Bryn Derw Bed and Breakfast

Bryn Derw Bed and Breakfast

Bryn Derw Talsarnau, Talsarnau LL47 6YG Wales
Traveller (52)
Dining (7)
Bathroom (6)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

5.0
#4 of 6 B&Bs in Talsarnau
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Small Family Run Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Car hire
Baggage storage
Concierge
Special diet menus
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Bottled water
Iron
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
78Reviews2Q+A22Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 70
  • 6
  • 2
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Tracey S wrote a review Aug 2022
Darwen, United Kingdom93 contributions39 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Linda runs a lovely place. Bedroom cosy, lovely large bathroom. Nice outlook and we did the walk from the back up to the telegraph pole through the gate and down to the lake and further. Porthmadog is lovely and so is Criccieth. The grapes pub serves good food. Had a lovely relaxed time thankyou linda and her family.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
leeds11gb wrote a review Dec 2016
leeds18 contributions19 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here with my daughter and friend. Can't fault this B&B. Clean, comfortable and friendly. Best I've stayed in and would thoroughly recommend. Pub in the village serves lovely fresh food. Have already booked again for next year. Thank you Linda :-).
Read more
Date of stay: December 2016Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
luissantos wrote a review Apr 2016
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom37 contributions36 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
If you don't like reading big reviews, just GO, no need to think about it!

Only booked 20 minutes before arriving, I was supposed to stay in another place but the receptionist said it was already over 19h so no more check-ins, thank God because I am sure it wouldn't even be half of this lovely B&B!

I will start by saying it was the best place I have stayed in the UK, the host (I believe owner) was lovely and very helpful! I really felt like home once I parked the van outside, the doors were open to me and was accompanied to the room which was more like a mansion, not the usual tiny box you used to, very cozy with a massive bathroom with shower and bath, all high standard! I was also asked of which time I would like to have breakfast the morning after but I will talk about that later!

After a very nice shower I went out to have dinner, the pub recommended by the host wasn't making any food so I decided to visit the closest village, Penrhyndeudraeth! Not much going around regarding restaurants but I have found a Chinese takeaway called Silver Lake (that was crowded) which turned out to be another great surprise!

Very hungry and getting back I entered the B&B with the Chinese and once again the host was very kind, knocked and asked if I would like a plate and fork which was already in her hands, I really wasn't expecting such and got a smile on my face as I closed the door, reminded me of the time I lived with my mother, this place feels like home really! After finishing I decided to give back the plate and once I forgot my phone charger I asked if I could charge it somewhere, and wow a second after she handed me a charger that said with me all night, it really couldn't get any better than that!

I had a very pleasant night and a wonderful sleep, very comfy bed and sheets! Not to mention waking up to such great view!

And it was time for breakfast, not the one you usually have, cold, boring and tasteless! It was freshly made while I was drinking an orange juice! Full english and it was delicious, all fresh ingredients, the coffee was lovely too, the strawberry jam!!!

I highly recommend this place, you won't be disappointed, on the contrary you will be blown away with everything from the room, to the breakfast, to the lovely hostess, the location and even the price, I shouldn't say this but it is cheap for the service they are providing, I will definitely come back, thanks for being so kind and please keep up the superb work!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2016
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dawn572 wrote a review Jun 2017
Jersey, United Kingdom44 contributions20 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed for 2 nights. The room was a barn conversion but just the size of a summer house. Ensuite shower room was tiny.

It was during the heat wave so room was stifling and claustrophobic in the night but they did provide a fan.

Breakfast choices good but you go into the kitchen of the landlady's house so share big table with other guests and feel obliged to make conversation.

