We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Golden Fleece Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Golden Fleece Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

357 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 354: English reviews
Start your review of The Golden Fleece Inn
 Click to rate
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Welcoming on arrival, so friendly. Had the family room, separate room for the single bed, brilliant, gave us our privacy; totally unexpected. Dined here each night, food lovely. Cheese soufflé excellent and only £3.50!! Do not let the laminated menu put you off! The food, service, staff and quality of food is superb. We had a great time and the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Blackcat9990
INNKEEPER’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Location was great, very easy to find and two minutes drive to Porthmadog town. Staff were friendly, room was clean with modern decor. Bathroom was excellent, spotlessly clean with a large shower. Breakfast was basic but nice, it consisted of a buffet of english breakfast items, cereals, yogurt, fruit, croissants with juice, tea or coffee to drink.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Mark R
About Innkeeper's Favourite Review
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your glowing review! We are delighted you enjoyed all the aspects of your stay. Kind Regards Stuart, Liam and the Team

Maryland
Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently stayed in the Madoc Building, a separate building just a few steps from the Golden Fleece Inn's main building on Market Square. The Golden Fleece Inn is a comfortable and economical alternative to higher priced accommodations available in Portmeirion, and only a few minutes' drive from there. Our room was very comfortable and a bit fun and quirky...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank QRooBound
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for placing your positive review. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards Stuart, Liam and the Team

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Loads of good things here to experience... Welcome and staffing is good. Room was very well presented and included great comfortable bed. Made for a great nights sleep. Food in bar was excellent and well presented. Nice friendly and chatty atmosphere for locals and visitors alike. Rooms and communal areas would really benefit from some local photos or prints, at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CaptainBlackmore
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for placing your positive review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and the meals which you ate. We look forwards to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Stuart, Liam and the Team

Kendal, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

To start with the positive: We stayed for two nights in comfortable rooms and were made very welcome indeed by one of the owners. I am a coeliac and therefore need gluten free food and they couldn't have been more helpful in making sure that I had the sort of breakfast I had hoped for. We had stayed previously and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Maria B
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review

I'm dissapointed that your dislike of Starbucks has clouded your judgment of our business so badly that you have only given us 3 out of 5. By all accounts you state that your room and the service we provided were of a good standard. This is what you should have been grading us on not your own personal view of...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited this family friendly pub last night with my husband and 2 children. Had an awesome homemade burger, loved the oddly shaped chips! Perfect for scooping up sauce! Hubby had the lasagne which looked delicous too. Kids menu was very generously portioned and my eldest was happy to see a steak option! Staff were wonderful, friendly and welcoming. One lady...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Louise H
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Many Many thanks for taking the time to share your positive experience with other on here. I'm delighted you all enjoyed your meal and that were were able to provide a bespoke dessert for your son. We will always try and adapt or meals to accomodate dietry requirements. We look forwrds to being able to welcome you back in the...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Family of 7 no children. Called in not booked staying nearby. Mixed review we called in for a drink the previous night very quiet bar a bit disorganised. Decided to have a family meal the following night. The restaurant very quiet , service good. Quality of food fine to good . We had one gluten free the staff a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hartley1234
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Thanks For placing your mixed review. I'm sorry if you found your bar service on the first evening to be disorganised however an explanation for this 9and not an excuse) is that we had new team members training. On the second night when you asked questions regarding gluten free I do not believe our manager was vague in his knowledge...

Richmond, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited as a short break on a gift voucher. The room was well equipped, warm and comfortable. The food (pate, scampi, steak, very sweet choc cookie pudding) and the beer were good. We found the staff did the job adequately but lacking in enthusiasm & friendliness. Perhaps management could look at more customer orientated training/attitudes.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mike P
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for placing your mostly positive review. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and the meals you had. I am really disappointed to hear that you didn't find our team members to be enthusiastic or friendly. This is most unusual as you will be able to see by previous reviews. A possible explanation for this (and not...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We came here for my partner's birthday and to climb Mount Snowdon. Upon arrival we was met by the nicest gentleman who I believe was the manager, Bow. He was extremely helpful and pleasant and walked us to our beautiful Suite. As it was partners birthday they had left a birthday card for him on the coffee table which was...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Rosie L
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay here with us as well as your meals and we look forwards to welcoming you back in the near future. Many thanks for the kind words which I will convey to our Team and Bo in particular. Kind Regards Stuart, Liam and the Team

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Driving through village and saw the pub so thought we would ring and see if they were dog friendly, they said so and we parked up looking forward to lunch as the weather was very poor and we needed a pick me up. Nice welcome from bar staff and there was a roaring fire which immediately raised our moods. Unfortunately...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JonnyOldham
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review

I'm so sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your experience here. I'm surprised to read your review title which indicates you were made to feel unwelcome but then you state you were made to feel welcome upon arrival. We are all dog lovers (my self and husband have 3) and we do allow dogs in designated areas of our establishment...

122 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (79)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tremadog
1.4 km away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
658 reviews
4.2 km away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,394 reviews
6.3 km away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
358 reviews
8.4 km away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
1.4 km away
Tudor Lodge
Tudor Lodge
#1 of 12 in Porthmadog
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in the historic market square of Tremadog (The Birth Place Of Lawrence Of Arabia) The Golden Fleece Inn is a truly traditional and quite unique family run Welsh Coaching Inn with a modern outlook on service and standards. Aside from our outstanding Real Ales, extensive wine list and fresh locally sourced food, we also encompass a Bistro for private dining and hotel quality B&B. You will find us recommended in many North Wales & Showdownia guides including The Good Pub guide, The Lonely Planet, CAMRA Northern Ireland, Our Tuesday night live folk jamming sessions have always been popular and are a great mid week entertainer. Our Jam session has been running for over 2 decades now and is listed We have also featured heavily in the press with wonderful recommendations and articles from newspapers such as The Guardian, Our intimate bar provides the perfect location for a romantic, drink or a quick catchup with friends over a real ale, a glass of wine or even one of our Welsh spirits including Five vodka, Brecon Gin and Penderyn whiskys. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Golden Fleece Inn

Address: 8 Market Square, Tremadog, Porthmadog LL49 9RB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Porthmadog > Tremadog
Price Range: $102 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Golden Fleece Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, LateRooms, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Golden Fleece Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Golden Fleece Hotel Tremadog
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Golden Fleece Inn staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Golden Fleece Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Didn't see any rooms in the main building but the Madoc Building has updated rooms.”
  • Comfortable bed
  • Room lighting fixture
QRooBound, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't look at web pictures”
883kerensaj, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Cant offer any comments re accommodation, only used it as a watering hole!”
Ysbryd, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for back room as the flag at the front of building flaps in the wind all night and is quite noisy”
DeniseScotto, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Family room with plenty of room.”
Bethan255, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5