We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Old Vicarage Bed & Breakfast

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Management photos
The Old Vicarage Bed & Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

35 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 35: English reviews
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2016

A great place to stay for a fly fishing trip. A warm welcome and very comfortable bedrooms after a long days fishing. The home cooked breakfast sets you up for the day.On some of the best beats the River Wye has to offer.Will be back soon.

Helpful?
Thank JLH47
OldVicarage_Evancoyd, Owner at The Old Vicarage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Think you may have stayed at Erwood and not Evancoyd. You would have 30 minutes to travel from here to Erwood for fly fishing on the Wye. Plenty of walking and bird watching in our neck of the woods. More 

Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2016

The house is set in beautiful grounds with enough room for parking car trailers - which was an essential for the car trialling we had that weekend! Pat and Mike were very accommodating hosts and made us very welcome from the outset. Spacious, clean warm house with separate sitting room for guests (with a log burner for the chilly days!).... More 

Helpful?
Thank John H
OldVicarage_Evancoyd, Owner at The Old Vicarage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It was great having you to stay. We loved seeing your car. Hope all went to plan on Sunday. The weather was glorious ,we guess you just needed a little mud to make things interesting. Hope to see you again one day. More 

Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed staying in the interesting "Arts & Crafts" house where the room and lounge were very comfortable. The delicious home cooked food, breakfasts and dinners, were very special and Pat deserves a "star"! We befriended the animals and loved the spectacular gardens and views all around the property. There are many interesting places to visit from Evancoyd. "We... More 

Helpful?
Thank 429Joanna24
OldVicarage_Evancoyd, Owner at The Old Vicarage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We loved having you stay at The Old Vicarage, and we are pleased you enjoyed yourselves. You chose a good weekend for entertainment with the Vintage Sports Car Club Welsh Trials providing lots to see and do. Having scratched the tip of the iceberg for things to see and do next time it... More 

Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2016

A charming retreat well off the beaten track and far from city life. Not too easy to find. A very eco-friendly establishment. Good sized bedroom though no television nor even a radio though I believe one could be borrowed. Bathroom lacked a shower but there was a full size bath. Good eating places are within reasonable distance. Good breakfast with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Penian2016
OldVicarage_Evancoyd, Owner at The Old Vicarage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you very much for posting your review. So pleased to hear you enjoyed The Old Vicarage. Sorry to hear you found us difficult to find. A note to help future guests we are on the main B4357 alternatively you can check our location on Google Maps where we are clearly marked. As with many rural areas unfortunately sat navs... More 

Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2016

A really beautiful Arts & Crafts house in a wonderful position, incredible views all around. The bedroom and bathroom were large and beautifully furnished, huge, comfortable bed, a comfy sofa by the window. Friendly welcoming hosts who gave us delicious freshly baked scones, home made jam, clotted cream and a pot of tea in the shade after our very hot... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Rhiannon-Jane R
OldVicarage_Evancoyd, Owner at The Old Vicarage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

It was such a pleasure having you stay with us. Thank you for your review. The weather during your stay was just perfect. We were so pleased you were able to enjoy the delights of the garden on balmy summer days and evenings. Our sheep, goats and alpaca enjoy meeting new visitors and the puppy certainly enjoys all the attention... More 

Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2016

Simply superb visit! Lovely welcoming hosts, large well-appointed comfortable room with en suite, in beautiful surroundings and first class breakfasts! Would highly recommend that evening meals are booked as our host's culinary skills were excellent! Could not fault any aspect of our visit. Plenty to do in surrounding area, especially if you like history, walking/cycling and gardens.

