We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Golden Fleece Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Golden Fleece Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

346 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 343: English reviews
Start your review of The Golden Fleece Inn
 Click to rate
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Popped in for lunchtime food 2 for £12. Good selection of food, scampi was delicious and lots of it. Have since been back few more times. Lovely old fashioned pub, cave bar is lovely. Staff very friendly and cant do enough for you. Definitely will be returning.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sarah D
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Tired room, poor bathroom, small but warm and clean. Bar nice, breakfast 6/10 Good location but not good value. Greeted at reception with a notice advertising rates 35% below what we had paid online. Not available to us! Would stay somewhere else next time.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MediMan22
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Oh good god how very bored I get replying to liars such as your self. We DO NOT have a notice at reception advertising rates because like most hotels our rates fluctuate depending on the time of the year etc. You arrived, checked in, then went to your room and used our WIFI to go online and check a last...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The positives are: excellent value for money. We had a standard double in the inn itself. Lovely room. Quality bedding furniture and towels. Large flatscreen tv which is rare nowadays. Windowseat with view over the square. Friendly staff. Ideally situated for Porthmadog and reasonable pub food. Frustrations were that with a few tweaks and no cost this could be even...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Julie R
manchestewr
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked this hotel with some trepidation after reading some of the reviews on here these were completely unfounded. Check in was smooth and helpful room was spotless and very comfortable. We dined there a both nights food was excellent service first class by happy smiling staff. Breakfast was as good as anywhere else we have stayed. All in all...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank philipcole3
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for placing your positive review. I'm glad to see you have enjoyed your stay despite being weary of what other travelers have written. Like you I belive we offer a good product / service at a competertive price. Sadly travelers who have had a negative experience are statisticly far more likely to write a review than thoose who...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We ate here one evening. We were made to feel welcome as soon as we arrived. We sat in the snug by reception where there was plenty of room for our dog. The owners were very dog friendly and she got lots of fuss. The food was lovely and the staff were very helpful. Definately worth another visit.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank harperholt
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for placing your positive review. I'm delighted you enjoyed your evening with us and I hope we can welcome you and your family back in the near future. Kind Regards Stuart, Liam and the Team

Aberdare, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

This is a lovely place to stay. Our room wasn't in the main hotel but just across the road and was lovely. We ate in the pub both nights and food was great. We opted to pay for breakfast on the second day which was disorderly and poor I think the staff were trying to multitask by cleaning from he...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Victoria J
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for placing your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your overall stay and that you enjoyed both the room you stayed in and the evening meals you had. I was concerned to read about your experience at breakfast. We have since addressed the issue and hope that this will not put you off staing with us again. Kind Regards...

Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2017

Travelling from North To South and in need of a drink we came off the bypass into Tremadog. We were looking for a tea room, however the place we thought we new only served lunches and evening meals and was closed. We had stopped at the Golden Fleece once before and so went in and enquired about having a pot...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Ysbryd
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for placing your review. I'm delighted we were able to offer you a pit stop on the way down south. We serve a large range of Starbucks teas and coffees from our new coffee bar. We will look forwards to welcoming you in the near future. Kind Regards Stuart, Liam and the Team

Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2017

Quaint inn beautifully decorated. Good location, as within short drive to Portmeirion and Snowdonia. Room was nice and staff friendly and helpful. Bathroom could have done with a radiator as towels stayed damp when we followed the Eco policy by using them for a couple of days.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank DeniseScotto
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for posting your review. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay here at the Golden Fleece inn Tremadog. I'm sorry our eco policy didnt quite work for you but it does state that we are happy to swap towels. So if customers do want fresh towels we simply ask that damp towels are left in the bath or shower....

Haverfordwest, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2017

We were up in the area staying in Porthmadog and booked in for Sunday Lunch, which was fabulous and reasonably priced. Service was quick even though the restaurant was busy. Will certainly return should we be up this way again.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LainyWils
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for placing your positive review. I'm pleased you enjoyed our Sunday lunch which offers great value at just £12.95 for 3 courses. We are delighted that you will be returning and look forwards to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Stuart, Liam and the Team

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 February 2017

We recently went to the Golden Fleece for lunch. The pub is a typical village pub with some quirky features. Generally nice atmosphere. BUT that industrial heating unit in the fire place is a big disappointment. What about a nice open log fire!!! My wife was happy with her fish finger sandwich, (brought back memories of childhood). Surprised my baked...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andy S
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review us. I'm sorry that you didn't like our fire. We did used to have an open fire however its heating capability wasn't sufficient for our building and it had reached the end of its life hence it has been replaced with a new eco friendly wood pellet heater which only uses around a...

96 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tremadog
1.4 km away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
650 reviews
4.2 km away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,375 reviews
6.3 km away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
269 reviews
1.4 km away
Tudor Lodge
Tudor Lodge
#1 of 7 in Porthmadog
372 reviews
0.6 km away
Plas Tan-Yr-Allt
Plas Tan-Yr-Allt
#1 of 5 in Tremadog
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in the historic market square of Tremadog (The Birth Place Of Lawrence Of Arabia) The Golden Fleece Inn is a truly traditional and quite unique family run Welsh Coaching Inn with a modern outlook on service and standards. Aside from our outstanding Real Ales, extensive wine list and fresh locally sourced food, we also encompass a Bistro for private dining and hotel quality B&B. You will find us recommended in many North Wales & Showdownia guides including The Good Pub guide, The Lonely Planet, CAMRA Northern Ireland, Our Tuesday night live folk jamming sessions have always been popular and are a great mid week entertainer. Our Jam session has been running for over 2 decades now and is listed We have also featured heavily in the press with wonderful recommendations and articles from newspapers such as The Guardian, Our intimate bar provides the perfect location for a romantic, drink or a quick catchup with friends over a real ale, a glass of wine or even one of our Welsh spirits including Five vodka, Brecon Gin and Penderyn whiskys. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Golden Fleece Inn

Address: 8 Market Square, Tremadog LL49 9RB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Tremadog
Price Range: $103 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Golden Fleece Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Golden Fleece Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Golden Fleece Hotel Tremadog
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Golden Fleece Inn staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Golden Fleece Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Cant offer any comments re accommodation, only used it as a watering hole!”
 of 5 bubbles Ysbryd, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for back room as the flag at the front of building flaps in the wind all night and is quite noisy”
 of 5 bubbles DeniseScotto, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Family room with plenty of room.”
 of 5 bubbles Bethan255, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Get the suite”
 of 5 bubbles just2collect, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Do not book this hotel if you have a disability unless you can have a ground floor room”
 of 5 bubbles travelingann45, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5