self was unusual. So, the prices are published and common to the area, you had a double measure of wine and a latte coffee followed by a 12oz welsh bacon gammon and a home-made lasagne made with the best Welsh Black meat, the chips weren't greasy as...

Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 September 2014

Derek the owner greeted us at the front and my first impressions of him were that he was polite and welcoming. He asked how many we were and why we had come down to wales. You’re standard, welcoming small talk. However, as conversation progressed, for some unknown reason he decided to tell us of another party that had stayed and...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Pup1690
nephitynyg, Owner at Tyn-y-Groes Hotel, responded to this review

I refer you to the previous comments, as these people wer from the same party. I cannot understand why Trip advisor would allow two comments from the same party. If they had been worded differently icould accept it, but they cover the same things. I can never understand why people exaggerate negatively about items and rarely be positve. Ah well...

Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 September 2014

I stayed here some years ago whilst on a MTB'ing weekend and as such stayed here again for one night recently. Derek the owners opening conversation was unprofessional and unnecessary to say the least. He said that he was ‘assuming’ correctly that we would be eating in the restaurant that evening! My reply to this was that we may be...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank dan s
nephitynyg, Owner at Tyn-y-Groes Hotel, responded to this review

Strange thing to say about me, I recognised them from previously and had (what I thought a friendly banter) However, As they were a reasonably large party, I wanted to know if they were dining in to reserve them a table, never mentioned other premises as I dont know their situation. How else can I describe where the bus stop...

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ganllwyd
0.8 km away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
5.5 km away
Y Meirionnydd
Y Meirionnydd
#1 of 3 in Dolgellau
286 reviews
14.5 km away
Ty Mawr Hotel
Ty Mawr Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanbedr
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 km away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
360 reviews
5.7 km away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
310 reviews
5.0 km away
Pandy Isaf Country House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Tyn-y-Groes Hotel

Address: A470 | Ganllwyd, Ganllwyd LL40 2HN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Ganllwyd
Number of rooms: 7
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tyn-y-Groes Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Tyn-y-Groes Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do Not bother with the room - its a dust bucket”
 of 5 bubbles 394gailt, 29 Jun 2015 | Read review
“All rooms are adequate but it is not about the rooms it is all about the atmosphere.”
 of 5 bubbles 331GaryC, 26 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Roadside rooms may have traffic noise, especially if you have windows open at night.”
 of 5 bubbles RogerG479, 25 Sep 2013 | Read review
“We had a room at the back of the house and was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles 111carolp, 4 Sep 2013 | Read review
“try to get a room away from the road due to the noise of passing traffic and a clean shower.”
 of 5 bubbles jonboyWakefield, 24 Jul 2013 | Read review
5 of 5