Helpful?
Thank dltminer
OldVicarage_Evancoyd, Owner at The Old Vicarage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We were so pleased you enjoyed your stay and were able to visit some of the special places we have around such as Hampton Court, Berrington Hall and Croft Castle. So many things to see and do as well as just take time out and relax. Hope you can explore some more one day. More 

portsmouth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2016

The Old Vicarage is a wonderful place to stay. I had a large, comfortable en-suite room, the breakfasts were really tasty and the hosts were so helpful. It is based in a useful spot not far from the A44 - I was doing a few days at the Hay Festival and a few days local sights and walking. I heartily... More 

Helpful?
Thank oldtrouthampshire
OldVicarage_Evancoyd, Owner at The Old Vicarage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you were able to combine the pleasures of Hay Festival with a little bit of relaxation, exploring our peaceful location. We were pleased you were able to take advantage of being shown some of our beauty spots on the local day tour offered by 'tricounty tours'. Hope we will be able... More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2016 via mobile

The ensuite bedroom and bathroom were spacious with comfortable bed and plenty of storage - all spotlessly clean. Cosy armchairs in the room were great for relaxing with the hot drinks and homemade brownie provided. Lovely views too over the garden and fields and on a clear night myriad stars (no light pollution here). Pat prepares food with great flair.... More 

Helpful?
Thank MaryUK123
OldVicarage_Evancoyd, Owner at The Old Vicarage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your complementary review. We were so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and were pleasantly surprised by the peaceful haven that surrounds us. Now that you have discovered us maybe you will return to explore a little more. We are so lucky to have so many beautiful and peaceful places to relax and enjoy on our doorstep. More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2016

The hostess was very welcoming in spite of being busy with lambing. The rooms were clean and spacious and had flat screen television.The B&B is on a small farm in the heart of beautiful Welsh countryside. Ideal for exploring the Becons or for fly fishers.

Helpful?
Thank paulhenry2016
OldVicarage_Evancoyd, Owner at The Old Vicarage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

It was good to hear your review and so pleased you enjoyed your stay. There are similarities but alas not the same Old Vicarage! Our lambing is in full swing in the fields all around. We are a smallholding with sheep, alpacas, goats, hens and ducks. We are also in the heart of beautiful Welsh countryside and have easy access... More 

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 December 2015 via mobile

We stayed one night, and had an evening meal. Beautiful and comfortable accommodation. Pat and Mike are friendly and helpful hosts, with just the right level and kind of attention. The food was creative and delicious, taking into account my gluten free diet.

Helpful?
Thank Alison898
OldVicarage_Evancoyd, Owner at The Old Vicarage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It was lovely meeting you. Pleased you enjoyed your short stay. More 

12 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Presteigne
7.2 km away
The Burton Hotel
The Burton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kington
183 reviews
9.6 km away
Knighton Hotel
Knighton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knighton
170 reviews
5.3 km away
The Radnorshire Arms
The Radnorshire Arms
#4 of 14 in Presteigne
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 km away
The Fforest Inn
The Fforest Inn
#1 of 2 in New Radnor
101 reviews
4.8 km away
Pilleth Oaks Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated on the Welsh - English border, 'The Old Vicarage' has beautiful grounds with glorious views and provides a peaceful retreat to escape to the country. There are three large comfortable rooms; a double with en-suite shower room, a twin - bedded room with private bathroom and a double room with private bathroom. The large sitting / breakfast room has panoramic views over Radnorshire and a cosy log fire. A welcoming complementary tea with homemade scone or cake is provided on arrival; a three course dinner is available by prior arrangement and you can bring your own drinks to accompany your meal. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Vicarage Bed & Breakfast

Address: Evancoyd, Presteigne LD8 2PA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Presteigne
Price Range: $146 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Vicarage Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your The Old Vicarage Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Old Vicarage Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room had lovely views over the Radnor Hills”
 of 5 bubbles Penian2016, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Our room was large lovely separate bathroom but still private adjoining in own little corridor, big comfortable king size bed”
 of 5 bubbles rjr660, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Just book a room!!”
 of 5 bubbles dltminer, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Book well in advance for Hay Festival”
 of 5 bubbles oldtrouthampshire, 5 Jun 2016 | Read review
“All rooms have garden view, contact before booking as the rooms are large and the host amenable, would be good for families too.”
 of 5 bubbles Roobarb67, 27 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay