We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Old Kings Arms Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Old Kings Arms Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

116 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 110: English reviews
Start your review of Old Kings Arms Hotel
 Click to rate
Lamphey
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Called in on the hop with a few freinds not booked we were quickly seated, our lunch was superb everyone enjoyed deserts were also fab good choice of ales and wine our only criticism would be the ladies were upstairs but very quirky place we will definitely be returning x

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aly W
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We ate here twice during a week long stay in Pembroke. the food was really nice and the menu varied and reasonably priced although £4 for one scoop of ice cream for my son seemed a bit ridiculous. the building is very quirky but i did feel it needed a good lick of paint to freshen things up as there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Didsburyfoody
KingsPembrokeWales, Owner at Old Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that you were charged £4 for one scoop of icecream. Call and see us when you are next in Pembroke and we will rectify it. There are watermarks on the old prints which came from my husband's home and were damaged there. I hope that you will visit again. Shirley Wheeler Proprietor

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited the OKAH several times during our short stay at Pembroke, and found it a comfortable place for a quiet drink and also a great dinner out. We ordered tapas to start, and found all meals brought out exceptional. The beef pie was fantastic, but seemed to sell out quickly so get in there fast (we ordered the last...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grace H
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Food was divine and the service was equally as good, very Helpful and friendly staff. Not overly priced, and nice local beers on tap! Parking is available for visitors and they also let me park my vehicle overnight there when I wasn't even staying in their hotel!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty Louise B
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had dinner at this hotel this evening & were very impressed by the choice & quality on the menu. Between us we had a beef & ale pie, which was full to the brim with tender chunks of beef, & slow-baked shoulder of lamb which just fell apart. Our meals were served with a nice selection of fresh vegetables...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John H
KingsPembrokeWales, Owner at Old Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your dinner. Our aim is to provide good quality food and old fashion service.

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 15 January 2017

This hotel surpassed our expectations, and is literally STEPS from Pembroke castle. The staff is all wonderful, the rooms are nicely decorated, and everything you could need for a night or a few days. The breakfast in the morning was amazing (I'm sad I wasn't more hungry!), and they are able to assist with some dietary needs.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jill W
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 December 2016

We booked in for dinner at the same time last year and had a great meal ....unfortunately they missed the target this time ... We were ushered through to the table quickly when we would have preferred a drink in the bar. Food was good not great ...but was nicely cooked ... not accommodating with the kids 7, 12 and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Cragnet
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 December 2016

Stayed for 4 nights due to work and found this place and the staff very accommodating. I had an ensuite single room which was very small. Nice bars and a restaurant with a nice breakfast with varied choices.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed here one night as part of a round Wales walking trip. Rooms large, clean bath and shower. Beds good with reasonable TV in room. Lots of meeting rooms, place is deceptively large. Parking at rear. Evening meal a story of two halves, over cooked and burnt fish cake vs a delightful plate of fresh mussels and hake. Breakfast in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DaveSavage
Tenby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Made a booking for evening meal ,table booked for 19.30, we decided to have a drink pre meal in the bar, it was noted there was virtually no seating in the bar and we felt hurried to select from the menu, not very relaxing for a birthday meal. We also felt that the food was definitely not up to usual...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank localperson2013

45 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pembroke
0.5 km away
Coach House Hotel
Coach House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Pembroke
160 reviews
3.3 km away
Lamphey Hall Hotel
Lamphey Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lamphey
244 reviews
3.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Lamphey Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Cleddau Bridge Hotel
Cleddau Bridge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Pembroke Dock
268 reviews
4.3 km away
Beggars Reach Hotel
Beggars Reach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burton
254 reviews
15.1 km away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#12 of 24 in Tenby
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Old Kings Arms Hotel
Old Kings Arms Hotel
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Old Kings Arms Hotel is a Wales Tourist Board 3 Star hotel and restaurant in the heart of Pembroke, less than 200 yards from Pembroke Castle, birthplace of Henry VII - founder of the Tudor dynasty. The 17 bedroom hotel has been owned by the Wheeler family for over 50 years. The restaurant is renowned for its locally sourced Pembrokeshire produce. There is ample free private car parking to the rear of the hotel. All rooms have BT & ESPN SPORTS and free wifi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Old Kings Arms Hotel

Address: Old Kings Arms Hotel Ltd 13 Main Street, Pembroke SA71 4JS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Pembroke
Price Range: $114 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Kings Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Old Kings Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Old Kings Arms Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Droitwich, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Droitwich, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Old Kings Arms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had a room at the back away from the street- it was quiet and very spacious.”
 of 5 bubbles Jill0221, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Braised beef very good as were mussels ... steak ok_ish”
 of 5 bubbles Cragnet, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I had a double room which was lovely, the singles were a bit small but perfectly adequate”
 of 5 bubbles 328jenny, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We liked 22”
 of 5 bubbles hellsbells, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room that suits your needs. Don't expect a view.”
 of 5 bubbles john248700, 2 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5