We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Castle Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Castle Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

338 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 336: English reviews
Start your review of Castle Hotel
 Click to rate
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Really helpful staff, very polite and nothing is too much for them. Beautiful location. We managed to get free parking in their car park, but they only have about 10 spaces. Thanks for a nice few days.

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gail H
Singapore
Reviewed 1 week ago

It's a hotel located right in the centre of the historical town of Ruthin. Rooms were spacious and had nice views of the town centre. Very convenient to get food. There's a pub just on its ground floor. It also has many photos and short notes about the history of Ruthin on the walls around the pub. Hotel provide good...

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank cheegiokc
Clair P, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

We're glad you enjoyed your stay at The Castle Hotel, we are a listed building, so are unable to have a lift. If you ring us directly for your next stay, we will do our very best to put you on one of our lower floors. We hope to see you again soon

Whaley Bridge
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for a few nights while working away. Friendly staff and nice clean rooms. Can be quite busy when people are moving about but due to the age of the building this is not surprising. The sound carries from out side the room and the only reason i did not give 5 stars. Parking wasn't a problem for me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pokeiarda
Clair P, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments, We're glad you enjoyed your stay at The Castle Hotel, due to the age of the building noise can carry. We hope to see you again soon

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Greated warmly and given directions to our room...large room with plenty of light.... however; the brd was hard and pillows flat....asked for a quiet room ( note from past reviews some rooms noisy ) however we were put in a from room ans we were woken up at 6.45am by a road sweeper (not good at all) as this is...

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sexyrexyCheshire
newmarket
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

Our expectations were far exceeded. The room was spacious, comfortable and clean. The view was beautiful. The staff were welcoming and helpful. We liked the small touches such as the bottles of water and the cookies. We will definitely be visiting again. Excellent value.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alison p
Clair P, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and I will pass on your comments to the staff. we hope to see you again soon

Loughborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Great location and a lovely stay at this hotel especially if attending weddings at Ruthin Castle which is very close by. Rooms were clean, cosy and warm with all mod cons. Food and drinks very good at normal weatherspoons prices. Definitely recommend.

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank LanieH2014
Clair P, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay at The Castle Hotel and look forward to seeing you again soon

uk
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Stayed for one night at this hotel whilst at a wedding at the nearby castle. It was wonderful. Very clean, very helpful staff and would go again. And as it was a Wetherspons there was food and drink on tap and at very good value for money

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank carmen1403
Clair P, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments, we're glad you enjoyed your stay at The Castle hotel, and hope to see you very soon

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 January 2017

My wife booked this as part of a birthday treat as she knew I wanted to explore the area. Shower door Broken, it was off the bottom runner. Shower tray drain blocked. Toilet roll holder broken. Linoleum flooring seal had come away from the edges. Went to report to reception on way down for a meal but no one on....

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Trevor G G
Nelson, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 January 2017

room was large warm clean along with a exellent bathroom navigating this hotel internally isnt easy, it looks as if it was at least two building originaly, well decorated and clean staff exellent this is witherspoons so you eat in the pub but it does have a separate dining room exellent value.

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony L
Clair P, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments, we're glad you enjoyed your stay at The Castle Hotel. We were originally two buildings. There is a picture up in the reception area dating back to 1910 of the Hotel, we hope to see you back again soon

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 January 2017

Stayed here again this week for work. This time I had a single room which was a little disappointing as the room was rather small, it was clean and warm which is what matters after all, all I was doing was sleeping in the room😃. Otherwise another good stay. Food was up to standard and sensibly priced, there was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AndyB52780759
Clair P, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Castle hotel, We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us, If you contact us directly on your next stay, we will do our best to get you booked into a bigger room. As we are a grade 2 listed building our rooms are all different sizes. We hope to see you again very...

44 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruthin
0.4 km away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
16.3 km away
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
#1 of 1 in Pentre Halkyn
425 reviews
14.9 km away
Beaufort Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 km away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
240 reviews
5.9 km away
The Old Rectory Bed & Breakfast
3.4 km away
Lyons Woodlands Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This 17 bedroom property was purchased and totally refurbished by J D Wetherspoon in January 2012.All reviews pre January 2012 do not relate to our operation of the business. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Address: St Peters Square, Ruthin LL15 1AA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Ruthin
Price Range: $82 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Ruthin, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Castle Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
manchester
over a year ago
25 days ago
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
5 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Castle Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for an upper floor as through experience the rooms are quieter, no noise from the rooms above you.”
AndyB52780759, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“if you are elderley dont have top floor no lifts .”
396shirlm, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I enjoyed my room that looked over the little town square and the valleys beyond with traffic moving slowly around the little island.”
eddieleeds1972, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“There is no lift so stairs are plentyful. No breakfast in the price but excellent one served in the bar very good price also”
jamesosborne, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Keep out of room 104”
M6579ENlindap, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5