We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The King's Head

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

253 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The King's Head
See the most recent reviews
Showing 253: English reviews
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 October 2015

First off, let me say the hotel room was a decent size, the shower was fantastically powerful (a bit too much) and the food in the downstairs public house was lovely and brilliantly priced. Unfortunately, these first impressions were destroyed as the night wore on. The trouble is this is the pub with the latest opening times and cheapest alcohol...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NickRipp
BDavies71050, Manager at The King's Head, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your stay here at the Kings Head Monmouth. We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay because of the noise from the street. Please contact the hotel and we can discuss this further. Regards Beverley and the Team

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 September 2015

I stayed for one night (Sunday) in room 205 and while I can't fault the facilities in this room it is impossible to get a good nights sleep because of the noise, immediately outside the window are two industrial size air conditioning units that make a loud and constant operating noise throughout the night. Following a frequently interrupted nights sleep,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roger1385
BDavies71050, Manager at The King's Head, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your stay here at the Kings Head hotel Monmouth. Sorry to hear that your stay was not as expected. Please contact the hotel and we can discuss this further. Regards Beverley and the Team

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 September 2015

We stayed in room 107 for a couple of nights from 10th September and were pleased to find the room very clean and well equipped. The room was large and had two massive windows which made the room nice and bright, however only one set of windows could be opened and these were restricted to a couple of inches each...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alan P
BDavies71050, Manager at The King's Head, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your stay. We apologise for the noise from the fans outside. Should you return to Monmouth in the future, please call the hotel and we will allocate a quieter room if possible. Regards The Reception Team

Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2015

We stayed in room 101 for 2 nights, commencing 9th August 2015. Whilst the room itself is generally pleasant, it was practically impossible to have any sleep. I wrote to Wetherspoons to complain on 22nd August, but sadly they have not had the decency to reply. The windows of the room are in keeping with the property, but sadly single...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan W
BDavies71050, Manager at The King's Head, responded to this review

Please note that we have not ignored this review. It was dealt with over the phone. Beverley and the Reservation Team

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 September 2015

We stayed in a large family room which was superb. Good cycle storage. Only downside was the receptionist could see I was struggling with luggage and small child but no offer of help was forthcoming. Great value for money food at the pub/hotel.

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank callylestah
BDavies71050, Manager at The King's Head, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review regarding your stay here at the Kings Head Monmouth.We do appreciate your comments and have noted the shortfalls and escalated them to the team. We do hope you will return to our hotel in the future. Regards The Reception Team

waitomo
Reviewed 3 September 2015

TThe room was fine, at the back of the property so away from the street noise. There was the kitchen below however and he extractor fans were rather annoying. The price was good even though it was bed only as the Weatherspoons restaurant was next door. There were a couple of things needin fixing in the room which we told...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank colinWaitomo
BDavies71050, Manager at The King's Head, responded to this review

Thankyou for taking the time to write a review regarding you stay. Your feedback is important to us and we can assure you that they have been dealt with. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again. The reservation Team

Crosskeys, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2015 via mobile

Very good value for money, was very impressed with cleanliness. We had a family room which sleeps 4, there was more than enough room although shower a tad on the small side. Our room was overlooking the "square" right about the entrance to the pub side of building. Considering this was classed as a family room it was very noisy...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sophie B
BDavies71050, Manager at The King's Head, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the Kings Head Hotel. It was a pleasure to read your feedback regarding your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Regards The Reservation Team

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2015

I should perhaps start with the disclosure that many years ago, about the same time as Noah was building the ark and when J D Wetherspoon was a tiny company owning half a dozen pubs in my part of north London, I was professionally involved in the sale to the company of a few more pubs and. if I remember...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony E
BDavies71050, Manager at The King's Head, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We do take your comments seriously and should you visit Monmouth in the future, please contact the hotel directly and we will ensure you have a bigger room with better lighting. Regards The reservation team

Talybont, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2015

This was the first time I have stayed at a Wetherpoons Hotel as we usually use Travelodges. So it was with great expectations that we booked in to this hotel. It is centrally located right in the middle of Monmouth. The disadvantage of this is that the hotel as no parking so had to leave car overnight in Pay and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ADavidR
Forest of Dean, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 August 2015

Visited on a Tuesday for the steak night, nice pub with a good atmosphere, bar staff very good. Ordered our meal which arrived promptly. Steak was very dry and food was not hot, asked for the salt on the table to be replenished which brought a very sarcastic remark from the waiter. Ordered sweets which when they arrived were wrong,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrsbake1

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monmouth
0.5 km away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Monmouth
167 reviews
14.5 km away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#5 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
351 reviews
31.7 km away
The Queens Hotel, Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Punch House Monmouth
Punch House Monmouth
#6 of 23 in Monmouth
223 reviews
0.3 km away
Queen's Head Monmouth
Queen's Head Monmouth
#10 of 23 in Monmouth
101 reviews
0.1 km away
#7 Church Street
#7 Church Street
#8 of 23 in Monmouth
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about The King's Head

Address: 8 Agincourt Square, Monmouth NP25 3DY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Monmouth
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The King's Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Head Wetherlodge Hotel Monmouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The King's Head staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The King's Head staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were in room 105 some noise from street but not too bad”
 of 5 bubbles Z595PEsusanm, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“dont book online and call before to make sure its a real booking”
 of 5 bubbles lovetoholiday11, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Avoid the back of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles 418clareh, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't trust this hotel if you cannot get through on several occasions!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles 615stuartm615, 28 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in a family room with one threequarter and two single beds overlooking the square (room 305)”
 of 5 bubbles dgburf, 26 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5