Nice views but wouldn't choose to go back.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Linda I, Owner at Bryn Derw Bed and Breakfast
Responded Jun 29, 2017
Then room you booked and size was clearly stated on your booking. Yes it was hot, we were all hot and due to our poor climate in the UK we do not have air conditioning. Our friendly and welcoming approach here does indeed involve breakfast in our large Farmhouse kitchen and with other guests. In all the years I have been providing this service I have never had anyone complaining about having to make conversation or be friendly with others staying here. You arrived a little earlier than the time allocated for arrival, this was not a problem as my father showed you into your room. When I arrived five minutes later you were extremely rude to me as you were trying to deal with a problem on your laptop. You even admitted to my father afterwards when you where asked if you'd seen me that you hadn't been very nice to me! No apologies the following morning only cold silences at the table and more rudeness. You say you wouldn't return- what a relief, we prefer friendly people who are not rude to us or any of our other guests!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alice W wrote a review Jun 2016
Wye9 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Linda, our hostess, was experienced, professional and friendly and knew exactly how to help make our trip to this stunning part of the country enjoyable. The rooms are well-equipped, with the larger double having a fantastic shower and bath, all enhanced by the soaps and useful toiletry box thoughtfully provided. It was quiet and comfortable. Linda's breakfasts were delicious and she is a true domestic goddess, making all kinds of soaps, jams, preserves, honey and cordial. On top of the lovely surroundings and comfort, Linda also recommended good places to eat and was responsible for suggesting our visit to the glorious Bodnant Gardens, as well as the steam train ride to Caernarfon. An ideal bed and breakfast and very good value!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2016
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Large double room with additional single bed in the main house and smaller double annexe room
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gareth C wrote a review Oct 2015
Folkestone, United Kingdom24 contributions54 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here to attend a 20th wedding anniversary locally, what a gem! Beautiful location, warm and friendly people, and our room, La Casita was immaculately clean, comfortable and just about perfect, even down the handmade soap, ours was avocado and cucumber.

Breakfast at the farm kitchen table was a delight, brilliant cooked breakfast assorted hot toast and fresh brewed tea and coffee, we did not want to leave.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2015Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
leeds11gb wrote a review Oct 2015
leeds18 contributions19 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here with a friend during October break. Quite possibly the best bed and breakfast I have ever stayed at. Breakfast was all with local products and cooked to perfection! Will defiantly return :)
Read more
Date of stay: October 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Janet H wrote a review Sep 2015
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom12 contributions18 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We needed a bed and breakfast that was not far from a planned visit on the Welsh highland railway. Linda was a wonderful host. The rooms are well appointed and clean. Breakfast is taken in the large farmhouse kitchen. Super food. Would highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Only two rooms both facing the hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
crusher2013 wrote a review Jul 2017
Chatham Kent UK29 contributions38 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My partner and I stayed here at the beginning of July for four days, and what a wonderful place to be, friendly, comfortable, a fab room spacious bathroom was huge and great views over the countryside, there are only two rooms at this establishment so early booking is recommended. Linda our hostess is a mind of local information and cooks a wonderful breakfast, cereals on offer as well as the lovely home made jams she produces for breakfast mmmmm. Transport is a must due to its location, nearest pub about a mile away. Porthmadog is a 10 min drive away with plenty of shops, a few restaurants and the Train station for various trips on the heritage trains. Thank you Linda for a great stay. Alan and Jan.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Only two rooms but both look over the countryside
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Valereeeer wrote a review Jan 2017
Bolton, United Kingdom39 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have just returned from a two night stay at Bryn Derw, what a wonderful stay it was!! Linda is so welcoming and friendly and the location is stunning. We had the large room in the main house which was beautiful, the bathroom is fabulous. Breakfast is ordered the night before and Linda is happy to cook whatever you like, there are also yogurts, cereals and delicious home-made preserves - we were lucky that she had baked delicious muffins for other guests that were leaving early so she gave us some of those too. You need a car as there is nowhere to eat within walking distance (we drove to The Lion at Criccieth and it was very nice), but Linda has all the local knowledge. Perfect base for exploring Harlech, Portmeirion, Porthmadog, Criccieth, Pwllheli and the gorgeous Abersoch. Cannot recommend highly enough, thank you Linda 😊.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Talsarnau area.
PRICE RANGE
C$129 - C$132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesNorth WalesGwyneddTalsarnau
NUMBER OF ROOMS
2
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Bryn Derw Bed and Breakfast - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Bryn Derw Bed and Breakfast
Which popular attractions are close to Bryn Derw Bed and Breakfast?
Nearby attractions include Black Rock Llamas (6.6 km), Harlech Castle (7.2 km), and Chwarel Hen Llanfair Slate Caverns (7.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Bryn Derw Bed and Breakfast?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Bryn Derw Bed and Breakfast?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Bryn Derw Bed and Breakfast?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bryn Derw Bed and Breakfast?
Conveniently located restaurants include Castle Cottage Inn, Pattra's Restaurant & The Aviation Bar, Y Sgwar, and The Eating Gorilla.
Are there any historical sites close to Bryn Derw Bed and Breakfast?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Harlech Castle (7.2 km), Portmeirion Village (3.1 km), and Porthmadog Eisteddfod Stone Circle (6.0 km).
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars